Ratings based on 660 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stevenage

Quirky hotel in brilliant location

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Lots of bars and restaurants nearby and whale watching trips leave from within a few steps of the hotel
The hotel is in a great location in the centre of Reykjavik on the harbour. The attic rooms are small but there's more room than it initially appears. The only thing I found odd was the opaque glass wall to the bathroom meaning I could see my hubby on the loo! The shower was great though and the toiletries plentiful. The hotel restaurant &a bar are great as are the plenty places to sit and relax within the hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United States of America

Groovy and artsy

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Very comfy bed and great location to main walking streets.
Hotel decor was very modern art themed. Very pricey but got a good Expedia deal. Would like to see complimentary breakfast or at least coffee for this price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: Room was a bit small and the restaurant(s) were pricey.
Location: Hotel in on the Marina (hence the name). There are tons of restaurants nearby, as well as museums.
This hotel is right on the Marina close to the "downtown" area. The hotel is decorated in a modern yet Icelandic fashion. It is super cute and clean! My husband and I flew into Reykjavik very early in the morning and got to the hotel around 530AM. Check-in isn't normally until 2PM but the hotel employees went out of their way to get us an early check-in at not charge. Very nice people and great experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent hotel in the harbor area!

Posted Oct 23, 2016
This hotel is one of a kind from its interior design to its location. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and frequented the cafe for their amazing coffee. The restaurant served an amazing brunch and the bar area was packed every night! Our room was on the street side, which can be noisy but overall was pleasant. One hotel staff member was rude during our check-in process as we had arrived early. A lot of travelers from the U.S. come in on very early flights so early check-in would've been great to have.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Great breakfasts!
Cons: No safe, no coffee machine or refrigerator in the room.
Location: Nice restaurants and shopping for little gifts is all around (if you don't mind insane prices)
We enjoyed our stay at the Marina. Easy walk to the downtown area, comfortable beds (especially after the whole day of traveling on the island). Ground floor gets crowded on the weekend with the guests and a restaurant customers. Hotel personnel is nice, but lacks emotions (just like the most people of Iceland).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Curacao

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Het is een leuk hotel dicht bij de stad en verschillende restaurants. Zeker een aanrader.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay, find another place to drink.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Cons: The bar.
This hotel is pretty amazing from top to bottom. The only cautionary word => find a different place to eat/drink than the Slippbarinn downstairs. Lots of better and more friendly places a couple of blocks over in the city center.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hollister, CA

Welcoming experience to first time in Iceland

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Close to downtown, restaurants, tour groups. You do not need a car unless you plan to travel outside the city.
The first impression of the hotel is great. From the staff to the decor, you feel very welcomed. There is a circular fireplace with ample sitting in the lobby. Hotel staff always available to answer any questions without any wait. A small child play area, reading areas, gym, sitting areas, multiple cafes, restaurant, and night time bar. I had a view of the Marina and no noise unless my window was open. My room was clean, and I love the bathroom tile.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable design with a "different shape"

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Right at the marina. Not the most beautiful views, but it is a working, active marina.
Long, narrow hotel with 4 levels has unique design that makes the place comfortable and interesting. Good location for walking Reykjavik or driving on day trips.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamburg, NJ

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: You are downtown and can walk to many fine restaurants even on a cold damp day you can walk.
This hotel was lovely. Staff was great and helpful. The bar is outrageous cocktails and infused liquor. All drinks are made right in front of you with the greatest bartenders all ready to tell you what is new what is old is new again. They do not make drinks they make cocktail from years ago.