Ratings based on 872 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpaid for services that were not offered

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Arrived at the hotel and to our surprise, it was further outside of the city than we expected. While thy do offer their guests a city bus pass, this is not advertised or told to us when first checking in. It is hidden on the hotel card holder paper that no one checks. We only found out on our last day and wasted a couple of hours in total waking from this desolate location to the city. When I say desolate, I mean there is no shops around - no supermarket/grocery stores, no bars or restaurants... nothing. The wifi connection was also incredibly disappointing and frustrating. We were not able to stay connected for more than 1 consecutive minute at a time. Not to mention the TV did not work at all! When we complained, their response was that there were no technicians working during the weekend, and "oh, weird.. the wifi should be working". Free breakfast was offered but no refunds for these services were refunded. I give this hotel a 1 star, only for its cleanness and quality toiletries. Sadly disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by IH Reykjavik Natura Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Lina, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very disappointed to read that you were not given the level of personalized attention we pride ourselves on and you expected. Although an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, we do extend it with all sincerity. Our location is indeed a 20-25 min walk from the heart of Reykjavik but as you mentioned, we do provide free bus passes for all Reykjavik City buses for our guests. Even though this is advertised throughout the hotel and the Expedia website, we are sorry if you were not aware of this. We also appreciate you pointing out the technical issues, they have been forwarded to the team members involved and will be used to improve services. We would like to thank you once more for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our IH Reykjavik Natura. Best regards, IH Reykjavik Natura Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Patient and friendly staff. Complimentary bus pass for use around city was big plus. Rain shower head and hot water after long day out.
Cons: Tight bathrooms
Outside looked a big 70s-ish, but inside was fresh and modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Stylish hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Stayed in an Art room, good size room, nicely decorated with a very comfotable bed. Had dinner in the restaurant Satt which was delicious. Made good use of the free bus pass so easy to get into the centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, England

great hotel with good views

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Great hotel a bit out of the centre of Reykjavik, but easy to get to with the free bus ticket you can get from reception. Food in the restaurant was good. Bedroom was very clean, had everything you needed and it was nice to have English television if you wanted to watch it. We also had a great view from our bedroom window, (even managed to see the northern lights from it) there is an airport at the back of the hotel but it was very quiet. Hotel staff were very friendly and spoke very good English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware, USA

Clean rooms & good food

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Restaurant had very good food - expensive but comparable to other restaurants in Iceland. Rooms are very clean but small. Showers are basic and very small. The bed was very uncomfortable with a hump down the middle and slanted to one side. Lots of electrical outlets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Peters, MO

Very Friendly Staff

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Centrally located with a bus stop across the street to take you downtown
Cons: We enjoyed out stay, it was a nice experience.
Location: Bus 5 transfer to the Hlemmur station then take the 1,3, or 6 right downtown. It is a great little city with lots of history and things to see.
During check in we asked for change for the bus because the require exact change. The reception gentleman, said, why do you need change, when i can give you a Free bus pass to use during your stay? No that is a nice welcome to our hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Dingy and small

Posted Mar 1, 2017
The hotel itself is in a nice, central location but the building itself needs major renovation. The bathroom was tiny (to be expected) but it had a faint smell of urine. The beds were uncomfortable and the room itself looked as if it had previously been a hospital and been converted to a hotel room. The furniture was broken and they charged us twice for dinner and have yet to clear the issue up. There are a lot of hotels in the area, do yourself a favor and choose a different one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by IH Reykjavik Natura Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear G, Thank you for your feedback. We are most concerned about the issues you mentioned and but would have liked to hear from you during your stay. While we certainly hope the double restaurant charge has been solved, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you. Kind regards, IH Reykjavik Natura Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Rejkavik airport

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: No dislikes at all.
Cons: Restaurant staff take away breakfast promptly at 10 a.m. (Finishing time).
Location: Outskirts of city centre but everything is easily accessible by foot or bus.
Although we were next to the airport we had no problems with noise. This hotel is on the outskirts of the city centre but the centre can easily be reached in 20 minutes walking and the hotel allows clients a free bus pass for the duration of your stay. Buses are approximately every half hour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Just outside the city.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Recommend renting a car if you stay here. 20 min walk to town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Good location, although it's not the city centre it is either a free bus ride into town or a 30 min walk. Good restaurant and bar, travel desk to arrange all your travel needs. Clean rooms. We didn't venture to the spa on our short trip but useful to have and open late till around 8pm.