Ratings based on 729 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reykjavik's Hippest Place To Be . . . In 1955!

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The staff throughout the hotel - front desk, shop, restaurant, cleaners, et al - were all helpful, courteous and professional.
Cons: Very little - it runs very well as it is.
Location: As long as you understand that it is NOT in Reykjavik's city centre you should not be surprised that the Reykjavik Natura is in an isolated oasis.
Don't be put off by the title of this review, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura is a very good hotel with exceptional staff. The building's cool 1950s aesthetic exterior will remind many of us of a certain age of a our post-war brand new high school or perhaps first job at a pharmaceutical head office. Part of it (one wing) is occupied by ICELANDAIR's headquarters and the back door opens to the hanger line of the Reykjavik airport (RKV) where small commercial airlines operate. One can well imagine the flight crews of yore popping into the hotel's bar when they finished their flights. When you look out the front door you can see the magnificent Perlan - a place everyone should visit when they first come to Reykjavik. It is a pleasant walk to there as is the stroll to downtown on a sunny day. The hotel provides free city bus passes for those who ask.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The hotel staff let us check in early and they were very nice in general.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Schwalmtal, NRW

Schönes Hotel in Stadtnähe

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Die Freundlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft des Personals war hervorragend. Viel Platz im Eingangsbereich, kostenloses WLAN (WIFI),
Cons: Die Zimmerausstattung: Stühle/Sessel/Kühlschrank Der Duschvorhang hat bei feuchten Kacheln nicht mehr gehalten, der Wasserabfluss war verstopft.
Location: Das Hotel befimndet ich in Reykjayik, direkt am Flughafen (war leider morgens sehr laut). Kurzer Weg mit dem Auto zur Stadt und zu Aussichtspunkten.
Wir waren 2x in diesem Hotel und haben von dort die Stadt erkundet (Jazz Festival, Stadtrundgänge, Museen und div. Ausflüge ins Umland). Nach längeren Ausflügen konnten wir im großzügigen Eingangsbereich oder an der Bar sehr gut entspannen. Das integrierte Informatoinsbüro mit vierlen Tips und Kartenmaterial war sehr hilfreich.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Hotel is located in a nice area for folks who like to exercise. Trails and greenways everywhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Nice hotel and staff. Close to BSI. They also offer a free bus card, which is nice. The only downside was the restaurant. The food was overpriced and average. The wait staff was also subpar.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Clean and comfortable with good staff.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Location near Norduflug Helicopter Tours, not far from Air Iceland domestic terminal, clean rooms, accommodating staff, Chess exhibit, breakfast.
Cons: Rooms are a little small. Needs air conditioning. Needs better TV entertainment system.
Location: Located on the domestic airport. Helicopter tours, domestic airlines and charter air services nearby. Thermal beach not far away.
This hotel has clearly been recently renovated. It's very clean. The rooms are not big by North American Standards (and they look smaller than they appear on the website), but they are clean and include nice art. This hotel is situated right beside the regional/domestic airport. This is great if you're taking a Nordurflug helicopter tour or an Air Iceland domestic flight. If you dislike airplane sounds, it may be best to request a room on the side facing away from the airport. We found the airstrip view interesting and fun. Housekeeping is thorough and prompt once you leave your room. North Americans may also need to get used to the smaller ensuite washroom with no lock. Also, electricity takes a little getting-used-to. Bring a powerbar-style converter/adapter. You'll need adapter capacity. No hotels in Iceland have air conditioning - the reasoning given is that it never gets that hot outside. This is quite beside the point as their restaurants and hotels do get very warm inside. In the summer, it can be uncomfortable. Until all major hotels rectify this deficiency, ratings will not be as good as they could be. All that said, the staff here were kind enough to help me out by providing an electrical fan. An advantage this hotel does have over some other chain hotels here is that its hotel room windows open. This plus the fan mitigates the heat problem. This hotel also has some hidden gems - an exhibit honouring the 1972 Chess Championship, a good breakfast buffet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Very good hotel close to domestic airport and hence nice view of the airport. The facilities in the hotel are good too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel not too far from city center

Posted Aug 3, 2016
I loved having an office in the hotel to book various things through and the free bus passes that were offered.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good choice for us

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Clean, neat, room had blackout shades, a must when there's 21 plus hours of daylight. Restaurant was very good with an adequate menu.
Cons: Not very attractive location. On the edge of an airfield in a commercial zone but there was a fair trade off given its ammenities
Location: Hotel is a 15 minute walk to town. 85% of the 330,000 people live in Reykjavik so city is spread out but tourist attractions are very central
Friendly staff. No significant language barrier. The hotel is not in town but is only a 15 minute walk. It is apparently the original location of the IcelandAir airport and corporate offices and now is a private field. We were concerned about noise but we never heard a plane. Restaurant was quite good with a full breakfast including gluten free options. Airport is out of the city about 40 minutes away. Tour desk in the lobby was extremely helpful and all transactions can be made from there. If you choose to take an excursion or are venturing to another part of the island, the bus station is a 10 minute walk but nearly all tours pick up at the hotel. If you have limited time, take the Golden Circle tour and include a stop at the Secret Lagoon for a swim in any weather. For some history and lore, the 871 Settlement exhibit was excellent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here ever

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Spending the night in a layover, so didn't do this
Rude Staff. Were not helpful at all after a long flight. Hard to find the hotel. Room was hot, internet was slow. It was just bad all over
Comment from Hotel Management
by IH Reykjavik Natura Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are grateful for all guests taking the time to give us their feedback. Please know that the experience you describe regarding our staff is incredibly unusual. Despite this, we hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit to Reykjavik to show you what our IH Reykjavik Natura is all about. Kind regards