Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice apt-not hotel-great location

Posted Aug 9, 2017
New renovated apt but not fully completed, in town centre.bedroom has skylight but no windows so in summer too much light. More like Airbnb. no housekeeping..... check in 3pm and check out 10am-not as advertised in expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Readington, New Jersey

In the center of the city and the action.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: Location is great and the units were very spacious.
Cons: Electric system is very old. Fuses goes out quite a bit. The box is located on the first floor in the hallway.
Location: This is the 6th avenue of Reykjavik and there are plenty of restaurants nearby and shopping as well. Walking down to the harbor is 15 minutes.
We have rented 2 apartments in July last minute. The location rocks for these apartments, walking distance from the action and convenient for restaurant and shops. we have rented a big 4 wheel drive truck so I needed a parking space as well. The units has a little dirt courtyard where we could park, which was great as street parking is expensive. One unit was downstairs and the other unit which has the YouTube video was upstairs. The units are fully equipped with kitchen utensils, refrigerators and some weird electric stove which we eventually figured out how to use. Coffee/tea are provided free of charge and they had regular American coffee maker and a mokka coffee machine. There is no shampoo and/or conditioner provided in the bathroom, but they had liquid soap. The apartments are large about 700-800 Sq ft or 60-80 sq m. Getting the keys were challenging as the instruction not clear. Go to the travel agency across the apartment to pick up the keys. I have uploaded a video of the upstairs unit on YouTube. Expedia does not let us embed web links so search for "Luna Apartments Laugavegur, Reykjavik" and the video will pop up. Most likely this is the best apartment in the whole building due to corner location. Overall it was great catch considering the price and the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Little Red House is where I want to Live!

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Everything! Well worth the money and a wonderfully private oasis in a busy city. At the center of everything cool in Reykjavik.
Location: Iceland is my favorite place in the world: a living breathing photo op, where the soul of the earth is bared and then reflected in its people and art.
As usual, we booked room same day we needed it. And again, lucked out with a surprise wonder we would not have found if searching. Strange to park then walk down street to reservation office for Luna properties. But staff were very nice, had lots of suggestions, and were excited to tell them. And they were all good looking. Does the whole country share four zits? They pull short straws and four different people a week have like one zit each...on the entire island? This was last "room" Luna could offer, and they were slightly apologetic. "It is little red house, if that is okay." "You mean the one in the corner of the lot behind the cd store (a working cd store, yes)...SOLD!" It was its own structure from the actual hotel, two stories, charming and cozy. Had its own parking slot, and I enjoyed smoking and lounging on the private bench outside, watching crowds walk by. Seems incongruous to enjoy the graffiti and store backs, but the locale was exciting and interesting as is the whole city. We were surrounded by native residents and their art, and we lay on the busiest and coolest street in town. The yelling and arguing couple somewhere nearby that first night just added to the coolness. Decided Reykjavik needed more time and we booked the house another night as our base of operations when we toured the Golden Circle. This was the most intimate and charming "room" we stayed at. If using Luna for anything, ask about the little red house!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bare bones hotel, not family friendly

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Stayed in Laugavegur 37 for several days. Never received an email so we had to contact the desk but that was no issue, but that was the only contact we had with the hotel staff. There for 4 days and got towels replaced and trash taken out on the second night but that's it. Very close to downtown and the bars if that's your scene. Room was extremely noisy from 11pm-4/5am from the bars on the street so it kept walking my infant. No blackout curtains so it's bright all night during the summer. Room was decent and would be ok if you plan a couples weekend to go to the bars, but don't bring kids along to this location. For 200+ per night with no turn down, no toiletries, no soundproofing, no blackout curtains wasn't really worth the trade off for a kitchenette that most won't use because they want to try the local food. Standard 3 stars digs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is a plus and minus...

Posted May 18, 2017
Hotel is located right on Laugevegur as its name indicates, which puts it on the main road that runs through Reykjavik downtown. It's a great location to be in the center of the action, close to bars, restaurants, delicious bakeries (Sandholt is right across the street), and grocery stores and walking distance to most major attractions. However, our room (#3) overlooked the street, and the windows were not very soundproof which was bothersome overnight. I was repeatedly awoken by people talking outside b/c it sounded like the windows were open. It's possible this isn't a problem in rooms that don't overlook the street. The room overall was clean and comfortable except for a couple things: 1) Housekeeping did not clean out the mini fridge, and we found the previous occupant's not so appetizing leftovers. 2) No toiletries. I don't need much, but shampoo and soap would have been useful. Even though it's called Luna Apartments, it seems to be marketed as a hotel so I was expecting those basic things.
5 out of 5
by Luis C

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
great location, but can get a little noisy since it abuts the main street.
5 out of 5
by Luis C

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michelle

Beautiful apartment

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful, clean apartment with wifi, cable, fully equipped kitchen, skylit bedroom and pull-out sofa. Very comfortable and right in the heart of Reykjavik.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washinghton, DC

Nice apartment in awesome location

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The location of this apartment can't be beat! It is right in the middle of everything. While our original booking for the Art Studio couldn't be honored, due to work on the property, the company set us up in an alternate 1 bedroom apartment in the same area. The apartment was spacious and newly renovated. It had everything we needed. The only two negatives were that it was noisy on weekend nights, due to th night scene on Laugavegur. It also had no blackout curtains (just mini-blinds) on any of the living room windows and then the bedroom had a skylight (without any kind of cover). Given we were on Eastern Standard Time and going to bed around 2 a.m. with the sun coming up at 5:30 a.m., sleep was scarce as the bedroom was certainly not dark. We ended up pulling the mattress into the living room each night and just sleeping on the floor so we could get uninterrupted sleep. We managed but it certainly wasn't ideal. Overall, we were satisfied with the property but something really should be done to help block out the light in the summer hours when there is little/no darkness.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, good location, but loud

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect location, clean apartment. However, other reviews are accurate - we got one of the street-facing suites and it was VERY loud until 5:30 in the morning. Would be nice if they provided ear plugs, a white noise machine, a fan - something. Otherwise, easy check-in/out, in fact, it was all self-service and we never interacted with a person at all. If I was going to Reykjavik again I would stay there, but as long as it wasn't a street-facing unit.