Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle UK

Decent

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: warm, clean, comfortable, well-appointed.
Cons: check-in process and information about location.
Location: quiet central location on a quiet street, excursion mini-bus drivers were familiar with it for pick-ups. a short walk from the main tourist area.
I booked Luna Apartments through Expedia as it looked decent for the price and was on the main street of Laugavegur, However when the confirmation email arrived it stated the apartment was on Spitalstigur a few hundred metres away. I questioned this and was told that they must put one address only so they put the location of their office. Bear this in mind if you really want to be on Laugavegur. There were some minor problems when I arrived in getting into the building and the flat but a visit to the office nearby sorted this out. In the key safe which should have held my apartment key was a note to the previous occupant about a problem with his payment and no key. When I eventually got into my apartment it was perfectly pleasant, clean, warm and well-appointed and the price was reasonable. The location was a quiet residential street. There was a Bonus shop just around the corner to stock up on essential supplies so that was handy. All in all I would use them again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown hotel but confusing location

Posted Apr 3, 2017
There's more than one Luna apartment/hotel, where it's confusing as to which location you are booked/checked-in for until you receive an email notification a week before you check in. When we arrived there were no towels so we emailed on the check-in day and recieved no email response, but towels arrived 2 days later. It had all basic facilities to make food and convenient location to get to places. Tours that do hotel pick up don't pick up at our location but it was only 5 minutes walk to get to a different hotel pick up location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Great Apartment

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Very smart, cosy apartment, situated between the iconic Cathedral and the main streets for shopping, restaraunt & bars. Everything within walking distance. (Very Minor issues, toilet basin needed a plug and shower water seeps around edge of glass screen a bit). To be independent and see the sights, we hired a car from Geyser downstairs in the conference centre and dropped it off at the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dar es Salaam

Nice apartment hotel with kitchenette

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Kitchenette, location
Cons: Temperature control, space in bathroom, proper sized blankets for the bed and additional blankets, indication of cleaning schedule
Location: Very close to Laugavegur street where there was lots to see and do, shopping, restaurants, markets, nightlife, city center, etc.
The experience was pleasant. I stayed at Spitalastigur 1. I appreciated having the kitchenette to be able to cook meals to offset some of the expense of eating out, which was VERY, very expensive and not necessarily top-notch. My kitchenette had a cooktop, microwave, sink and fridge. I had an issue and needed to call reception around 4 am. The receptionist was sleep & sounded like she didn't want to be bothered and that annoyed me. I wasn't clear on the cleaning schedule but it was cleaned about every two days, which was fine. But cleaned only meant new towels and trash emptied. A couple friends in another Luna location, Gretisgata 53, never received cleaning services. Their unit was a little more modern, slightly larger, and they complained about noise. Their kitchenette also had an oven and dishwasher. Both our units was closed to the Laugavegur street where we spent a lot of time. There were many convenient shops around and tour company pick up locations. The heat never really got hot. There weren't sufficient blankets in the room. No space in my bathroom to sit things anywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute, functional and convenient

Posted Mar 25, 2017
We loved the apartment. We were on the top floor so we had to walk up a lot of steps but we didn't mind because the place was so cute and well kept.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Clean roomy hotel in great location

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Clean, quick to reply to emails and concerns, walking distance from restaurants, bars, shopping, other sites.
Location: The location is great! Right around the block from the main street, Laugavegur, no distance at all to great restaurants and bars. Very convenient spot
We arrived late at night and needed to check out at 4am to catch a flight home. The process couldn't be any easier, smoother or convenient. The Grettisgata apartment is in a great location - around the block from main street, a few blocks walking from Hallgrímskirkja and all other attractions. Because it is an apartment and they don't have a front desk there is a binder filled with recommendations for breakfast, lunch, and dinner restaurants, the best cafe's and even recommendations for bars and grocery stores. They were categorized by price level too which was most beneficial. The bus stop for day trips is a few blocks out the main door which was very convenient too. The office was quick to reply to all my emails and answer any questions we had. The hair dryer we had only blew cool air so I informed the office, they sent an employee with a new working hair dryer within an hour! The apartment was clean, spacious and always warm and comfortable for our stay. The impeccable service we received was a bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BOSTON

great place right in the middle of everything

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Very very convenient if you wanna stay downtown and don't have a car! Everything within walking distance!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Bit confusing to find for us and transfers

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Just be careful as it's not very clear on the communication that you are actually staying away from the main Luna building. It's not a long walk and is nice to be away from the town. Nice comfortable room- could be a little cleaner. Overall happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swansea Wales

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Everything as mentioned previously
Cons: There was nothing to complain about
Location: We were near the large Cathedral on the hill, a little outside the town hustle and bustle. An ideal location.
Although it was described as a studio,the lay-out was very cleverly designed and it was quite spacious. We loved it. The beds were comfortable, the furnishings were very tasteful and the kitchenette was well equipped.As Iceland was expensive,it was convenient to have the option of eating "chez nous" if we wanted too. We would thoroughly recommend our stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

It's comparable to a hostel.

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Centrally located
Cons: Read my review
Location: Close to Bonus grocery store, restaurants
We paid almost $200/day. The apartment is very dated; it wasn't like the pictures the company has posted in their website, which made us decide to stay at one of their apartments. The flooring was peeling, the bathroom door-frame was rotted (I have pictures to prove), dated furnitures and decor. Our bedsheets were used from the previous guests and have them replaced =( There were no visitor information available in the apartment: how to make outside calls, maps of the area, areas of interest... nothing, there's not a single piece of paper with some information for tourists is available. I tried using the phone and press any buttons to call the "front desk" and all I got was busy signals. There are no brochures available like in other hotels: directory, areas of interest advertisement, bus lines information, map of Reykjavik... nothing. It's as bare as a new apartment that you're moving into to live for years and years. We have to leave our apartment and go to nearby hotels to use their phones to make sure that our bus will pick us up at the right Luna apartment (they have 7 in the area). Their "front desk" is blocks away from where we're supposed to stay and we have to take a taxi for $12 to get to our apartment; we can't walk to our apartment toting heavy luggages because there were snow, slush, and ice on the road. The gray line bus and other bus company never stops at our apartment because they only stop at the "front desk's" address; being new to the area, we didn't eve