Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Awesome Location, Budget Price

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: the location was great!
Cons: Mattress seemed comfy to me, not to hubby, maybe the carpet on the stairs need replacing, for nothing else but for safety.
Location: There is nothing that you can't walk to: Old Harbor, Harpa, downtown, the Pond, the Church.
Simple room, but super clean, for budget conscious people it was perfectly acceptable, comfortable beds, lots of hangers for your clothes, but just walk outside, you are steps away from all of Reykjavik!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Please delist this hotel. Terrible hotel!

Posted Jul 3, 2016
I am very surprised when I checked in this hotel. Unbelieve that is 3 star "hotel" . Staff is really rude and very dirty room. We found bed bed bugs and No tv. I paid 3 days and just stay one night. I am require get refund for 2 nights fee. Please email or phone me. Thanks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Metropolitan Hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: two blocks from the tourist center, close to harbor and all the tourist sites.
Cons: Four days and not once did we get the room cleaned or fresh towels. The room was very small and cramped.
Location: Shopping, museums, park, scenic lake, tours of all over iceland, pick-up at most hotels.
It is a great location and walking was very easy to the heart of town. The price seemed competitive with other hotels in the area, but airbnb had apartments for the same price.
1 out of 5
by Line Steen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room to small and to expensive

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: Near downtown!
Good place to visit the town. But room to small and not very clean. No hairdryer and bathroom to small! Reception not allways open. Hotel staff ok. Price really to high!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington dc

Nice location but terrible place to stay. No staff

Posted May 19, 2016
No staff to talk too! Room is dirty, bathroom clogs and I told the staff they are only there from 8 am to 6pm, no soap, shampoo, A terrible place to stay and expensive for the amenities they provided. Please do not stay there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice place

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: The location and the price.
Cons: you need to bring your own soap and shampoo. the bathroom fixtures need repair.
Location: close to the old harbor, the town center, and a lot of very good restaurants.
You can't beat the location or this hotel. easy walking distance to the harbor and to the town center. the rooms were clean. not real spacious, but the price was good. the desk clerk will book tours for but will not offer opinion on which are good or not so good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic but good

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
Basic and a bit worn but the staff was friendly and the location was brilliant. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay in Reykjavik city centre and are not too picky then Hotel Metropolitan might be the one for you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great location!

Posted May 6, 2016
Very convenient location, but in need of some updating - particularly the bathroom. But for the price, can't be beat!