Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

1.9 out of 5
27% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.2 Service & staff
1.9 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Bad

Posted Nov 14, 2016
The place is old and run down. The handles on the doors were broken. The pillows were disgusting and the sheets didn't fit on the bed. If you arrive in afternoon you have to call a number to have them send someone to open the door for you, which is a problem if you don't have an international plan. Stay at the beautiful hotel across the street.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worst place I've ever stayed at

Posted Jul 11, 2016
We spent only one night in this place before getting our campervan to tour the island and it's definitely the worst "hotel" experience I've ever had. The sheets didn't look clean and everything looked torn and worn. Too expensive for what we got.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good location. Good conditions for the price.

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Nothing fancy but great location. Nice and near the centre of Reykjavik
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridge, uk

Good price and location

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Good price and location, what you'd expect for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Not great, but not bad for the price. Great location. Walkable to many of Reykjavík's main attractions
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Tourism Authority should close hotels like this

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: It is in a good neighborhood, near the bus terminal.
Cons: Quality of facility and amenities need to be improved immediately.
Location: It is close to down town area.
We had to wait on the street for for 30 minutes before the manager could come. When we went to the room, we did not find anything close to what it looks like on the internet. So we saw the manger and told him that the facility was not what we say on the internet, and would like to move to another hotel. The manager told us -- "you get what you see on the internet" and "it is non-refundable. You can complain. It is one voice against many who like it." So we were forced to stay in the hotel. The beds were not comfortable -- too sunken and the mattress need to be replaced. Towels are so old that they felt like a scrub rather than a towel. Bedsheets had holes. They did not change bed sheets even once over the 6 days we stayed there. They are supposed to change once every three days, according to the manager. Never cleaned the room even once. The basin had no mesh, which left a hole in the basin in which you could lose your ring, if you dropped it. I showed it to the manager but he did nothing about it. Safety is at risk. The entrance door needs to be locked with a key when you exit. But when we were leaving, they asked us to leave the key in the room, which meant that the outside door remained unlocked! It felt like a hotel in a shanty town as seen in movies.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Booked at Pavi but was assigned a room in an apart

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: When I checked out.
There is no reception at this hotel. There is a phone number to call when you arrive (an issue if you don't have a mobile). I was then told that my room would be in a different building a few blocks away. It is in an apartment building. The room is basic and did not inspire an at home feeling. I'm not sure the sheet had been changed. I had to walk back to the main location for breakfast, which was however reasonable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down apartment

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Begin by calling this number in order check in. I waited outside in cold for 15mins for him to turn up. He was a friendly chap and took me to my room which doesnt look appealing at all. Windows doesnt open, old desk and walls. Shower door doesn't fully shut so you can't lock it. No elevators either so if you got luggages, you will have fun carrying it up 3levels. Overall not a pleasant accomodation considering the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It is bare minimum

Posted Nov 19, 2014
For price id take the backpackers up the road, half the price and nicer, this place has no kitchen to share and is a shared very average toilets and shower for the floor. Not a place to spend much time. Only slept here did not feel nice enough to spend any more time awake.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa florida

Pavi apts

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: i dont know
Location: Close to center city, easy walk
Staff not friendly. Not allow you to leave bags, they say they will do you a big favor, will not allow you to check in even 10 minutes earler then 300 PM, even thou room is ready.