Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Orange, Florida

We enjoyed our stay while we were there.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: It worked for us.
Cons: The omelets at breakfast were not as requested. A daughter and I both ordered cheese omelets at different times, and neither of us had any cheese..
Location: We were not there to enjoy the beach. The nearby restaurants were varied and very good--especially Caruso's.
We came for a wedding, and two of our daughters and husbands also stayed there. Location was right for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for posting your review. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that I have addressed the issue you have encountered with the omelettes already with our chef. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. I sincerely hope you had a enjoyable wedding as well. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Posted Sep 17, 2016
The hotel is smack downtown and everything you need is a 5 minute walk away. Staff is knowledgeable of local sights and eats.If you want to do a tour they'll add it to your room cost and file your itinerary so you don't have to do anything other than show up on time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you as well for your raving review. It is great that we could be part of your Icelandic experience and hope you take home some memorable moments. We of course hope to be able to welcome you back in the not to far future. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location but incredibly overpriced

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Decent hotel but fairly barebones, very overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Marc E., Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for posting your review. It is disappointing that we could not meet all your expectations on your last stay and hope that we can regain some of your trust in the near furture if your travels bring you back to Reykjavik. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Radisson Blu

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Hotel is in excellent location with very nice staff, comfortable beds, clean, great breakfast which we had included each day. Little bit noisy at night due to downtown location but not bad. Loved Iceland and its people. Enjoyed the Golden Circle Tour with waterfalls, geysirs and where tectonic plate geography. Local food was excellent. Also be sure to go to local pools.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Marc E., Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for posting your review. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Close to everything otherwise non descript.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
I usually use Raddison Blu as my first choice if possible, and I have stayed in quite a few. This hotel isn't bad, it just isn't up to the standard of other Blu hotels. I know its a small thing but replacement of complementary items such as coffee/creamer and soap etc. was very poor. Anybody can have an off day but this was day after day of having to request replacements of one or the other. I have never had this problem in any of the Raddison Blu hotels I have stayed in. Otherwise it was clean and well kept. Staff were courteous and attentive. Locality is the strong point for this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Marc E., Hotel Management
Dear Mike, Thank you for posting your review. It is somewhat disappointing that we could not meet all your expectations and I wanted to apologize for that. I have already addressed the issues with the team to ensure this was a one off. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nordic efficiency with comfortable feel

Posted Aug 7, 2016
The hotel is very well-situated about a block away from the water and about a 3-minute walk from the Concert Hall. Most of downtown is walkable within 10 minutes. Many restaurants and bars and cafes nearby. The staff was amazingly friendly and very professional, and the restaurant provides a nice breakfast that you should get if you can. Beds are comfortable and large even by American standards, and the showers have good water pressure. I was there in the summer so I'd know; the blackout curtains are very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Soffia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for posting such a fantasic review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and what we have to offer. All the best, the Radisson Blu 1919 team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st paul mn

Nice close to the harbor

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Perfect location near the harbor and a variety of restaurants, pubs and shopping. The hotel's staff was most helpful and friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for posting your positive feedback. All the best, the Radisson Blu 1919 team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Close to all downtown activities
Cons: Breakfast included
Location: Opera house has shows & tickets easily available
We had the best very early am service after arrival from airport we were able to get into a room for much need sleep & were able to get 2 single beds instead of a queen that was only available upon booking. Staff are very helpful,professional I would recommend i
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Marc E. , Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for posting your review. And thank you for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your constructive feedback which is invaluable for me. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great Reykjavik hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Location: The harbor is just blocks away, and Harpa (the cultural center in Reykjavik) is within easy walking distance, as is the grand Lutheran church.
The Radisson Blu 1919 is centrally located in Reykjavik, within easy walking distance of prime restaurants, shopping, and cultural amenities. We arrived early one morning following a cruise, and the staff bent over backwards to accommodate us, including getting us into our room mid-morning instead of mid-afternoon, which made a huge difference. The room was excellent, and we had a pleasant stay in every respect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Marc E., Hotel Management
Dear Terry, Thank you for posting your review. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Good location, close to restaurants and shopping and convenient for tour pick-ups; can accommodate 3 people in 1 room which most European hotels can't
Cons: Better assistance with tours and excursions. Front desk was very helpful but would be great if they had a concierge that could advise on tours, etc.
Nice hotel, convenient location. Very loud on Friday and Sat night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Marc E., Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for posting your review. it is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank your as well for your feedback and the suggestions. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard