Ratings based on 433 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near to the city center

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Hotel is located in the center, it quite a challenge to find a car park., should a quest had a car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Bella., Hotel Management
Dear guest,thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Bergþóra Bjarnadóttir.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Room Hot, Low Ceiling

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: We liked the pleasant staff, the breakfast, and the location.
Cons: I would only consider staying in this hotel again if I were not on the top floor, and only in an upgraded room.
Location: Good location, lots to do.
We arrived at 2 am, so I couldn't check out other rooms at that hour. We were on the top floor. The ceiling sloped, and I had to stoop to get around my side of the bed (I am only 5 foot 2 inches tall!). Being on the top floor was problematic in that the room was hot, making sleeping virtually impossible for either of us. There were 2 windows, neither of which we could open. The next day the desk clerk came up and couldn't open the window, either. 2 days later finally the maintenance man came up, pounded on one of the windows, and was able to force it open - which helped moderate the too-hot room temperature. The bath towels were very thin. The slope of the ceiling gave the room a cramped feeling, such that you didn't want to spend any time in the room beyond sleeping. Positives: The staff was pleasant and tried to be helpful. Breakfast was good. The location was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Bella, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you for posting your review. it is somewhat disappointing that we could not meet your expectations on your last stay with us. I appreciate you invaluable feedback that will help us improve our operation. With kind Regards, Bergþóra Bjarnadóttir
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Long weekend with daughter.

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Great hotel, excellent location, center area. Nice breakfast. We had a 5th floor suite. With extra bed. All was handled perfectly. Room shades very effective. Important in Iceland summer months.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear SJC, Thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed stay with us. We would love to welcome you back whenever you return to Reykjavik. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockville, MD, USA

Nice hotel but noisy on weekend

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Hotel room was nice but the noise from the street made it difficult to sleep on Friday night. A lot of intoxicated people were loud all night into the morning. I would not stay here again if the stay was over a weekend. Otherwise, breakfast was very good and the Hotel staff were helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear Roger, Thank you for posting your review. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your hotel of choice. Apologies for the street noise you have experienced. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed our breakfast and that our team members could assist you during your time with us. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from los angeles california

Posted Jul 16, 2017
We were satisfied with the hotel and location. But the mattress was not that great and the bathroom can be upgraded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear traveller, Thank you for posting your review. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. I really appreciate your feedback that will help to improve our operation. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

construction zone hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2017
I thought I was going to a city hotel with beautiful views. That is what the website say. The only view is looking at buildings and scaffolding. They are drilling cement from 7:00 am to 7:00 pm. The manager was rude when we asked for a new room further away from the noisiest construction. I would never recommend this property for guests who want any sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for posting your review. it is somewhat disappointing that we could not meet your expectations on your last stay with us. I appreciate you invaluable feedback that will help us improve our operation. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and great hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Great hotel and staff. Good food, nice bar and happy hour. Clean and friendly. Would return
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for sharing your experience. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you as well for allowing us to be part of your Icelandic experience. With very kind regards Marc Ebehard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delaware

convenient

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Conveniently located, clean. Very Scandinavian in decor, meaning sparse but everything you need. We parked our rental on the street, no problem. Walked to restaurants. A bit pricey for the simple life but everything is pricey there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear gem, Thank you for posting your review. Thank you as wellfor choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. Whenever you return to Reykjavik we would love to welcome you back. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear traveller, Thank you very much for posting your review. Thank you as well for allowing us being part of your Icelandic experience. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Reykjavik. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
3 out of 5
by Gauti from Sweden

Reykjavík center

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
Little comfort and way to expensive
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear Gauti, Thank you for psoting your review. I appreciate you constructive feedback that will help to improve our operation. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard