Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Radisson Blu

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Hotel is in excellent location with very nice staff, comfortable beds, clean, great breakfast which we had included each day. Little bit noisy at night due to downtown location but not bad. Loved Iceland and its people. Enjoyed the Golden Circle Tour with waterfalls, geysirs and where tectonic plate geography. Local food was excellent. Also be sure to go to local pools.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Marc E., Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for posting your review. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Close to everything otherwise non descript.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
I usually use Raddison Blu as my first choice if possible, and I have stayed in quite a few. This hotel isn't bad, it just isn't up to the standard of other Blu hotels. I know its a small thing but replacement of complementary items such as coffee/creamer and soap etc. was very poor. Anybody can have an off day but this was day after day of having to request replacements of one or the other. I have never had this problem in any of the Raddison Blu hotels I have stayed in. Otherwise it was clean and well kept. Staff were courteous and attentive. Locality is the strong point for this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Marc E., Hotel Management
Dear Mike, Thank you for posting your review. It is somewhat disappointing that we could not meet all your expectations and I wanted to apologize for that. I have already addressed the issues with the team to ensure this was a one off. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nordic efficiency with comfortable feel

Posted Aug 7, 2016
The hotel is very well-situated about a block away from the water and about a 3-minute walk from the Concert Hall. Most of downtown is walkable within 10 minutes. Many restaurants and bars and cafes nearby. The staff was amazingly friendly and very professional, and the restaurant provides a nice breakfast that you should get if you can. Beds are comfortable and large even by American standards, and the showers have good water pressure. I was there in the summer so I'd know; the blackout curtains are very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Soffia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for posting such a fantasic review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and what we have to offer. All the best, the Radisson Blu 1919 team.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st paul mn

Nice close to the harbor

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Perfect location near the harbor and a variety of restaurants, pubs and shopping. The hotel's staff was most helpful and friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for posting your positive feedback. All the best, the Radisson Blu 1919 team.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Close to all downtown activities
Cons: Breakfast included
Location: Opera house has shows & tickets easily available
We had the best very early am service after arrival from airport we were able to get into a room for much need sleep & were able to get 2 single beds instead of a queen that was only available upon booking. Staff are very helpful,professional I would recommend i
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Marc E. , Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for posting your review. And thank you for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your constructive feedback which is invaluable for me. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great Reykjavik hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Location: The harbor is just blocks away, and Harpa (the cultural center in Reykjavik) is within easy walking distance, as is the grand Lutheran church.
The Radisson Blu 1919 is centrally located in Reykjavik, within easy walking distance of prime restaurants, shopping, and cultural amenities. We arrived early one morning following a cruise, and the staff bent over backwards to accommodate us, including getting us into our room mid-morning instead of mid-afternoon, which made a huge difference. The room was excellent, and we had a pleasant stay in every respect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Marc E., Hotel Management
Dear Terry, Thank you for posting your review. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Good location, close to restaurants and shopping and convenient for tour pick-ups; can accommodate 3 people in 1 room which most European hotels can't
Cons: Better assistance with tours and excursions. Front desk was very helpful but would be great if they had a concierge that could advise on tours, etc.
Nice hotel, convenient location. Very loud on Friday and Sat night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Marc E., Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for posting your review. it is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank your as well for your feedback and the suggestions. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice hotel in the heart of Reykyavik

Posted Jul 4, 2016
We stayed four nights altogether. Part of it we arranged through Expedia, part through the group we were with. When they transfered us to a room that smelled of smoke, we complained (it is a non-smoking hotel). They were embarrassed and immediately upgraded us from a standard room to a junior suite at no cost. The rooms are pleasant, the breakfast is pretty good, and the location is walking distance from great shops and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2016 by Marc E., Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for posting your review. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919. it was a pleasure having you with us. Brgds Marc Eberhard
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Good location

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Housekeeping!!! We only had it 3 of the 5 days we were there. One day he came at 8:45am so we asked him to come back, he never did.
Location: Downtown, one block from Marina and Harpa, many restaurants and pubs around with happy hours.
This hotel is in a great location with walking access to everything downtown. Many good restaurants are around the hotel, and many with a happy hour, which was nice, as food and drink are very expensive in Iceland! There is construction going on on two sides of the hotel now, both large new hotels, so it will go on for some time. This will block their view of the marina and the Harpa when completed, which is very sad as it was nice to look out the window and see the view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Marc E., Hotel Management
Dear boysx4, Thank you very much for posting your review. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your comments are much appreciated. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA. USA

nice hotel close to all sights in Old Town

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Convenient to local restaurants and sights.
Vacationed with my 15 year old Grandson. Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. It was convenient to all the sights within the Old Town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Marc E., Hotel Management
Dear traveler, It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with your grandson. Thank you for sharing your experience. With kind regards Marc Eberhard