Ratings based on 390 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location - near everything...

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Great location. Walking distance to everything in the city.
Cons: Breakfast was very expensive. I suggest a tiered pricing for breakfast. One for a continental breakfast and one that includes the hot buffet.
Overall a very good experience. The location is great, rooms are nice, bright, comfortable and clean. The staff was pleasant and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you as well for allowing us to be part of your Icelandic experience. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the not to far future. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Good location and good hotel for holiday in Iceland.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear hari, Thank you for posting your review. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mansfield

Nice hotel, great location.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
We stayed here for 4 nights. It was a lovely hotel with a great location. Lots of shops and restaurants around, right near the harbour and a short walk to the big church. It was clean and the staff where friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would have no hesitation in going back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear lisa, Thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We truly hope to be able to welcome you back on your return to Iceland. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal Canada

Posted Mar 13, 2017
I was given first a tiny small room on the 4th floor with the inclined celling only, I can't even walk into the room as the roof is inclined to my bed! I insist to ask them to change to another NORMAL room for me, I got it eventually after arguing 30 minutes with the reception staff. Breakfast was good and service in restaurant was good too. HOWEVER, I am told airport shuttle pick up was arranged @11:00 A to go to airport, I checked out and start waiting in lobby gate since 10:45, staff told me to wait there. By 11:09, nobody picked me up, so I went to reception again and asked if she is sure she arranged that for me, she said YES, when saying 11:00, refer to between 11:00 to 11:30. So I went back to wait, till 11:28, I went to reception again! Then she called and hung up the phone that shuttle bus already passed by, I have to get the taxi to airport myself! AFTER 45 minutes of waiting, I ended up calling a taxi to airport which cost me EURO150! which if by shuttle bus should be only 25EURO. The only thing I got is the "WE ARE SORRY" from the staff in reception!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear Emily, Thank you for your review. Please contact myself to allow me to find a solution that suits you. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious and warm.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Good location. Warm clean spacious room. Very comfortable bed and pilllows. Good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for sharing your experience. Thank you as well for allowing us to be part of your Icelandic experience. It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Ideal location for a weekend trip to Iceland

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Breakfast. It was part of the reason we chose this hotel, as breakfast was included, and was definitely worth it!
Cons: Sound-proof the windows for the early morning nightclub.
Location: Everything was within walking distance from the hotel. We visited the Concert House, Lake, Cathedral, Harbour area (old and new), bars & restaurants
The location of the hotel was ideal and very close to many of the attractions in Reykjavik. We stayed in a junior suite, which worked out to be very expensive, but we enjoyed the extra space and coffee machine which was part of the junior suite extras. All staff were very pleasant, helpful and gave very good advise on how best to use our time. The rooms felt new and fresh, showers were nice and powerful and temperature was always cosy, even if it was bitterly cold outside. The only let down was the street noise on Friday night kept us awake until the early hours. It sounded like a night-club or disco close by, and it was 3am before things settled down. Other than that, no complaints. There were a great choice of bars and restaurants in the area and I recommend the old harbour area and Fredrickson's which was on the corner beside the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear Fiona, Thank you for posting your review. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly pass on your comments to the team. Apologies for the street noise you have experience during your stay. We would love to welcome you back here at the 1919 whenever you return to Iceland. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great location, good service

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: The service for special requests is great.
Location: The hotel is right in the center of shopping and the best restaurants.
Note that the rooms vary considerably in size. We've stayed in huge suites, small rooms, and in-between size rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Jelena, Hotel Management
Dear Ken Thank you for posting your review and your comment on our service. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the stay with us. All the best from the Radisson Blu 1919 team.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for taking the time and writing your review. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. When you return to Reykjavik we would of course love to welcome you back. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
5 out of 5
by Jenny

Quiet and super convenient hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing stay, great room, fabulous staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jenny, Thank you for sharing your experience. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you as well for allowing us to be part of your Icelandic experience. We would love to welcome you back should you return to Reykjavik. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very noisy till past 3am one night, don't go there is you want peace and quiet!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, Thank you for posting your review. It is somewhat disappointing that you could not fully enjoy your stay with us. Let me please apologize for the street noise you have experienced on your last stay with us. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard.