Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Fantastic location!

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Can't fault this hotel! The staff were always friendly and very accommodating. They also helped us with our trip bookings. The location is right in the centre of the city and you can access a right Icelandic restaurant within a few minutes walk. Would highly recommend this hotel to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear Claire, Thank you for sharing your experience. it is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you as well for your recommendation. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good location but only 3 stars

Posted Dec 7, 2016
They put us into a basic room when we'd paid for a dlx rm which took a long time resolve. The chap showed me 4 rooms before we got there and that happened because I was so persistent- I was ready to leave to check into hotel Borg next door instead!. It wasn't his fault and did everything he could to help. It's clearly a management issue calling small rooms "deluxe". Very frustrating as it cost us an hour of what was left of remaining day light. Dlx rooms are still basic with London Underground style bathrooms. They were tiny and basic with white tiles that need a thorough clean. House keeping was only ok. The towels are old and fraying, again a management issue. Don't get a 5th floor (top floor) room as you'll keep hitting your head on the slanted ceiling. Great location for walking around the town though, my guess any location within the "city" works as it's so small. Check out didn't seem have the correct info about my pre-paying for the room via Expedia (though check-in did....). Quick enough to resolve except the front desk, a slightly older lady decided to challenge me about this by shouting at me across the lobby!! She refused to look at her system to check and kept shouting so I shouted back! Such a rude way to engage with your guests, appalling actually. I resented how she accused me of attempting to leave without paying. Overall it's a 3, perhaps 3.5 star hotel with bad front desk service. Certainly is not the normal Radisson standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Great hotel in central location

Posted Nov 28, 2016
We found the hotel to be just what we needed for our Iceland stay. It is conveniently located with good options for parking. The breakfast (while not included) was fresh and tasty. The staff were not overly friendly, but pleasant. The rooms were well appointed and spacious. My only issue with our room was the two stairs in the bathroom and the stairs from the lift to the room which was not ideal with a toddler/stroller. The pillows in the room were also a little uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear mandy, Thank you so much for posting your review. Thank you for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. I really do appreciate your constructive feedback that will help to improve our operation. We of course would love to welcome you back here at the hotel whenever your travels bring you back to Iceland. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. But a 3 star hotel at best.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The staff were great the location is ideal. We stayed at 3 different hotels in iceland. The Radisson was the most expensive and the least clean. The cream chairs were dirty so we didn't sit on them. The actual room was okay. The washroom was horrible. It was tiled all white and look equivalent to a hospital washroom...or a washroom in a new york subway...broken tiles just gross looking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for posting your review. It is somewhat disappointing that we could not meet your expectations on your last stay. Thank you very much for your constructive feedback that will help us to improve our operation. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location but NOISY

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Centrally located, walk to restaurants, shops, concert hall, halgrimmskirkja, water
Beautiful room, very comfy beds, huge bathrooms, pretty lobby, helpful and pleasant staff, convenient location which was excellent for getting to all the shops, restaurants and church. The trade off of being in the middle of the action is that I was up til 4:30 AM listening to yelling screaming shouting laughing crying drunken fools.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear Sandra, Thank you so much for posting your review. Apologies for the street noise you have experienced during your stay. Thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel and especially our team members. I will certainly pass them on which will be much appreciated. We would love to welcome you back whenever your travels bring to Reykjavik again. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis MN USA

Posted Oct 18, 2016
This hotel is great and I'd stay here again. They allowed us to check in early sincour flight arrived in the wee hours. They also were helpful with any questions we had. The location is great too. One block from the Main Street with shopping and restaurants, nuce 10 ,impute walk or so to the historical church, 5 minutes to old down town with great coffee shops and 5-7 minutes to the wharf area. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and stay there again myself.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by Marc, Hotel Management
Dear Katie, Thank you very much for sharing your experience. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kueait

HOOD PLACE AND NICE HOTEL

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: right in the centre
the place is really good , clean and amazing good for stay in rekyavik and highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by Marc E., Hotel Management
Dear Ahmed, Thank you for sharing your experience. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you back to Iceland. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Schroon Lake, NY

You get what you pay for..

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Centrally located near the harbor, city center, many shops, galleries, museums, and of course, the world famous Baejarins Beztu hot dog stand.
We booked the hotel on Expedia as part of a package with Icelandic Airlines. The hotel was centrally located near the harbor, and "city center" with its many shops and restaurants. It was a thirty minute drive from the airport. The hotel has no shuttle service, but helped arrange cabs on arrival for our party of 10. The king size bed was made up with two individual sheeted throws, but no top sheet. The bathroom was clean, but had an odor that required keeping the door closed, or you would not have been able to stay in the room. (We tried to change rooms, but none were available.) The hotel serves a nice buffet style breakfast, with a good selection of breads, meats, cheeses, fruits, cereals, and eggs / sausage / bacon cooked to order. That was actually the nicest part of the stay. The staff was friendly but inexperienced, especially in the bar, where each night the crew was teaching each other to make cocktails. The hotel was adequate for the price, but definitely not one I would book again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear Rambler, Thank you for posting your review. It is somewhat disappointing that we could not meet all your expectations on your last stay with us. Be assured that I have addressed the issues you have encountered with the regarding teams to ensure this was a one off. I truly hope to be able to welcome you back to show case you that we can meet or even exceed your expectations. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Perfect location right in city.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Hotel was wonderful. Staff were fantastic. Would absolutely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear Joe, Thank you for posting your review. We hope to welcome you in the near future again. With kind regards Marc Eberhard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Orange, Florida

We enjoyed our stay while we were there.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: It worked for us.
Cons: The omelets at breakfast were not as requested. A daughter and I both ordered cheese omelets at different times, and neither of us had any cheese..
Location: We were not there to enjoy the beach. The nearby restaurants were varied and very good--especially Caruso's.
We came for a wedding, and two of our daughters and husbands also stayed there. Location was right for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Marc E, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for posting your review. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that I have addressed the issue you have encountered with the omelettes already with our chef. Thank you as well for choosing the 1919 as your home away from home. I sincerely hope you had a enjoyable wedding as well. With very kind regards Marc Eberhard