Ratings based on 596 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Room Charges - Beware!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
The hotel charged me double the price for my weekend stay. This trip ended up charging me double the amount I was expecting to pay and it took forever to get a hold of someone to reverse the charges. It is also hard to believe that with the booming tourism industry in Iceland they haven't updated the hotel to look more modern. It is also very frustrating that you have to pay for every little thing in Iceland. Heaven forbid they would give you a free bottle of water with your room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Raddison blue saga reyjkavik

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Hotel badly needs updating The basic needs are more Than covered The comforts like nice mattresses and pillows , a decent gym and nicer furnishings are not Good location Free breakfast a definite plus Staff was mostly ok
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel just out of the centre. Quiet.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Everything. The helpfulness, the room, the facilities, the food and efficiency.
Cons: The only thing is if they have a band downstairs the noise travels up a number of floors into the rooms.
Location: 10 minute walk to town so it is away from the noise and crowds yet convenient. The Icelandic museum is 5 minutes away, the coast is close too.
Can't fault this hotel. It was one of my favourite hotel stays. Comfortable, efficient, enjoyable. Even the 10 minute walk to town was enjoyable by the reservoir. I would choose this hotel again if I visit Iceland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reykjavik

nice hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: clean and comfortable
Cons: a greater variety of food on menu
Location: quite a few museums and places of interest you need to be able to walk a fair distance, the city is probably 20-30 mins away I think there is a bus
good standard hotel staff could be better sometimes people were ignored I felt the customer was not always put first
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First trip to iceland

Posted Feb 12, 2017
We had lovely time in Reykjavik! The city was full of warm and charming people. Our hotel stay was nice, and it was close to town. Only a 20 minute walk to the center. The hotel rooms were comfortable but I have a few suggestions. The lobby bathroom needs an update from the 70's. The breakfast place should stay open longer for late risers. And the hotel room phones don't work very well. The front desk gave instructions on how to call down to them but it never worked. :(
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Clean room, breakfast.
Good hotel only 10min walk from centre. Great breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Completely satisfactory but a long walk in

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was really good quality and plentiful and didn't seem so expensive when compared with the prices of eating out in Reykjavik
Totally fine a little dated and worn but similar to other raddisans I have stayed in. The staff in the main were polite but not friendly with the exception of checkout receptionist who was incredibly rude and unhelpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from helensburgh scotland

views amazing

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: i loved the views from the room and the staff were nice and friendl, food fantastic
Cons: maybe a wee bit of decorating ..but ok because you are out sightseein
Location: the town is about 15mins walk away, taxi's are outside hotel so not a problem
the hotel was great the staff were very nice and friendly, the breakfast was really good lots of choice for you to choose from. you can book your trips in the hotel the girl is very knowledgable, the golden circle tour was fantastic and it takes in the secret lagoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Nice hotel, wish it were closer to city center

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: modern, clean, quiet, good food
Cons: free hotel shuttle to city center
This is a very nice, modern and extremely quiet hotel. The food options in the hotel were quite good (try to get a package that includes the breakfast buffet!). The only downside was it was a bit of a schlep from the main part of town with shopping and restaurants. If the weather were warmer I wouldn't mind the 10 min. or so walk, but in the cold it's kind of a bummer so you have to cab it. It made it more inconvenient to explore Reykjavic, and I would book somewhere closer if I had to do it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Saga Hotel good for you.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Incredibly professional staff, willing to make all they can to secure a comfortable stay to us. Bar, restaurant and other amenities and excellent. Please do something about the hot water sulphuric smell when faucet is turned on. Must dine at the restaurant on the 8th floor. Chaine de Rotisseurs top class. The seven course , impeccable service, chef's visit at the table, top view of Reykjavik, all is good for this hotel. I suggest a car rental company on location.