Ratings based on 766 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Ok hotel but too far from centre

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Iceland itself is simply stunning and can’t reccomend it enough to anyone. However the hotel didn’t match up to Iceland itself.The main issue for the poor rating was down to the cleanliness and comfort of the room. The fridge had half used drinks in from a previous guest and there were bits of rubbish under some of the rooms units. To cap this off there doesn’t appear to be a daily room service so it’s make your own bed and if you intend to have a shower again hang up your towels. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the centre so if you want closeness then it’s not for you. Finally the hotel Michelin star restaurant only had a choice of two main courses neither of which we fancied so be prepared for the walk to get some food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Sonja, Hotel Management
Dear Jonny, Thank you for your review regarding your stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and your comments will be used to improve our service and facilities as we continue to renovate. We appreciate your feedback. Warmest Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: friendly staff that were always on hand and willing to offer assistance
Cons: more attention to cleaning of rooms, hotel will be great once completed
Location: 10 mins walk in to town where there is a great choice of restaurants and shop. Recommend the golden circle in super jeeps and snow mobiles - amazing !
The Raddison Blu Saga is in a great location with only a nice easy 10 min walk in to town. The price of Breakfast was to expensive for us at approx £25 per person but thats just Reykjavik. The down side of the hotel was that its now going through a refurbishment and we were not notified before arrival. The hotel is old and is in need of the refurbishment as the carpets in the walkways are stretched and stained and the main decor is dated. Our room was a good size but the there was loads of black hair in the bathroom, we were offered a free drink by the management but the hair was still there the next day after the room was cleaned. Iceland is a fantastic place with friendly locals
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Sonja , Hotel Management
Dear P, Thank you for your review regarding your stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and housekeeping was not up to par. I will actively share this within management as we continue to renovate the hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience in our hotel. Warmest Regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

A bit away from City Center

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Rooms are reasonable size. The tours pick up and drop off directly at the hotel.
Cons: Have a better cafeteria for casual meals.
The hotel is about 2 miles from the City Center. Not a big problem i the weather is nice, but it is usually rainy/snowing and very windy. This makes walking to the city center not practical. The city bus is about $5 each way and you may have to wait at the bus stops in inclement weather. Taxis are very expensive - probably $40 each way. The hotel has a very nice restaurant, but the "Cafe" just has some refrigerated food (sandwiches, yogurt, fruit bowls, etc.). I found the food in the gas station next door more appealing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Sonja , Hotel Management
Dear Vic, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your comments regarding our cafe shop have been taken under advisement as we continue to renovate and improve our facilities. We appreciate your time letting us know of your experience. Warmest Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Great location for all Iceland activities!

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Pros: The staff and location
Cons: Get the spa up and running - that would have made it an amazing experience
Location: Walk to the beach, walk to restaurants and shopping, not busy like downtown
This is a great hotel for all you do in Iceland. The staff was excellent. I lost my money and they helped me find it, get a cab for me and look for my husband's lost cell phone. They are remodeling but I glimpsed the new rooms and they look amazing! Definitely choose Radisson Blu!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Sonja , Hotel Management
Dear Maureen, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your very nice comments about your stay and the hotel. It is a pleasure to hear you found our staff very helpful and accommodating during your stay and I will make sure I let them know of your wonderful compliments. It is refreshing to learn our service quality has met your expectations and as we continue to renovate, we look forward to improving our facilities and reopening our spa. We are looking forward to welcome you back again when you return to Iceland. Warmest Regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dcent location

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Quiet location, yet not too far from town. Nice Views on both sides, we got rooms on opposite sides.
Cons: Plan better for the bathtub.. I do not know if replacement bathtubs are in the plans when you renovate all the rooms
Location: Walking to the church, parliament building, city hall area. Nice walks weather permitting.
Nice place but, currently less than optimal due to construction work in the hotel and other places. In general, rooms are clean, small room, Locker did not work in the room, located high above, need help to reach. Coffee pot rusty and dusty in both the rooms we had, probably no one used recently, and maids do not bother wasting time to clean the so called ones. Waiting at front desk is a nightmare, especially if you are in a rush. Bathroom: Tub is too deep, while it is not deep, getting out of the tub is a task and I do not have a clue how elderly or short or people with knee problems manage. At least there should be a step outside the tub. That will pose a problem as the room is small. Breakfast is okay, unless you eat a lot it is waste of money at 29,000 Iceland Kronas. In general, people are friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Sonja , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and comprehensive feedback. We appreciate all your comments regarding your stay as we continue to renovate and work on enhancing overall experience. Warmest Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Good location

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: The view of the city from the room
Location: Explore the city
When we checked in we were told breakfast was included. The next day we went to go get breakfast and they said it wasn't included and they tried to charge us extra. We weren't going to pay extra since we were told it was included and the price for the night should of had breakfast included. Other then that everything was alright.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Sonja, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear of the mishap regarding the breakfast but happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Warmest Regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Overall acceptable but housekeeping was sloppy and the windows and heat were difficult to work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Team Saga, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your sharing your experience about your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. With kindest regards, Team Saga
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

15 minute walk to town centre

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly and very helpful
Cons: See comments above about water leaks in our room. The fact that staff said other rooms were leaking suggests a major problem with the windows.
Location: An easy 15 mins walk from town centre. Nothing to see or do around hotel. Free parking which is useful.
Generally our experience was good. Only two issues. We arrived ahead of a storm, checked in and intended staying in for the night. As the storm got worse we noticed water leaking in through the windows in our room. We were in 515, a junior suite so had 6 windows. 4 of these leaked badly. Staff brought us towels and changed them twice as they were getting soaked quickly. Eventually we were offered the same room one floor up, but the windows were also leaking there too. We stayed where we were and mopped up the water and built a towel dam on the floor to stop water spreading. Not a great start to our 6 night stay. Think that the window replacement work was a shoddy job. Second issue was the renovation work in the hotel, it was a disruption at ground floor/reception/bar area. People were having to sit in there with rugs around them. Understand that the hotel will stay open and work around these works as much as possible. Hotel had plenty of free parking and was a nice walk from the town. Nothing much around it to see. The hotel restaurant was a “fine dining” option. We went there once and the food was lovely but very small portions and very expensive. A more basic restaurant offering or a bar menu choice would cater for those who don’t want to or can’t afford to pay top prices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Daniela R, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, thank you so much for your review. We are glad to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for letting us know about the leaks, we apologize for this. We hope to see you soon again and send you kind regards from Reykjavik, Daniela R, Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lansdale, PA, USA

.Great hotel..

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Great view of the city
Location: Walking distance to the town
Very accommodating. Mr.Baldur was very supportive. We were 18 in the group and he made sure we were on the same floor and helped us check in early, Breakfast was excellent and staff very pleasant..
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Sonja , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and wonderful comments. I will be sure to pass it on to Baldur how appreciated you felt. We look forward to welcoming you back. Warmest Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2017
It was under renovation during our stay, our room was recently completed. Our request wasn't honored for an early check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by Sonja, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate you letting us know of your experience. Warmest Regards,