Ratings based on 787 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Radisson Blu Saga

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Location was good and breakfast was excellent.
Cons: Rooms need improving
Location: Great - lots to see within 10-15 minutes walk.
Hotel bar and restaurant closed for refurbishment when arrived with no prior warning. Also a reduced room service menu which only offered food from the remaining restaurant (which was extremely expensive). Room was clean but shabby. Not what I expect from a suit in a 4 star hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Sonja, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us. We are glad you found our hotel location satisfactory and our breakfast met your expectations. Our 'classic' hotel is indeed in need of some refurbishment and we are currently in the process of doing so. Please rest assured that we are working diligently at improving our product and guest experience. Hopefully at some point in the future, you'll give us another opportunity to offer a better hotel experience in Iceland. Warmest Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cedarburg WI

Quiet hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Even with the confusion of coming a day early the staff managed to get my superior room at 4am a day early. We were charged a half day extra but at least we did not have to change rooms. Overall the staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel was very clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to downtown

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Stay was nice, close to downtown, food prices in Iceland are very expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Sonja, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and rating. We appreciate your feedback. Warmest Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Basic

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: Plus points, the bed and sheets were extremely comfortable; lovely toiletries provided in the bathroom and a great view from the 6th floor. The staff
Cons: Dressing gowns and some complimentary snacks could be provided. I also felt at this price breakfast ought to have been included.
Location: We had a car and the hotel was a short drive from downtown Reykjavík.
We stayed in a standard room which cost £270 for the night on New Year's Eve. I was a little disappointed as the room was very expensive and there was no breakfast included. The room was outdated. There was a lot of wear and tear on the furniture. The bath and shower were old - it took a long time to run a bath and I had to use my tweezers to take the plug out. There was no mini bar service which were only informed of on checkout, which was disappointing as it was New Year's Eve and there was a mini bar in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Sonia, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your stay. We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us and your comments have been taken under advisement. We appreciate your feedback to us. Warmest Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales, UK

Good Location

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Stayed in a Junior Suite with 2 children. Nice size room and clean. Good breakfast. Hotel is being refurbished and some facilities do look dated. Good location - we were able to walk into Reykjavík centre in about 15 minutes. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Sonja, Hotel Management
Dear Leanne, Thank you so much for your review and feedback regarding your stay with us. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you again to the hotel especially once the renovations are completed. Warmest Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maryland

Good and bad.

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Some of the staff were excellent. However one of the managers and his subordinate was absolutely unhelpful. The rooms were spacious the beds good the Linden changed, but the floors were never cleaned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Sonja , Hotel Management
Dear Max, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate and value both your positive and negative comments and we will use them to maintain and improve our services. Thank you for your feedback. Warmest Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Old and dated rooms from the 1960's, although the hotel has just started renovations Location is good for everything
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Daniela R, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for leaving us a review. We are in fact in the middle of the renovation process, we are currently working on modernizing our classic hotel. We are happy to read that you liked our location. We hope to welcome you back one day. Kindest regards, Daniela R, Guest Relations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Stay was 2 separate nights

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Pros: Easy parking, good atmosphere in the lobby and great breakfast in the restuarant.
Cons: On our second visit, we were given a room in the older section. Needs updating with heating, curtains and TV.
Location: We had a car and did not walk anywhere. It was super cold. Parking was easy and ample. Minutes from the city center.
First night in Reykjavik we stayed in the new section of the hotel. It was perfect for us. We were very tired from a long flight and the bed was very comfortable, sufficient size room, good access to electrical outlets for charging devices, nice flat screen TV and great bathroom with enough shelf space for toiletries.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2018 by Daniela R, Hotel Management
Dear Caro, thank so much for your 5star review. We appreciate your detailed feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon. All the best for the new year, kindest regards, Daniela R, Guest Relations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Ok hotel but too far from centre

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Iceland itself is simply stunning and can’t reccomend it enough to anyone. However the hotel didn’t match up to Iceland itself.The main issue for the poor rating was down to the cleanliness and comfort of the room. The fridge had half used drinks in from a previous guest and there were bits of rubbish under some of the rooms units. To cap this off there doesn’t appear to be a daily room service so it’s make your own bed and if you intend to have a shower again hang up your towels. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the centre so if you want closeness then it’s not for you. Finally the hotel Michelin star restaurant only had a choice of two main courses neither of which we fancied so be prepared for the walk to get some food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Sonja, Hotel Management
Dear Jonny, Thank you for your review regarding your stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and your comments will be used to improve our service and facilities as we continue to renovate. We appreciate your feedback. Warmest Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: friendly staff that were always on hand and willing to offer assistance
Cons: more attention to cleaning of rooms, hotel will be great once completed
Location: 10 mins walk in to town where there is a great choice of restaurants and shop. Recommend the golden circle in super jeeps and snow mobiles - amazing !
The Raddison Blu Saga is in a great location with only a nice easy 10 min walk in to town. The price of Breakfast was to expensive for us at approx £25 per person but thats just Reykjavik. The down side of the hotel was that its now going through a refurbishment and we were not notified before arrival. The hotel is old and is in need of the refurbishment as the carpets in the walkways are stretched and stained and the main decor is dated. Our room was a good size but the there was loads of black hair in the bathroom, we were offered a free drink by the management but the hair was still there the next day after the room was cleaned. Iceland is a fantastic place with friendly locals
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Sonja , Hotel Management
Dear P, Thank you for your review regarding your stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and housekeeping was not up to par. I will actively share this within management as we continue to renovate the hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience in our hotel. Warmest Regards