Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good luck checking in!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Rooms nice enough.
Cons: An actual proper check-in. (!)
Location: Location is far from town. Not suitable unless you have a car.
Check-in was after 2pm, so we arrived about 5pm. No one in the hostel, no answer to any of the contact phone numbers, and no reply to messages. We waited around for about half an hour before we took a look round and found the back door was left unlocked. No staff appeared at any time, we still haven't gotten any kind of reply from them. Once inside, the decor and room were fine, nothing special, but the bar had been set pretty low by this point. Thankfully we were only staying one night.
1 out of 5
by michael

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
Never stayed since the condition of the building looked nothing like the pictures! None of the numbers given to us worked so we're unable to actually contact someone to gain entrance into the building! We were very frustrated since we had been flying from the US and couldn't wait to settle in for the night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Building and service to be improved

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Quiet place. Facilities in the kitchen.
Cons: Reception and cleanliness
Location: ok
No room was not ready at 3 pm even if check-in start at 2pm. Common areas are not very clean. Reception was difficult. No answer at the door. No answer by phone. We wait one hour and half for the room. The room staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, New york

Made to feel very comfortable here! Nice stay!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: The Lady from Sweden who took care of us! Also how quiet and clean it was!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: We used it as a home base and saw many things from there (both near and far). We were happy with the price also!
The woman who lived at the place and, is from Sweden, was FANTASTIC! She made us feel at home! The house was in nice area and pretty close to the downtown area. It was everything that we hoped for very clean and quiet!!! We were very pleased!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

iceland

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: nice building
Cons: not so great
kitchen and shared bathroom good parking and nice room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The definition of misrepresentation.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Nothing. The pictures looked beautiful, but when we arrived it looked nothing like what was on the website. The house has a cool floor plan, but the outside looks dilapidated, and the pics of inside were very misleading.
Cons: There is no staff, so there's no one to let you in the door (which is locked). Once we managed to get in (after another guest unlocked the door after 2.5 hours), the bathroom was a mess and had no lighting, and the room/bed was covered in leaves and dirt. Wifi is spotty, and there's no breakfast (despite our booking website saying there is). I called to complain about the state of the place, and they told me "well, we can't control nature and you didn't tell us when you would check in." In order to make a reservation, you have to put your check-in date, so I don't know what they are talking about. Completely misrepresented.
Location: Not far from things to do (about 15-20 mins from anything), which is great since you won't want to stay in the house longer than you have to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Very cool and clean - great kitchen and living room facilities.
Cons: Working TV. Smell of smoke present. Needs better signage from main road onwards.
Location: Bus stop and main roads not far at all. Cracking collection of sculptures to look at if you have time to spare or a re board.
Staff needs a little training in how to greet visitors. Lovely setting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could have been so much better

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: library
Cons: cleaning and repairs
Location: on outskirts of the city
We were greeted by Siggi the friendly manager and the initial impression was a very interesting building with plenty of space and books. I was not impressed when in my bedroom I could write my name in the dust, it was generally grubby and during the first night, I discovered the bed sheets had been used by the previous occupants. The house is would be so much better if the bathroom was cleaned(it was very dirty), the taps fixed, the showers door repaired etc etc. Unless you have a good immune system the kitchen is a no-go area other than to boil a kettle. Siggi needs to go in the kitchen with half a dozen bin bags and empty all the old food, presumably left by long-departed guests, that is in the fridge and left all over the place. One guest who did use the kitchen said she threw some of the old out of date food out to make some room in the fridge! The guesthouse needs a thorough clean and sprucing up - even with Iceland pricing it is not good enough. Stayed September 2016, travelled with friends
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tucson, az

nice place to relax

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
comfortable and quiet!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extraordinary communal house in residential area

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Size, architecture, comfort. Homey feel.
Location: This is in a residential area, so have transportation.
This place is huge, modern, and amazing. It's like living in an eccentric wealthy person's house for a while. Art on the walls, TVs, many levels and huge rooms to hang out. Balconies and soaring ceilings.