Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Das freundliche Personal.
Cons: Diese Frage kann ich nicht beantworten, denn ich kenne den Hotel-Standard auf Island nicht.
Location: Sehr guter Ausgangspunkt für Touren.
Die erste Nacht war gut, die zweite wurde durch die Lautstärke neuer Gäste etwas gestört. Das Hotel hat anscheinend dünne Wände und Decken.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Even the toilet had an amazing view.
Cons: The only downfall was three beers were stolen from the fridge. though that was not the fault of the facility. Thank you.
Great location, nice clean and comfy bed. It has a fantastic view of the city. I can't say enough about the location. I am very happy I was not staying outside the City Center. everything in the city was in quick walking distance. Just know that the entrance is a door on the side street right next to the Geysir store.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Loved it!

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Location: Right in the center of town, very close to restaurants and bars! You can basically walk anywhere from here!
I had an amazing experience at Reykjavik Rental Guesthouse! We actually stayed here twice during our week long stay in Iceland. The location is prime - it's right in the center of the city, so you can easily walk to restaurants or bars (it's also only a few blocks from the famous Hallgrímskirkja!). Not to mention the amazing staff - we had the pleasure of meeting Halli, who owns the guesthouse. He was extremely friendly and helpful and really cares about his guests! We couldn't recommend this place enough!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Great spot right in the center of Reykjavik

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Amazing staff, Harold was super sweet and helpful! Enjoyed our stay and will be going back in November!!! :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly hotel with thin walls

Posted Aug 29, 2016
This hotel had a smell to the place like old body odor. Bathrooms were not clean. There was a loud fly in the room, and the walls were so thin we were kept awake by the snoring in the room next door. The location is central, but way overpriced for the poor quality.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Downtown core. Very convenient.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Great location. Nice kitchen and bathroom. Feel being home. Got a great view from our room. Love to come back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montclair, NJ

Good stuff.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Nice views, simple but good kitchen.
Cons: Kitchen smelled a little funky.
Location: You're right in the middle of town. Pretty great location.
Simple living space. Some cool views from the windows. The room has two twin beds, and if you're a couple it's kinda rough but it's not the worst. They're pushed together and it's alright.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Clean, comfortable, very central. Great kitchen facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin, USA

Comfortable guesthouse near downtown

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Cons: The address is Skólavörðustígur 16 but the door is actually on the side of the building along Grettisgata. This made the entrance hard to find.
Thor Guesthouse is a nice place to stay near downtown Reykjavík. It's up off street level just down the hill from Hallgrímskirkja and just up the hill from downtown. When you walk out the door you're among all the popular shop and restaurants and cafés Haraldur, the general manager, was very friendly, and helped with recommendations on dining and some questions about Iceland in general.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Very convenient location, hostel type guesthouse. Clean and bright.