Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Fruendly & helpful staff!!!!! Knowledgeable about the area & willin to answer questions to help get what you need & to help you get where you are going.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location - great price

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Great location for this guesthouse. We also stayed at a 3 star hotel while in Reykjavik, and this, despite being half the cost, was nicer, We had Room 1 (3 adults) and it was a nice, spacious room. The rooms and bathrooms were kept clean, and the staff was attentive. Wifi was strong. There are several bathrooms and showers, a main kitchen, and a smaller kitchen. The only tricky thing is getting if you are arriving late. (There is a key pad outside, and you may want to get the code from the manager in advance if you are arriving late.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

centrally located budget accomodation

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Central location,clean and friendly atmosphere
Cons: Clearer checking in instructions.
Would recommend this guesthouse,due to its location and friendly staff.who are very helpful giving advice on rejkavik etc Clean comfortable room/bed.Lovely place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliantly located hotel and suits basic needs

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location is my favourite thing, on the street itself there are shops, cafes, restaurants and the biggest church at the top.
Cons: Noise and the quality of the furnishings - my curtains weren't the best.
Location: Main shopping street at the bottom, close to all tour bus stops, and the marina and "centre" close by
Brilliant location, right near all the shops, restaurants, bars, marina. Local supermarkets close by. The room i had was very basic but I was only ever there to sleep or cook. Kitchen offers free oil, salt, milk, butter which is great and has all the utensils to cook with you could need! Lovely balcony and views from the kitchen. Didn't see much of the staff and they didn't seem very friendly. As this is a come as you please guesthouse I found it very noisy both late at night and very early in the morning however all in all a great place, great loacation and facilities, just what you need!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A very typical guest house.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Right in the center of the city
Cons: Guests respecting others right to sleep and quiet hours. Parking can be quite impossible.
Location: They website is wrong on location. Had to search a bit for it.
WARNING: If you expect comfort, quiet, and privacy DO NOT GO HERE... The "guests" did not respect others by continuing to be very loud throughout the night. The facilities are just OK. Not great for more than 2 people for certain. If you have luggage it is a bit difficult to get it up to your room. 4th and 5th floor. There is an elevator, but still have stairs to deal with. This is a young persons travel lounge.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfectly adequate

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
The most confusing and stressful thing about staying here was the check-in process--Hotels.com says you're supposed to contact the property to arrange your check-in, and I did, three times with no response. The website also says this hotel doesn't open until June 1, which is not true. We ended up checking in just by getting there and wandering around until we saw the list that explained which room was ours. In the end, we liked it, because it was very low-key and quiet, and certainly the location can't be beat (truly a 5 or so minute walk to Hallgrimskirkja), though it's also tricky to find at first (we asked locals). There's also free stuff left by other travelers in the kitchen, which is great and seems to be something of a norm with hostels in Iceland, if the two we stayed at during our eleven day camping trip is anything to go by. Our room smelled strongly of smoke, which was really unfortunate and made my pajamas smell like smoke for the rest of the trip. No private bathroom either, but as it was very quiet and empty, we were easily able to use the shared bathrooms whenever we liked. In the end it's a great location, a comfortable enough room, and the bed and room are both quite warm and cozy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

Nice Place but not Glamorous

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Location !
Cons: More clearer check-in instructions.
Location: Everything you want to see and do.
I stayed here because it was inexpensive and I was trying to hold down cost. It is simple and a great place if all you want to do is sleep after exploring. The location was the best as it is right in the middle of everything. Should not that if you take FlyBus to or from the airport it doesn't stop here so you will have a walk from and to the FlyBus stop. My only negative was that the maid staff tried to get in my room one night and scared the hell out of me and I couldn't sleep that night at all.
5 out of 5
by Meagan

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Great location in the city center. Easy check in. Walking distance from shops, food and bars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Brilliant centrally located budget option

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Exceeded our expectations. Location is fantastic. Right in town so easy to get to all the main sights and near to the bus stop for trips and airport transfers. Kitchen facilities were great and ideal for saving money and making new friends. Room was warm, comfy and clean. Never had to wait to use the bathrooms either. Great value for money. Recommend highly.
5 out of 5
by Victoria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels