Ratings based on 943 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from renton, wa

Best location when visiting Reykjavík - just noisy

Posted Oct 16, 2017
I was quite pleased with this hotel. The location is really convenient - only a short block away from bus stop 7 (one of the major pickup/drop off locations for excursions), many shops and restaurants within walking distance, and you could literally walk in any direction from the hotel and just explore. The room was clean - comfortable, modern bathroom (but the fan didn’t work). The kitchen would’ve allowed from cooking at home, but we didn’t utilize it. The tv kind of sucks because of the lack of channels and poor satellite feed. They say fridays and saturdays are the worst in terms of noise, but this is a lie. Every night is loud. The front desk person is always willing to help with answering questions and helping book excursions. There was only one day when the maid *forgot* to clean our room, but when they did it was done well. We asked for late checkout, and they couldn’t authorize it - but when we asked for bag hold, the closet where they keep the bags was already full...so the front desk guy just kept our bags right behind his seat - which I didn’t like. They offer ice water anytime you visit the front desk. All in all, I’d stay there again - but bring ear plugs next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too Noisy if you are not a partier

Posted Oct 14, 2017
We are in our fifties and therefore not up for a party until 5 in the morning. This hotel is conveniently placed right the tourist part of downtown within walking distance to many places. However, it is also placed right above many bars that stay open until 5am and the people utilize every minute. There was yelling and hollering until 5am. Otherwise, the place is wonderful. The rooms were spacious and well appointed and clean. I am not sure about the view. We were on the fifth floor in a view room and our view was mainly the other buildings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Location was center, staff was nice with recommendations on hand, the room was spacious
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockland, MA

Great view, lots of space

Posted Oct 11, 2017
We got upgraded to the king suite and loved the large room and wrap around roof deck patio with hot tub! Great location right near shops and restaurants with a view of the ocean. Would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but...

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Elevator in the not main part of hotel.
Location: Tons of restaurants, close to the church and water for great pictures. Also really close to the bus stop location for tour pick up.
Our room was across the street from the main hotel. We had to carry our luggage up 7 flights of stairs. Never received our expedia member gift. Check was nice as they allowed us to check in really early in the morning. Room was very quaint, loved the decor in every room. Size was great for 5 people, we were all every comfortable and had our own bed. Maid did not clean our room when we had the sign taken off the door, they may have not realized? They did order us a cab when we ask which was great. Location was awesome as it was close to everything downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire UK

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
This hotel was very nice. It was also conveniently placed to be within easy walking distance from most attractions in the centre of the city. Plenty of places to eat and drink close by. As the hotel is within the largely pedestrianized centre of the city it was very nice to just bimble around the streets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel, not keen on bathroom

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Nice hotel in an excellent location. Even had a sea view and was north facing so could see the northern lights. However wasn't keen on the bathroom being across the corridor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
I enjoyed my stay, as a solo traveller I believe it was not ideal my my experience, the staff were very helpful and all round I would definitely recommend Room with a view to my friends as a place to stay in Reykjavik.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

In the center of everything

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Large and near everything
Cons: minor repairs need to be done. There are 2 chairs in the apartment that look very worn out, otherwise beautiful and chic.
Location: Lots of shopping, restaurants, coffee shops and tourist attractions.
We were on a girls trip and our room accommodated 5 ladies and all of out luggage. The room had 2 full bathrooms which was so nice for all of us to be able to get ready so much quicker in the morning. Walking distance to coffee shops, restaurants and grocery store. (we even walked to the car rental facility).