Ratings based on 331 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

great for size, cleanliness not great.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
What an amazing place Iceland is, this Hotel was just right to stay at as we were out all day from 6am to 10pm seeing all sites, easy to access in and out of apartment , just didn't feel clean as stains on sofa, and blood stains on bed sheets. We saw past that as it was okay to get ur head down . But on a bright note it had all facilities that was required. I would stay here again though as good size apartment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Stay apartments.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Overall it is a great place and i would recommend it to my friends. My only complaint would be the shower. It was a very small stand up shower with a cloth shower curtain that would stick to you. You would also get water all over the bathroom since it was cloth. Other than that, it had all your basic kitchen essentials, a beautiful view of the mountain backdrop beyond the city, and a great place to lay your head.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great Place, low key and clean!

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: The kitchen and the common area.
Cons: I wish there was a help desk to provide me information when I needed it or someone to direct me around (provide maps...)?
Location: There was a local grocery store, some restaurants (red chili) and it was within a 15 min walk from downtown where EVERYTHING was.
The hotel was not too far from the city (~15 min walk to downtown). It was relatively quiet and quaint. It has the workings of a cute bed and breakfast minus the free breakfast. The apartments were spacious (i had a 2 person room) and I was able to cook when I wanted. We were provided a kettle, microwave, pots, pans, utensils, plates and the like. The kitchen was exactly what I needed. The bathroom was small, but useable! I had room 11 and the view wasn't great - I would ask for the other side if I could.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location at a budget price.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Budget apartment with adequate facilities - nothing fancy
Cons: The bathroom was very very basic - rust around the shower curtain and very basic shower and facilities in bathroom.
Location: Location was good as we could access the Red Bus and other buses.
The accommodation was comfortable and provided good amenities in the kitchen for cooking and coffee making. Comfortable beds and bedding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Great apartment with great view of the mountains

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Great view. Convenient location. Own bathroom.
Cons: The pool table that was advertised was no longer there.
Location: Bonus and Kronan grocery stores very close. Group of affordable restaurants just a few minutes away. Reykjavik downtown is about 15-20 minutes away.
I have nothing bad to say about this place. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the room had a fantastic view of the mountains. In addition, it was only a 15-20 minute walk to downtown Reykjavik and only a few minutes walk to the local grocery store. This place was exactly what my wife and I needed. Some people complain that there aren't enough staff around, but this place is not a hotel, it is a self-service apartment. So my wife and I kept our room clean, made our own beds, cooked our own food (a necessity in Iceland because restaurants are super-expensive), and had a great trip to Iceland.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review :) It sure is heartwarming for our staff to see. Most of all thank you for staying with us. We do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely Apartment

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Lovey, surprisingly spacious apartment. Includes a hob, toaster, microwave and fridge for those on a budget and can't afford to eat out every night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It sure is heartwarming for our staff to see :) Most of all thank you for staying with us. We do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Practical apartment in good location.

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Location, warm, clean, practical
Cons: Communication - although it's clearly stated as self-serviced, if there's a problem (i.e you're locked out), you're kind of stuck.
Location: Gas stations, cheap supermarkets close by for convenience. Is a long but do-able walk into Reykjavik city centre. Good links onto the Golden Circle.
We had a bit of trouble getting into the apartment - we were unaware that we were supposed to have received an email with a door access code on it, so when we got there we couldn't gain access. As this is a self-serviced apartment there are no staff members, and the contact hours are Mon-Fri. We had arrived on a Sunday so couldn't get hold of anyone, and were stuck outside in torrential rain and 35mph winds. Thankfully another guest eventually came past and managed to let us into the building. We had emailed Bolholt as a matter of urgency and never received a reply - even on the Monday. It would have been nice to have at least received a courtesy email the next day just to make sure that we were satisfied. So - make sure you receive the door access code on an email before you get there!! Other than that - the accommodation is great. It was freezing outside, and the apartment was toasty warm! It was clean, the shower was hot, you can drive onto the Golden Circle very easily from it and walk into Reykjavik city centre if you fancy a bit of a stroll (is over a mile). The kitchen facilities were fine (if a little small), although the kitchen tap was a bit rickety. Wifi is average. This hotel is perfect if you are planning to use it as a base, and be out and about seeing Iceland the majority of the time. Which is what you SHOULD be doing, Iceland is truly incredible!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thank you so much for your wonderful review :) It sure is heartwarming for our staff to see. We would like to express our apologies for any inconvenience such as that you did not receive the check in instructions. That was really unfortunate as you mentioned then our hotel is a self-service hotel and the lobby is not manned. For future guests there is a panel beside the front door with a "call" button. If you did not receive the check in instructions email you can push this button and the staff on call will buzz you in. There is always a staff on call. Most of all thank you for staying with us. We do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice little apartment- nearish to city centre

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Located about a 20 minute walk from the city centre, we found Stay Apartments convenient enough to be near the buzz but far enough away to not be annoyed by the noise at night. There is also a Bonus (main supermarket in Iceland) just a short 5 minute walk away and there is a bus stop a stone's throw away. Room was pretty clean and tidy and full of helpful amenities. My only gripe was the state of the shower- the shower curtain was pretty grubby and the shower head holder was broken so had to hold the shower head as it would not stay in a straight position. This was made a bit worse by the fact that the floor would get absolutely soaked as there was only a small drain on the other side of the bathroom. There is also an incredibly sensitive fire alarm right above the kitchen area so we could only make 2 minute toast without fearing we would set it off! All in all though was good for the price and we enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review :) It sure is heartwarming for our staff to see. Most of all thank you for staying with us. We do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable apt located 8 min drive from downtown.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Kitchen
Overall I am satisfied with its location and price but it needs better system to run staff-free apartment. 1. Kitchenettes were dirty. 2. Throw pillows were dirty- shoe marks all over and they placed them on the bed.. 3. Tall chairs kept spinning which made having meals difficult.. 4. Shower stall does not drain fast enough- water all over the bathroom to the point my slippers got soaked. 5. Bathroom sink is too small and there was a sharp metal wire sticking out where water comes out which I got cut from - I tried to cut it with my swiss army knife but its still there so watch out. 6. Doesn't tell you the code to supply room to get new towels - had to ask around. 7. Too dark. Needs more light in the room. 8. Too much fragrance in the room - smells like too much of butter & lemon 9. One of two heaters doesnt work - not a big issue, the one heater was good enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. We would like to express our apologies for any inconvenience such as lack of cleanliness . All your comments are valid and we will need to take them into account. Thank you again for this spot on comments. On a positive note, we are very happy that you liked our location and prices. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future and show you that we can do better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland, OH

Nice hotel with decent location

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Bolholt apartments essentially gave us the same experience as an AirBnb. We never saw any staff while we were there, but our keys were ready for us in the lobby when we arrived, and we were able to find fresh towels as needed. We loved having the kitchen, buying groceries and making dinner was a lot cheaper than going out in Reykjavik. Decent location, about a mile away from downtown Reykjavik. In nicer weather it'd probably be a nice walk of 20-30 minutes, however in the winter we chose to drive into the city. There are also some restaurants, bars and stores within close walking distance to the apartments. The beds were comfy and the apartment was clean and warm!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.