Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Just okay

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Although we knew the check-in time, it isn't fun trying to occupy your time for 8 hours. As far as I know, flights from America arrive around 6am. Check-in is 3:30pm. So after getting to Reykjavik and getting something to eat, there is still a lot of time left and the hotel "lobby" has one chair and one computer. Luckily the room was ready at 11:30am. The room wasn't as clean as it should've been but not horrible. Beds are two twins pushed together. It was nice having a microwave and refrigerator. The room randomly gets humid. The door is a little hard to unlock and lock. the shower is very tight and I'm a small person. There are towels and toilet paper in the lobby if you need more and a supply closet down the hall. Went to find the ironing board and iron but only saw an ironing board. I wouldn't stay again just because I would like a bigger and more comfortable lobby to wait in if check-in isn't early enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northampton, UK

Lovely, modern apartment

Posted Dec 4, 2016
It was our first stay in Reykjavik and so our first time using stay apartments also. We were surprised how close to the city centre the apartments were and for the price you pay, this is definitely worth the money. Our apartment was clean, modern and has everything you need for either a short or long stay. Definitely recommend this!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Clean and well kept

Posted Dec 2, 2016
I have previously stayed at the Stay apartments with my family in a larger apartment for 5 pepole. It was clean and well kept. This time I only needed a room for myself so had a smaller apartment which was to the same standard as before clean and well kept. For the price it's a good option an in a central location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Good for the price.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The hotel is very comfortable and clean. Short walking distant to downtown and multiple grocery stores. The only issue I had was with checking in. I never received an email with the door code so when we got there it was a little nerve racking trying to figure out what to do. Luckily they have a intercom that took us right to a person at 6 o'clock in the morning and we got it figured out very quickly. Overall it was a good experience and I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

On the fringe yet walkable

Posted Nov 12, 2016
On the fringe yet walkable, everything was ready early which was great because our flight got in very early in the morning and we were beat
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Iceland minimoon

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Close to shops and quite everything in one room
Cons: 2 single beds push together and every time you moved the beds moved apart
Location: Not a lot to do but a short walk from the see and churches if you like to walk about also quite a few shops and food places to walk to
Hotel is quite no staff on site but did see them come in and out to clean room. The place was very warm a nice change to outside
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bowmanville, Ontario

Clean self-service apartment

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: It was clean and comfortable. It was a self-service apartment, so it was like living in Iceland for a few days.
Cons: As mentioned above, a baggage drop-off option prior to check-in, some drawers and/or coat hooks in the room, and perhaps a bigger shower!
Location: There wasn't very much within a 10 minute walk. But the city centre was close enough and the grocery store was close-by.
We stayed here on our recent visit to Iceland. It would have been very helpful if this apartment offered a service where we could drop off our luggage before check-in. Our flight landed at 4:40am and check-in wasn't until 3pm. We had to lug our bags through Reykjavic... it was terrible! Once we finally checked in, we were so relieved to find a clean room with comfortable beds (that we passed out in for many hours). It was nice to have a small kitchen which saved us some money as we didn't have to eat at restaurants every day and night. And there was a Bonus grocery store just a 5 min walk away where we bought our groceries. This apartment is right outside of the city centre. It was a bit of a walk to get to most places, but it wasn't too far that we ever needed to take a cab or bus within Reykjavic. When we did book anything, we used Grayline (which was amazing and very convenient).
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great apartment, close to shops, bars, attractions

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Great apartment, close to shops, bars, attractions. Very comfy beds. Clean and modern. Very pleased.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

budget studio close to city centre.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Location and value and self contained accommodation, not having to share facilities with others.
Cons: There is only blackout blind on the very big window so during the day there is no privacy from being seen from the street if you want daylight.
Location: Quiet residential location. Within 20 minutes walk to town centre, the sea, and Hallgrimskirkja church. Supermarket and Bus station are close by.
There was no reception but instructions for accessing room were easy. Hotel located in quiet residential area. I booked the basement studio accessible by stairs only. Good soundproofing, and small bathroom with shower. Two people might find it too small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great hotel overall with an impeccable location.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Location!!
Cons: Air circulation. In the middle of summer, the bottom floor can get quite hot at night.
This hotel is located right near the downtown area, a mere 3 minute walk to the shopping strip. A small market as well as a much larger grocery store are also in close proximity to the Stay Apartment building, making it easy to get the few items we needed for our hotel room.