Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great apartment once we found it!

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, spacious, warm, large, well equipped apartment. Quiet location but close to city centre.
Cons: Bit of maintenance needed - rad valve, blind etc. Apartment is in a block (no 23) which doesnt look great from the outside.
Location: see above
The apartment was down the street from no43 where you pick up the keys. The building didn't look too attractive but the apartment was great once we got in - which was a bit of a Da Vinci code experience. Make sure you read the instructions!! Great location for city centre but nice and quiet too. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice apartment but ruined by bad experience.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Awful experience to check in. Had not been notified that check in was far from the actual apartment, plus lots of construction ongoing at the check in area. Had to carry heavy bags along path covered in debris and down planks of wood which had replaced the non-existent steps, only to collect keys before realising our apartment was further down the street. Apartment was nice although shower was odd, overflowing if in for longer than 5 minutes. At check out we planned on leaving luggage until our flight. We had to go back to the check in location only to find the path completely obstructed by wooden planks. I called the contact number but was given no help at all, either to try walking 15 mins to an alternative location or else stand in the street with our cases until our airport pick up. Eventually a construction worker cleared the path and we got our bags to the storage locker. Yet more disappointment here however as we found a tiny cupboard filled with cleaning products, certainly not a place to store luggage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. We are very sorry that your experience staying with us did not meet your expectations and we would like to express our apologies for any inconvenience that the construction at the check in area caused. The constructions are only temporary (ends in January). On a positive note, we are very happy that you liked our apartment. Despite your feedback, I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to experience a more positive visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine for us, great location (not 43!)

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Comfort and location
Cons: Blind and loo repaired. The lock-up could be better explained
Location: Great location - and very near supermarket where we did a lot of food shopping as its VERY expensive to eat out
Arriving in the dark and wet it was difficult to find our apartment but helpful guest got our keys for us - with a map!! we weren't staying at 43 Grettisgata after all but at 12a. (an email to notify us would have been helpful) .It took us a while to figure out where to go as hardly any light to read the map. Lugging luggage around didn't help. Finally we arrived at 203, 12 a - *which was lovely and I would recommend it to anyone*. Slight niggle that the bedroom blind didn't work and the loo seat needed to be re-affixed but other than that a nice apartment with balcony. Very comfortable and I suspect quieter than number 43. Grettisgata is situated in next road to main shopping/eating area, so excellent location. Tourist office for booking trips, etc, etc We left out luggage on day of departure in lock up at 43 and when we went to retrieve it I couldn't open the lock. Luckily our puck up bus said it would go and pick up other passengers whilst we contacted the office. Someone came very quickly and managed to open the lock-up - and the bus came back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Hotel close to main shopping street

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Quite convenient location next to the main shopping street. Self-serviced for check-in/out, luggage storage, information request, etc. My flat being 1-p flat was at basement level and was a bit noisy. Also not cheap given its facilities/services.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. We would like to express our apologies for any inconvenience. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Excellent location. Walking distance to everywhere. We were quite happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from toronto

Awesome place!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Size of shower
I booked the loft room for myself & 3 other people. The place looks like a cute apartment, that I would honestly rent lol. Very spacious for the kitchen/dining room & living room. There were 2 small rooms with double beds, just enough spacious to up your luggage & to sleep... The only thing I'd change is more room in the shower. Other than that- It was super close to downtown. You looked out of your window on one side and saw the top of the church (awesome) & if you look out the window on the other side you saw Mount Esja (even better) I loved this place, I will definitely book again if & when I return next. :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
The location was perfect - right in the center of Reykjavik within walking distance to shopping, the museum, and many restaurants. The apartment was clean and comfortable and our ceiling had twinkling LED lights which was a nice touch. This is a minimum service hotel but a very good value for the price. I would definitely recommend this for anyone spending time in Reykjavik.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT, USA

No Frills, Central location apartment

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Location - five to ten minute walk from all key sites and restaurants and clubs
Cons: Could use a maintenance upkeep, inside and out Not the ideal accommodation for a romantic getaway
Central but loud location, Good value for no frills travelers, not ideal for tourists looking with 4 and 5 star expectations
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol uk

Self Catering Apartment Near Centre of Reykjavik

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Pretty ceiling, central location and its cleanliness. It is cosy with limitless hot water and a good internet connection.
Cons: Bigger saucepan, telephone (as our mobiles did not work as phones). There are steep and narrow stairs to the loft apartment at the top of the building
Location: Central Reykjavik so all of the city sights are within easy walking distance. Try some of the cafes or bars on Laugavegur or go whale watching.
We stayed in the loft apartment of the Stay Apartments, Grettisgata, Reykjavik. It is compact, neat and clean and slept 4 of us comfortably for our 5 day stay. The Grey Line shuttle bus from the airport dropped us right outside even though it is on a small one-way street. The apartment is centrally located and only one street away from Reykjavik's main shopping and cafe/bar street. We could walk to anywhere in Reykjavik easily - including down to the harbour to catch a whale watching tour. The apartment has a small kitchen with a fridge, a sink (no drainer), two electric hob rings and a microwave but no oven. There is a frying pan but only one saucepan and it's not a very big one so we had to be quite inventive to cook meals for 4, but it was fun. Crockery and glasses, a filter coffee maker and a kettle are also provided but not any coffee. The bed is a big twin (two single duvets provided) and there is enough room to sleep another 2 on the sofa bed (again bedding is provided including lots of cushions). There is a bathroom with shower and the delightful wooden loft ceiling shines star-like specs of light through it that smoothly change in brightness. Smallish towels are provided as is toilet paper and washing up equipment. There is a convenient supermarket just round the corner (next to the Phallological Museum)! The WiFi web access was fast and only dropped out a couple of times when multiple people were streaming video. There is a TV, but we didn't watch it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Very close to city, good location

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Everything quite good me, just not very enjoy the smell from the drain of kitchen sink and toilet ; )
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Halldor Meyer, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your view regarding your visit to our apartment hotel. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Icelandic hot water sometimes smells of sulfur, which is due to the geothermal origins of the hot water. It is absolutely natural and clean so no need to worry. Us Icelanders are used to it but it is understandable that it is a bit strange to visitors. Thanks for staying with us. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.