Ratings based on 420 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
This was a clean and comfortable base for exploring Iceland.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff

Posted Feb 24, 2017
A very helpful reception manager gave us some real useful / valuable advise reference local amenities, car hire, tours etc. Very helpful and pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dublin

Nice hostel and spotless clean, location not goof

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Hostel was lovely friendly and clean. I had tours booked so was picked up each morning and dropped back to hostel but was 50 minute walk into city or €20 in a taxi one way so location was not really good for me as was travelling on my own so €40 return in tact
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice budget style hotel.

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Close to city centre. We hired a car so the fact it was directly off of one of the main roads suited us, although it was incredibly noisy at night. Breakfast was basic continental and not great we only had it 2 out of 4 mornings, would have been nice to see rolls and croissants etc instead there was just a loaf of shop bought sliced bread! The orange juice was foul, watered down and tasteless. The milk was past it's best. The bed was comfortable enough, there was a wardrobe and a TV which showed English channels although the tv had a really irritating visual description (kind of like a narrator telling you what is going on in every scene- I think this must be for the visually impaired) setting that I just couldn't switch off. Staff - pleasant enough although I did get barked at for not taking my plate to the kitchen... to be honest, at £70 per night I wouldn't expect to have to!!! Overall, like an expensive but more basic Travelodge.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

little bit isolated,but cheap inn with big window

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
It was too far from city center or bus stop but enjoyed the weird big window in the room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Hotel room was without ensuite which was not made clear while booking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Try to avoid this place

Posted Dec 20, 2016
We checked in at about 8.30pm and asked what time their last order for dinner was. We were told it was 9.30pm by the receptionist. We dropped our bags in the room and went to the dining straight away. Sat down and was told that it was too late and only pizzas were available. Paid around 2500ISK for microwaved frozen pizza. Ridiculous. There was 1 female bathroom and 1 male bathroom shared between 11 rooms! Had to wait for the toilet and shower. Lack of ventilation in the bathroom. It was smelly. Free breakfast was okay. Lack of variety. Customers are told to bring dirty dishes to the kitchen when they finish breakfast. Lack of customer service. Tables aren't wiped or cleaned. Lack of hygiene in the dining. Was refused to borrow microwave as it was not included in the guest kitchen. Refused to refill water bottle so we had to pay for bottles of water. Nearest bus stop is 15 min walk away. Pretty far from the city. Nearest supermarket is 20 min walk away. Next to highway so it is quite noisy. One good thing is that tours pick up from this guesthouse. Avoid this place unless if you are on a very tight budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hostel/guest house

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff. Facilities all clean and tidy would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ehh

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on CheapTickets
This hotel was fun but that was only because I met really cool people other then that it really wasn't sanitary. The women's bathroom was disgusting and the bedrooms were gross. Everyone in my room was itching I hope it wasn't bedbug. Mattresses were then I felt like I was sleeping in a prison cell. The kitchen was disgusting and the living room he couches smelt so bad. They need to invest in paper towels bed sheets, a mop and Lysol! Location wasn't bad and cook made really good food!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Good value for the money

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Good sized rooms good,choice of breakfast,very warm and lots of hot water for showers.There was a kitchen for the back packers which we used to make flasks to go out for the day only but there was a good range of pots and pans for those wanting to cook /eat in as Iceland is very expensive for food and drink.There was a male /female shower on each floor and although I was not looking forward to sharing facilities I never had to wait for someone else to finish.My only suggestion would be an extra toilet as the toilet was in the shower room so you couldn't just use the loo if someone was having a shower The staff were all helpful and friendly including the manager who I have seen negative comments about but he had a quirky sense of humour which I suppose some humourless people may see as rude but I enjoyed my banter with him.All in all its not the Hilton but on a budget it's amazing value.