Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

The staff of this hotel is the very best

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Cons: The beds in at least one room.
Location: Heidelberg is an old city with lots of history, and this hotel is in a great place to see it all.
The staff of this hotel went over the top to assist us in every way when we found ourselves sick and in needs of lots of help with procuring doctors, new reservations, etc. They did so without complaint and in good humor through it all. The hotel is charming, historically interesting and Ina marvelous setting. The manager is happy to take the time to tell you about the history of the place in detail and is extremely knowledgeable. The hotel is great, but the staff takes it to superb.
5 out of 5
by Arthur

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived on a Friday and did not think to book the dinning room at the hotel in advance. They were totally booked but very kindly made reservations at another resturant in town. We had wine in the garden whuch was lovely and breakfast although very pricey was delicious. We were not impressed with the room accomodations but the staff are very helpful and it has a charming ambiance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Only two types of breakfast either bread and coffee, or a big breakfast with deli meat, cheese, lox, yogurt, bread, egg and bacon. Wish there was an option in between.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York, PA

Heidelberg

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very Friendly Staff. A lot of cool history to the hotel.
5 out of 5
by haiqing

Lovely hotel for relaxing

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
We love this hotel, cute and lovely. We enjoyed the time we stayed.
5 out of 5
by Hanspeter from Golden

Quiet Luxury hotel with great charm

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels
Great little inn within easy walking distance to old town. The house has a lot of history as an Inn, going back to the 1400's. Wonderful suite with antique furniture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Charming hotel and quiet location

Posted Sep 16, 2014
This hotel is a little gem. We stayed for two nights this summer and wished we could have stayed for longer. The rooms were quiet, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. All of them spoke perfect English. The breakfasts were plentiful and a gastronomic delight. The hotel is located in a quiet location and within walking distance of the old town. Easy parking was a benefit for us because we were touring around Germany. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire, England

Wish we could have stayed longer

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Decor, professional friendly staff. Owners involvement
Location: a 10 minute walk across the bridge and along the river to the old centre and the beautiful Schloss Ambra.
We only had a brief stay at this fabulous hotel near the centre of old Heidelberg. The rooms are some of the most beautiful we have ever used. The location is excellent on a quiet hill overlooking the river within easy walking distance of the old centre. The staff are attentive and superbly trained and the owners really involved in ensuring you have an unforgettable experience.
3 out of 5
by Paul from Worcester UK

A little disappointing at the price

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels
Decorated by Laura Ashley in the 1980's and unchanged since so the hotel has a dated chintzy look. Taps, basins tiles etc are old and worn, it was far less luxurious than the other hotels on our trip yet cost more. Food was also expensive (dry goulash on a bowl of noodles 24 euro) and not nice. Perhaps all these things are a matter of taste and the hotel feel it worth preserving Laura's efforts - but we were both left feeling underwhelmed. Our room was promised to have a city or mountain view but through the net curtains all we could see was a narrow street and a garage block with some apartments that looked right at us - no view at all and a bit dark. It could be that Heidelberg is all expensive. The staff were pleasant and the place is certainly historic and about a 12 minute walk to town.