Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tn

Lovely hotel, great location

Posted Dec 25, 2016
This is a wonderful old hotel in the center of old town. Very caring and helpful staff, excellent full breakfast, comfy quiet room. Small bathroom but ok. Staff are wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Delightful surprise

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: The location of this hotel could not be better as it sits right in the middle of the Old Town within easy reach of the Castle and other attractions.
When we arrived outside the Hotel all you could see was the restaurant entrance that you entered to reach the check-in lady, who happened to be located by the kitchen. We thought that this seemed a little unusual but any doubt quickly evaporated when we reached our room. The room was spacious and although we were warned that it could be a little noisy at night we had no problem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Too Noisy!

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Excellent restaurant downstairs.
Cons: Air conditioning so that you can close the windows for noise control.
Lovely room, but the cafe noise in the street kept us awake until after midnight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle Wa

Cozy and ohh so warm hotel!!!

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Centrally located, warm ambiance, and delicious meals.
Cons: Air conditioning would be great, especially on the third floor!
Location: Went on a boat tour down the river Neckar. Taking the train up to the castle.
I stayed at the Hackteufel with my mom in July and we had a wonderful time. Hotel is located central and so close to shopping areas and restaurants. We loved it the moment we arrived! The staff is very warm and friendly and the room they selected for us was perfect. It was room Nr 9 and located on the third floor. Luckily they had an elevator and since my mom is elderly and has a hard time walking the elevator came in handy. We also had a small refrigerator and a flat screen tv. Room was spacious and had cozy furniture. Mattress was just right! Not too hard or too soft! The restaurant itself was fantastic! Breakfast was delicious and plenty! We got lucky and sat in the cozy nook next to the window every morning. We also had dinner there twice. The fish with potato salad was excellent and so was the salad with chicken. Portions were huge and everything looked so pretty on the plates. I can't say anything negative about the hotel but wished refrigerator in room would have been cooler. I am a German living in the US and I am used to drinking water that is ice cold. The refrigerator just wasn't cold enough for me and every time we left the hotel on an outing I asked the staff to fill up my water bottle with ice which they gladly did! Also if you are a light sleeper you may want to ask for a room facing the back of the hotel. It can be very noisy in the evening since lots of restaurants are located below window!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, NY

Great hotel right in the heart of old town.

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: I like everything. The rooms were great, the food was great and the staff was great.
Cons: I was pleased with everything.
Location: The location is walking distance to the Heidelberg Castle, many restaurants and shopping.
The two rooms me and my traveling companions had were wonderful. Room 12 had a spectacular view of Heidelberg Castle. Room 4's bathroom had a jacuzzi tub,separate shower, makeup station, tons if closet space. The buffet breakfast was delicious and had a wide variety of food that should please anyone. One note, if you use bath wash cloths, bring your own. I didn't find what I consider a bath wash cloth anywhere in the places I visited in Germany.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, amazing staff

Posted Mar 7, 2016
The location of this hotel is perfect to do and see all Heidelberg has to offer. The room was comfortable and clean. But most of all the staff was tremendous, friendly and accommodating I would return based solely on that even if the facility was not that nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Wonderful hotel in historical centre.

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Location and people.
Cons: Everything was excellent.
Location: Right in the centre of old town, 50 m from the bridge.
This hotel is a real gem: wonderful location right in the old town, friendly and helpful multi-lingual personnel, and comfortable room. There is a very good buffet breakfast, and the restaurant is excellent. The room was furnished in traditional looking wood furniture, which gave a charming impression, but the bathroom was brand new. Bus to train station passes by just a 3 minute walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Great little hotel in the centre of the old town

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Huge twin room on the second floor overlooking the street. Yes there can be street noise but seemed to add to the ambience. We stayed in winter so the windows were closed anyway. Large bathroom and the water pressure was strong and hot. You need to go through to the back of the restaurant to checkin which ferls a bit weird at first; however the staff are very welcoming and helpful. We were able to store our luggage for the day as our train was not until that evening. Great german food in the restaurant. Room rste also included a great breakfast. Highly recommend this hotel as it is vlose walking distance to all the sights. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane australia

Fantastic location. Great staff.

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Pros: Location. Food. Staff. Room.
Cons: Nothing
Location: On the road to the Alt Bridge. Near the cathedral. Near the Christmas markets.
What a great hotel. On the road to the most famous bridge in Heidelberg. A quant hotel. Great rooms. Fabulous staircase. Wonderful authentic food. Great staff (love our heart but you have stay there to get one!). Just topped off a brilliant trip to Heidelberg
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: the excelent staff, it's location and it's restaurant
Cons: perhaps better air conditioning in room 6 .but this was a minor issue
Location: right next to the Alte Brucke and an easy walk to the haupt strasse and the mono rail to the castle
a neat and tidy well run and welcoming wee hotel