Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VERMONT USA

great combination of old world hotel and modern

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Character of its own
Great recollections of memories of Heidelberg in the 1960's when I was an American GI and my friend (now wife) was a student at Heidelberg University.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEW YORKlia Pituach, Israel

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: postition
Cons: amenities,
i expected a 4 star hotel. at most it was 3 star. the rooms were so small and one has to squeeze.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and service

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Comfortable room, with a nice view with the castle.
Cons: The wifi service was a bit inconvenient. We had to re-log in many times a day.
Location: The location is perfect, right in the middle of the old city, close to the funicular station.
We arrived early, but the staff tried to bring us to the room as soon as possible. The breakfast is fantastic, with sparkling wine and eggs as well as great selections of bread, ham, cheese. The staff were all nice. Free minibar was a bonus:-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great old place. Felt back in time

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Close to attractions. Walked to everything. Helpful with tour signup
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

In heart of old city

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Terrific old hotel, built in 1600's i think, lower ceilings and small lift but very quaint & typical small german hotel in heart of old town close to restaurants, shopping and across rd from old church. Very tidy & clean and restaurant very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, Beautiful historic building

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Charm, service, amities like free mini bar.
Cons: The weather. Haha.
Location: Walking distance to castle train. On the main historical mile with loads of restaurants, outdoor cafes, shopping.
This is going to be short. The breakfast was wonderful. The building had beautiful historic charm, located in the absolute heart of the Altstadt. The staff was welcoming and helpful. My room was gorgeous and large - in the old part of the hotel overlooking the castle. We had to take a spiral staircase up to our room and were assisted with luggage by the reception clerk. It was really lovely and will always remember this hotel. HOWEVER, it was so hot. There is no air conditioning and it was 95 degrees in Heidelberg. I knew there was no a/c when I booked the hotel. My mistake for not checking the weather! Barring the heat, this was my favorite hotel of my entire trip to Germany.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio US

middle of everything

Posted Apr 5, 2015
this charming hotel is in the middle of everything x a short walk in any direction will take you one of Heidelberg's many attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Old Europe is still in fashion

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Its history, its location and its restaurant are all gems.
Cons: Absolutely nothing
Location: You are right in the middle of the old town close to the tram for the Heidelberg castle and the university.Close to the Holy Ghost church.
This is a wonderful old European style hotel updated but without loss of charm. The location is perfect for a stay in the center of old Heidelberg. The restaurant is a find all by itself and elegant without being fussy. The rooms are period but comfortable with large baths.The staff is very helpful. This is my favorite hotel in my favorite German city and I will go back as often as I can.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great central location.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Right in the center of the pedestrianized zone of Heidelberg - lots of sights, shops and restaurants within easy walking distance.
Cons: The hotel gives a somewhat boring and neglected impression. Despite high season, it did not seem fully occupied.
It is a pity that this hotel - located in a historic building right in the center of Heidelberg - is not run more efficiently. Despite the presence of a nice-looking restaurant on the ground floor there is no room service available at all, the selection in the minibar is sparse and you have to pay extra for the internet service. The room itself was small (that's expected for the low rate charged), but the old carpet and small, bulky TV set just shows that it has not been updated properly for a few years. Overall, one gets the impression that this hotel has enormous potential, but is not run with the interests/convenience of guests as its central mission.