Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Good location, good value

Posted May 18, 2017
I've stayed at this hotel several times and have even adjusted my dates when it wasn't available. It's walking distance to the train station as well as to the older part of town. The staff is super friendly and make guests feel welcome. They're always willing to go out of their way to fulfill a special request.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Cornelia Datz, Hotel Management
Dear Anna, First of all I would like to take this opportunity and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am glad that you could enjoy our location. Moreover, I am delighted about your compliments for our team. It is my pleasure to share your feedback with my colleagues. Dear Anna, the team of the Hilton Mainz City and me are looking forward to welcoming you back again. Yours sincerely, Cornelia Datz I P.A. to Cluster General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Great Location

Posted May 9, 2017
We only stayed here for one night but found it very comfortable. It was an easy walk from the train station with our suitcases. Grab a map from the front desk and enjoy your walk around old down town.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Cornelia Datz, Hotel Management
Dear Herb, Thank you for choosing the Hilton Mainz City and for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted about your positive comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Dear Herb, the team of the Hilton Mainz City and me are looking forward to welcoming you back again. Yours sincerely, Cornelia Datz I P.A. to Cluster General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Location location location ....

Posted Dec 29, 2016
I have spent quite a bit of time in Mainz due to work. I have "lived" there for long periods of time This time, I was taking my mother so I needed the best location in town ... you are basically on one side of the heart of the city. Everything is walking distance and easy to acces from this hotel. Half a block from public transportation that will take you back and forth from the airport, if you google Schiller Platz, the hotel is half a block away and from there, a 5 minute walk to St Stephen Church, and the Dom, and the Gutenberg Museum and a 10 minute walk to the old town and just 15 to the river. Staff is friendly and facilities are very comfortable If you stay here, you will not regret it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, quiet but central

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Just about everything. Friendly staff - Happy hour - Free bottled water - Breakfast buffet
Cons: none
Location: The Gutenberg Museum - Christmas market
I arrived before noon at the hotel and they gave me access to my room without extra charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice Hotel in quiet location

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Easy commute to both Wiesbaden and Frankfurt am Main where I had appointments. Good restaurants nearby.
Nice quiet location within easy walking distance to main part of town. Staff was friendly, at tentative, and professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Weekend in Mainz and Pfalz

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Modern hotel with large well furnished rooms. 10 mins walk from main station and right on edge of city centre, so everything on your doorstep.
Cons: N/A everything was great and I really enjoyed my stay
Location: Right next to city centre
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Look forward to another stay & always recommend it

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoy the proximity to the city, the flat area surrounding the hotel, the multi choice of dining within walking distance of the hotel, everything Mainz has to offer is within walking distance of the City Hilton. Love to stay there !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
They were oversold. So I was sent to another Hilton property on the river. The process took a long time. They "offered" to pay for my taxi, but the entire processes added about an hour to my travel. I was annoyed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange co. calif

Very nice, middle of town, can walk anywhere!

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Cons: Bathtubs high, need to b careful getting in and out
Location: Location the BEST, walking anywhere piece of cake!
So enjoyable, lovely experience! Can sleep with open windows.... Love the hotel!
2 out of 5
by TATIANA

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
Reception was not helpful and not friendly. The hotel looks like more 3 stars than 4 stars.