Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to a lot of amenities

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Good hotel in terms of price not top notch if that's what u want but has everything else. E.g close to beach, amenities, airport, getting rhodes town is only approx 15 mins. Has all amenities in hotel which r all basic. Only thing is they turned off air con in Oct and it was still warm and the variety of food was good but a bit of change would've been good daily.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location, not 4 star!!

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Good location, easy to get to Rhodes and other areas, short trip from/to airport. Could be very nice with some care and investment.
Cons: All linen and towels should be disposed of and a new set purchased. Staff should understand their product better and communicate a consistent message.
Location: Nice beach, animation programme seemed full but no evidence of it in practice. Several good pools. Easy to get to other areas of the island
Good location, next to lovely beach but unfortunately directly under the very noisy flight path!! Large complex, lift accommodates one person at a time. Food in the main terrible, unlabelled and unidentifiable. Breakfast was the best of the worst!! Alcoholic and soft drinks very poor quality and always served in plastic. Probably the worst all inclusive I have experienced. Bathroom was disgusting. Towels grey and stained and bedding filthy and infrequently changed. Shower leaked and floor never cleaned. We were informed that the hotel tumble drier had broken down mid week and having contacted reception for the umpteenth time for fresh bedding and towels, we had wet sheets put onto the bed. When we asked for clean, dry sheets at midnight, we were handed the sheets ourselves and left to make the beds ourselves. Expensive Wi-Fi (€10/day), although free in reception area only. Poor communication between staff. We were told on arrival that the "fine dining" Italian restaurant could only be booked the day before - so we were surprised that it was full for the entire week when we tried to follow instructions and book the day before. Apparently it should have been booked at the time of arrival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good location, relaxing environment on the beach

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Cons: Soft drinks quality need to be improved. Beer ok but dident like the wine. The food average to good
Location: Not far from city of Rhodes excursions available
Clean, plenty of sunbeds, relaxing, good size pools, good entertainment, food average to good. Entertainment was good, friendly team, but i found one of the sketches religiously offensive and poor quality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel really close to the beach,

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Accommodation, food was good but became monotonous. Most guests were unhappy with food but we found it ok.
Cons: Soft drinks were fizzy sugar water with a hint of flavour. Alcohol drinks had no alcohol! Activities with no equipment e.g Crazy Golf - no clubs!
Location: Limited opportunity to explore the area outside the hotel as Lalysos unfortunately not the nicest of towns however Rhodes town not far by bus.
All hotel staff were very pleasant and the lady on reception was very helpful and professional, particularly when we forgot our iPad in the room and she orangeades a taxi to bring it to the airport for us. Hotel grounds are well kept. Limited focus for kids between the ages of 8 - 16 other than football and this was again a let down as the teams were mixed with adults as was the water polo which put off this age group getting involved.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Excellent efficienties, staff and entreatments! Food was all right. There are 2 restaurants where you can go only one time each; we didn't have a chance to go at the "Mamma Mia" Italian restaurant, because, since we got there, it was fully booked. I don't think it s fair when you pay over 1300€. Hopefully someone else is luckier!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice and clean close to the beach

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Pros: It was close to the beach, had a pool and was very clean and entertainment every night for all ages.
Cons: To make sure that everything that should be in the room is their.
Location: Not a lot to do around just a train ride that was not that very good only went to old town. When I was there their was lots of excursion you can do.
1st holiday in years staff were friendly and polite.Entertainment was good.Weather that week was not so nice, would have done some excursions but I got the flu, but did have a good time. Safe did not work went to reception and they sent someone to the room within 15 minutes. Only thing was their was no plug for the bath
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Pool and lots of things to do.

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: The pools were very clean, and a decent size. The entertainment team were also great with organizing activities for guests.
Cons: Vary the food buffet, make sure rooms are free from cockroaches, and don't miss sell a room for a sea view when trees block the views.
Location: Rhodes town / old town weren't very far away, and the airport is only a 20 minute taxi journey too. Great location.
The best parts of the resort would have to be the pools, and the entertainment staff. Anna, Sebastian, Aga, Pauline & Marvin were great. They made our stay, and always tried encouraging us and other guests to get involved with activities throughout each day :) On the other hand, although the room was described as having a sea view, it was disappointing to get out on the balcony to find two huge trees in the way of it. In addition, after finding 2 cockroaches in the room this made us doubt the cleanliness of the room too! Food in the restaurant was nice, however it never varied, which became a little boring towards the end of our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Great entertainment, hotel needs a facelift.

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: The theatre shows were excellent, especially the Michael Jackson night with the main dance (also called Michael, from Tunisia) doing a superb moonwalk
Cons: The rooms need a facelift in the older apartments. They can't make decent chips! Strangely, olives in the salads were scarce. Table tennis bats . .
Location: Walk 10 minutes up to the main road to the bus stop on the left and take a 15 minute 2.60 euro trip into Rhodes town. The old town - a magical place.
The Sunshine Rhodes (or Calimera hotel as they call it) is the oldest hotel in Ialyssos, built in 1970, and it is showing it's age so don't expect modern rooms and facilities. It could do with a facelift in places. The beds in our room dipped in the middle and the non effective air condition made strange noises and a burning smell before I abandoned it. There are newer blocks on the complex which looked better from the outside but they do not overlook the beach. They are the bad points - read on . . . The location is beautiful. Near the beach with well maintained pools, bars and gardens between. There are tennis courts, cheap bike hire, volley ball, 5 aside football, table tennis for the sporty (but take your own bats / rackets as those supplied are rubbish). The staff are really helpful and grateful of your custom. The food is generally good and varied but gets a bit monotonous after a few days (like all all-in holidays). Food and drink is available from several places on site almost continuously. There are plenty of good well priced restaurants five minutes walk along the main street into town if you need a change. The entertainment is excellent. I am not normally one for the Heidi Hi treatment and usually avoid the entertainment police but on this holiday I could not help but get involved. The animation staff were truly international and spoke several languages, getting everyone involved with sports, games, dancing and drinking. The stage shows . .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Sunshine Hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Location fabulous on the beach, poolside area stunning too.
Cons: Food not a huge selection on offer. Update some of the facilities and decor.
Location: As previously mentioned excellent location on the beach and the village where located only a 5 minute walk away. Rhodes Town 15 mins away in a taxi.
Location of the hotel excellent, overall not to bad, but no hot water in hotel one day had to have cold showers, hotel staff showed little empathy! Bathroom drains smell awful and bath needed replacing. Room itself pleasant big and spacious. Hotel starting to look s little tired in places, it shows current Greek economy having an effect! Love Rhodes but investment now needed, come Greece sort yourselves out or you will lose your tourism industry too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach near town and airport

Posted Sep 15, 2015
We stayed at this hotel for 14 nights. Lovely place, great location. Food nice, staff friendly but room not very clean, we had to call the reception as the AC and shower were not working. There was no satellite as stated in the description and all the gym equipment was broken. However we had a pleasant stay, big swimming pools, nice beach and very close to the town and airport.