Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Overrated. I like historic hotels, but being old is no excuse for being dirty and shabby and not caring about customers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2017 by Bio, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear we didn´t live up to your expectations of a 3 star hotel, since you didn´t put a name or anything else, we can take little actions towards your feedback.
5 out of 5
by Gunter

Quirky old hotel with character.

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
This is the oldest hotel in the oldest town in Denmark. The property is of a good standard but with all the quirks you would expect for such an old property. We loved it, the uneven floors the cosiness and antiquity of the place.If you are looking for polished Danish contemporary, go elsewhere. The beds and pillows were comfortable and the small but adequate shower room suited us just fine. Breakfast was a buffet of cold meats, cheese, fruit etc with the only warm item being boiled eggs, the fresh bread was delicious, the breakfast room somewhat lacking in atmosphere compared to the rest of the hotel. Not a complaint as it was a quick 45 minute pit stop at the start of the day. The TV was tiny but we weren't on holiday to watch TV. Bonus is that Danish TV does not dub US and UK TV shows and instead adds Danish subtitles to the originals so should you wish to watch TV in English, you can. The location couldn't be better, right in the heart of Ribe opposite the cathedral and across the street from the starting location of the Nightwatchman tour (worth taking). Everything is within a very short walking distance. We stayed two nights and loved the whole experience of the hotel, town and the region, visiting Fanø, Tønder and Møgeltønder. We ate out at Kolvig and Saelhunden. Both pricey but good quality and Kolvig is a must in terms of local produce, quality, service and atmosphere. I would go back in a heartbeat, stay at Hotel Dagmar again and explore more of the region.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017 by Bio, Hotel Management
Dear Gunter, Thank you very much for your feedback, we will it pass on to our staff.
4 out of 5
by Hilda

expensive

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is located in the middle of the old town, nevertheless very quiet. Very easy for tourists. It's a must see. The hotel h's no lift but they offered to take our bags up to our room. Manny steps.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Bio, Hotel Management
Dear Hilda, Thank you for your feedback :)
4 out of 5
by frances

super

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
excellent location and excellent food
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2017 by Bio, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Very cool, historical hotel. Located right in the main square and at the meeting point for the Night Watchman Walking Tour (which I highly recommend) Excellent breakfast included with the room and the hotel also offers complimentary coffee and tea in the main hall all day long.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017 by Bio, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback :)
4 out of 5
by Shu chao

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
No service after 6 pm
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017 by Bio, Hotel Management
Dear Shu Chao, Thank you for your feedback, but our restaurants close at 10 pm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mange tak for din feedback :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brilliant hotel, fantastic location.

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
The Hotel Dagmar is the oldest (I believe) Hotel in Denmark. It is shaped and twisted with the passage of time and is very interesting. The staff are helpful friendly and efficient and the entire experience was fantastic. The only downside - as with most European hotels but especially Denmark - was the bed. The idea that two single beds with two single douvets constitutes a "double" bed is beyond me. I find the setup irritating and uncomfortable in the extreem. Having said this I know that the majority of Danes think that this is the ideal set up and the only way to sleep :-) I suppose change would involve a change in thought.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank for your feed back :) It is always nice to hear what our guest say about us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A piece of history in the centre of Ribe

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Right in the centre of Ribe, you could not ask for a more central and attractive location close to some excellent eating options. The building is very, very old so not suitable for those who prefer modern or contemporary. No air con but you can open the windows. Bathrobes and slippers are provided and the ensuite has a bidet. Note that Ribe centre has no parking so you will need to park on the outskirts and walk to the hotel through scenic lanes, about 5 to 10 minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feed back. And yes it is a old hotel, the oldest in Denmark from 1581 :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Charming historical town of Ribe

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Charming historical town of Ribe. Fortunate to be able to walk with the night watchman on his guided tour of the town at 8pm (only during summer months).
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank for your feedback :) The nichtwatch is actually coming to the restaurant at Hotel Dagmar every Friday and Saturday all year. Hope to see you soon Again at the oldest hotel of Denmark.