Ratings based on 664 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017
The hotel was great, nice staff and great rooms and only a 15 minute walk to Christchurch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greymouth

Great location; close to Hagley Park & very quiet

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Convenience; close to park and Horncastle Arena
Cons: Get rid of pay to view movies, including adult. Just provide Sky TV and ditch useless remote for something matching the new TV.
Location: Horncastle Arena for live concerts. Addington raceway. Hagley Park right across the road. Riccarton Mall.
I would consider staying at Chateau on the Park again. The hotel's ease of convenience to the Christchurch CBD by car, close proximity to the park and Riccarton and ease of parking make it a breeze. We liked seeing the water garden has been revamped and our room on the 3rd floor having an opening window so that we could enjoy the sounds of birds the trees of the hotel courtyard. What struck us too, was despite being close to busy Deans Ave, we could not hear the road traffic noise at all! The room did feel a bit old though and the TV remote was near useless. Ditch the pay for movie option and just provide Sky channels, please!! Honestly... who wants the option of tacky pay to view adult movies!? Also the Den Bar, as quaint as it is, is so 90's and in desperate need of a makeover.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton NZ

Friendly staff.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
The room was clean and had everything we needed. Check in staff were helpful and attentive..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Timaru NZ

Excellent hotel, handy to shops & City.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Great to meet up again with staff members especially Chris, Wendy and Ainshee (not sure of spelling) in the dining room. Felt like returning home.
Cons: NA
Location: shops ,Park ,Casino, tram,Arts Centre
As always very welcoming hotel. Stay several times a year' Excellent receptionist, given upgrade.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Normal hotel experience in a place close to the CBD and the University. Good if you want to visit both
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Business made Pleasure

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Rooms are a great size, good wifi, excellent staff.
Cons: Nothing in my experience
Location: Hagley Park if you want to get out and go for a relaxing walk or run, close to city and easy to airport, with 5 - 10 minutes of some great restaurant
Stayed at the hotel on a business visit, since the last time I stayed here some years ago the condition of the rooms and property have improved to a very high standard. staff were excellent from the reception to the room. Did not use the restaurant etc so cant rate but would highly recommend on the basis of my stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Nelson NZ

Lovely and quiet. Nice gardens.

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Gardens.
Cons: Leaking roof by reception area was not a good look - but must be hard to get builders in Christchurch , with all the rebuild.
Location: Close to university if visiting student children! Right on Hagley Park.
Relaxing. Great to have such a good quiet night's sleep. Staff in restaurant very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice no fuss hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Really clean room - well done housekeeping, Crabtree & Evelyn products, friendly staff, Limited TV channels, lumpy pillows in the room we stayed. Would stay again though :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Timaru

Great Location .Walking distance to Shopping etc.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Great location. Excellent parking. Garden views. No where else in the world would you find a city hotel with such beautiful garden.
Cons: NA
Location: Shopping. Walks. Restaurants.Tram. All within easy distance.
Have stayed in this hotel 4 or 5 times a year. Staff good however we really missed the reception and dining staff we had become so friendly with. Guess things change.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
This was a very nice hotel right on the edge of the central Hagley Park.