Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nz

good location

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: room rate and proximity to Hagley park and walking distance to city. off street parking.
Cons: Bathroom looked abit tired. Dust on the wall heater. Limited tv channels available.
Location: Botanical gardens and city an easy and pleasant walk through Hagley Park.
Adequate parking spaces . Close to Hagley Park and therefore easy walk to city centre. Basic TV viewing options. Bathroom / toilet looked abit tired. Dust on heater. I stayed because the rate for the room was good however if I had been charged more I would have felt more ripped off. Several good eating places within easy walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Small but well priced

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Small room but convenient & well priced for what I wanted which was a bed for a couple of nights. Best to have a vehicle though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Balclutha south otago nz

it was comfortable for our holiday

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The cheap rates and location
Cons: The Bar could be open to the people staying there. Not just for functions.
Location: Very handy
The hotel was at a convenient location. Close to shopping centres and the city centre. Easy to find and leave. Rooms were warm compare to the snow and wet weather that week.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Handy position

Posted May 9, 2017
Cons: Exterior painting and sills could do with a tidy up - but that's just maintenance.
Room was comfortable - although bathroom dated, and shower had holes through base, which had been siliconed. Staff member on front desk was excellent - asked what we were thinking of seeing, and gave us some good suggestions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton NZ

Central Hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: It was a short walk to cafe's, bars, Westfield mall, gym everything you need. close to the beaches
Cons: More than 1 ashtray on each level It didn't feel nice walking in front of the person's room to put smoke butts in the ashtray in front of their room
Location: It was a short walk to cafe's, bars, Westfield mall, gym everything you need.
I was a bit sceptical about staying at this hotel because of the reviews I read after booking the room, I told my friend to check everything before I arrived and when I arrived all the reviews I read were chucked out the window it was clean & tidy and staff were friendly and accommodating. My stay was great. A weekend getaway, Staff response to queries were prompt, they accommodated the changes I requested even though they were fully booked, ample parking, just a good response.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good option

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Noisy buses left idling behind hotel otherwise good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Otago

Could be better

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Wotif
Good handy location but room was dirty and noisy, light switches didn't work, bed was cold and no extra bedding. No hot water at 7am.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average room, but the location was good

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Positives were the bedding and location
Cons: Clean the room
The room at first look seemed clean, however there was make up on the wall, light switch and towels in the bathroom. The room also was very dusty and clearly had not had a good clean in some time. Positives were the bedding and location.
2 out of 5
by thelma

No mirrors! !

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
Sadly a worn motel that has seen better days. The bathroom sink and wooden unit that it was in was rotten - literally! Draw trims damp and mushy Also was badly stained so it appeared to be dirty. There was also no mirror at all in the bedroom and 2 light bulbs were off
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: quiet, clean spacious bathroom
Cons: comfort of beds, more pillows, larger rooms
Room was very small but fine for one night for 3 people. Bathroom was spacious and clean. The bed had an electric mattress pad with very uncomfortable plastic pieces so we had to remove it in order to sleep.