Ratings based on 532 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

Looks Worn Down

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: better front desk service
Problem with my credit at check-in. Back from a long tiring day on Sunday and locked out of my room. My reservation was clearly for Sunday night also. Think the problem was again at check-in. Ice bucket never emptied and cleaned each day. First early morning try for coffee in the lobby the machine didn't work,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

High speed internet was NOT

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was terrific
Cons: INTERNET
The room was ok. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was terrific. The internet was NOT high speed. A speed test on my laptop showed .02 mbps as the BEST speed when it was able to register any speed at all. This was after two calls to the IT support and a re-set of the nearest modem. IT support was supposed to call back when the modem was re-set but never did. This speed was clocked at both 11:30 pm and 6:30 am. Don't advertise free high-speed internet in the room if you can't provide it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

cold shower

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Location: fishing for kings in the Columbia river. .
everything was great except the cold shower in the morning and i didn't have time to call the front desk because i had to go fishing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible stay! Do not recommend this hotel at all

Posted Sep 25, 2017
From day one I had issues with this hotel!!! Started off with no air conditioning in my room, it was very hot and stuffy and uncomfortable for me and my dogs! Moved from a king room to two queen room. (That is not what I paid for!) They said they had no Kings avail. I had NO hot water for 3 days I was there! Called the front desk in the morning @6:00 am & they said they didn't have anybody in until 8 o'clock to fix the issue!!! Unacceptable!!!! I had no working microwave, I called the desk they said they would send somebody up to fix it never did get done had no way to warm up my dogs raw food no hot water!! no microwave!! no coffee pot in the room!!! Again unacceptable! I talked to the front desk about a room compensation she said I had to contact Expedia for a refund OK.. I don't understand this because the hotel charge my card not Expedia! After numerous calls and extremely long wait times to Expedia they say I have to go thru RedLion and now I'm in a ping-pong affect of nobody will take responsibility of the bad stay that I had!! I would not recommend this hotel at all!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Mary, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the hot water, air conditioning, and the lack of several amenities . I will address your concerns with the management team. We appreciate your business and do hope you give us another chance in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Centralia, WA

Anniversary Weekend

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Quietness of rooms and comfortability
Cons: Coffee servers in the room, and for those of us old athletes with lower back and knee injuries taller toilets.
Location: Shopping and wonderful restaurants. The location of the hotel is within walking distance of many things.
Although the hotel is one of the oldest in the area, it has been preserved to today's comfort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Mary, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visit

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Room 125 a/c unit doesn't work. 9ooo9xxxxxxxxxccf
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Mary, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We will work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thank you for letting us know.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Booked hotel and discovered within 30 minutes that the wrong week had been booked. Contacted the manager and requested that the reservation be changed to the days actually needed. Was advised no changes and I would be charged for the 2 rooms and 2 nights booked in error. This was not a last minute booking and there was more than enough time to accommodate my request. I will never stay at a Red Lion again as I felt the customer service under the circumstances was awful. I was charged over $400 and received nothing in return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Adequate lodging with nice view

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: The view from my room.
Cons: Re-open a full service restaurant in the premises
Comfortable room, and the breakfast buffet was OK. No full service restaurant was a shortcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Mary, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will address your concerns with the management team. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge MA

Convenient, plain and simple, economical.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Location and price can't be beat. Lovely outdoor patio not far from the Columbia River. Paths to the riverwalk but we didn't get there.
Cons: Good antiseptic scrubbing of the room, and adjust the door to fit the frame.
Location: National DOE laboratory. Hanford site museum. Columbia River in all its glory, river walks.
The hotel is conveniently located to the laboratory for business travel. Nothing excessively fancy, but all the basics are provided. Rooms are secure and fairly clean. My room door did not close or open without a big loud echoing bang - needed fixing. Damp smell when you enter, but otherwise okay. Sheets and bedding clean and good work space. Wifi worked. Food service has limited hours but there are other options across the parking lot. Fine for a work trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Mary, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will work hard to fix the issue(s) you experienced. I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La Grande, OR

Noisy, poor food service, dirty room

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Close to the music festival at Amon Park
Cons: Train the staff to be professional- not curse. Get enough cook staff to cover the demand. Put coffee makers in the rooms. Fix the HVAC system. Clean!
Location: Close to restaurants, beautiful park and water sports on the Columbia. The hotel rents out bikes.
We left a day early from this hotel! Over-run with kids with bicycles going everywhere. Extremely loud Jesus band across the street the first night. One cook on duty for a large hotel of people and we waited 40 minutes for food. Wait staff doing their best but not trained professionally. Our room still had trash from the last guests. If you are looking for a quiet, restful hotel, this is definitely NOT it. Front desk staff didn't really care about getting the coffee pot fixed in the lobby for all the guests. There was no coffee in the room. Bed was too soft and the room was very cold. We couldn't get the temperature regulated with the thermostat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Mary, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the Restaurant staff, Cleanliness, coffee machine and thermostat. I will address your concerns with the management team. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.