Ratings based on 985 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle Wa

No Amenities

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I've previously stayed here several times for the outdoor hot spa and free breakfast. Well this time the hot spa was cold and i was informed by the breakfast attendant the hotel is transitioning to new management so no hot breakfast. It was a joke. Tg6ey served bagels with hard industrial cream cheese and single serving cold cereal with single serving milk. I asked for coffee and received nasty poddy water (Seattle's Best drip) in a paper cup. Making the best of things I utilized the spa in the fitness room which was only warm. While there I noticed most of the fitness equipment had disappeared too save only for the universal weight lifter. The checkin was excellent. The staff person was quick to greet everyone during a busy check in, getting things going efficiently and without any delay while being courteous, friendly, and with a personable touch. The room was clean and stocked as were the grounds. I recommend calling to check on amenities before you book if those amenities make part of your selection decision.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sisters' Weekend getaway

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was great. The price was very reasonable. The pool area was nice and very clean.
Cons: The water for showers took forever to get hot. And there wasn't enough hot water to go around for 4 showers.
Location: Wineries, Farmers Market, Park, River boats, shopping were all enjoyed!
It was a "Sisters' Weekend" for myself and my 3 sisters. We went to wineries and shopping. We attended a good friend's wedding. We met up with an old high school friend for drinks and dinner and laughs. We had a LOT of fun on our trip and it was packed full. The shopping, sight seeing, wedding venue, and wine tasting was all very close to our motel. We had no problem getting around and the directions were easy to follow. We enjoyed every minute of our trip. It was relaxing and comfortable. The beds were comfortable and the swimming pool and hot tubs were nice and clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Ginny, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. It was good to see you enjoyed a lot of what Tri-Cities has to offer! I hope we see you on your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Friendly staff and comfortable bed. Made sure we had everything we needed. Nice patio area next to river and trails
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Ginny, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Shilo Inns - Richland. We look forward to seeing you again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs updated

Posted Aug 28, 2017
My room was small smelled like smoke and filth. Wasn't very pleasant at all
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by Ginny, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies. We attempt to make sure everyone respects the fact our hotel is totally non-smoking. I will make sure housekeeping follows up on this particular room. On the other hand, we do have a variety of room sizes and arrangements available for the convenience of our guests. Next time you visit please ask us to view the different room types we offer. Thank you for taking the time to review Shilo Inns - Richland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Posted Aug 25, 2017
We really enjoyed the pool and the front desk staff were wonderful. Very friendly. Unfortunately the nonsmoking room smelled like smoke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Ginny, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Shilo Inns - Richland. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent visit. We attempt to make sure all of our rooms smell clean and pleasant for our guests. Unfortunately, people still smoke in our non-smoking rooms. I have passed your information on to the housekeeping department. Thank you for choosing Shilo Inns!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shoreline Wa

Inexpensive

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Cost
Cons: Update decore. Add hot breakfast items.
Decent low cost hotel. Our room was very dark. Seemed only to be use very low wattage bulbs. Not updated since the 60's. bed was comfortable. Only cold breakfast items available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by ginny, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. We understand that our hotel is aged, but we are currently working on updating and renovating our property. Additionally, we are very excited about our new restaurant owner. They new restaurant is slated to open in early September and then the hot breakfast will again be available for our guests. Thank you and I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yakima wa.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
We made a reservation online when we arrived they had no rooms on first floor that was available for what we reserved. Which was a king room. They had a queen room but we had our grandson so that just wouldn't work. I'm disabled so that many stairs was not gonna work. So they offered us a jacuzzi suite for 22.00 extra so we paid the extra and there were maybe 8 stairs so I was able to get up them slowly. And when we got into the room it was beautiful clean and nice only thing that wasn't there was dishes in the kitchenette but that was fine we just needed a king bed with a hide a way bed which it had. I was completely satisfied with the Room. Can't say anything but good things staff were smiling and pleasant grounds were kept beautifully and the view we had of the river was pretty. The bed was perfect the room was quiet had to tvs which my grandson loved having a livingroom to himself to watch tv. We will definitely be staying here at Shilo inn Richland wa from now on our trips The breakfast was a basic cold breakfast which was a little disappointed with. Only had peach yogurt and poppy seed muffins 2 kinds of Cereal just apples and coffee so not great but everything else was perfect. I'll be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Ginny Hill - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. The breakfast that you have noted is just temporary. We have a new operator for our restaurant which has been leased for the last 30 yrs or so. The next time you come, the restaurant and lounge will be fully operating and you will be able to enjoy a nice hot breakfast. We look forward to seeing you next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

It is a motel...

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Wi-fi -- strong signal and fast.
Cons: Two things that would improve it (short of knocking it down and starting over): Buy some modern flat screen t.v.s and some plush, fluffy towels.
Location: The Tri cities are not that big, and it sits right off of 182 & 240 -- sort of the cross-roads of the area. In that sense, it is a great location.
I travel a lot on business, and I have stayed in the Richland area a number of times before. In general this seemed more like a family/vacation traveler place than for someone on business travel. The first thing to know about the Shilo Inn is that it is a motel -- there are no internal corridors; all the doors open to the outside. The only window in the room is next to the door, so if you want to open the curtains there are constantly people walking by you just beyond your window. There is a large pool that sits in a courtyard, and it seemed families really enjoyed it (I think there is a little wading pool attached for toddlers, but I didn't go over there, so I am not sure). There is no exercise facility to speak of (one universal weight machine...no cardio...); and the free morning breakfast may be the lamest I have ever come across -- some small pastries, slices of melon, and cereal (nothing hot). There is a bar and restaurant, but short of one morning "free breakfast" experience, I didn't go to either. The room was comfortable, although not well-lit, unless it was daytime and you open the curtains. T.v. had a pretty good channel selection (no premium stations), but the t.v. itself was new in maybe 1978...(no high def). Bathrooms were fine, although the towels were a bit threadbare. The AC worked fine, and was not too loud (under the window unit). The wi-fi was EXCELLENT! I travel on business all the time, and I cannot recall anywhere with better wi-fi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Ginny, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are currently undergoing a renovation and it is our hope that the next time you are in Richland, you will stop in and see our improvements. Thank you for choosing Shilo Inns!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under remodel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Hotel restaurant and bar are being remodeled. This info was not shared on website at time of booking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by ginny hill, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent comments. Please accept our apologies for your inconvenience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Creepy

Posted Jul 1, 2017
I selected the hotel for its outdoor pool. Unfortunately other guests were smoking (right under the No Smoking signs) and partying. They were all drinking beer (LOTS of bottles on the tables so they had knocked back plenty) and playing their own music (not appropriate for kids). I also smelled pot outside our room. After 10 minutes at the pool my kid, who usually have to drag out of the pool, was so ill at ease he asked to go back to the room. The bed was comfortable. We checked out early the next morning and won't go back. Too creepy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Ginny - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the property. Please accept our apologies for your experience. Unfortunately there are people who do not respect the rights of others in these types of environments. We do try to let people know when we find them acting inappropriately, especially around young ones. There were a lot of people here last Saturday. Again, I ask that you accept our apologies for our guests behavior.