Ratings based on 1,053 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waukesha, Wisconsin

Very nice hotel close to St. Louis University.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Great staff. Friendly. Very quiet and comfortable. Since we have two children who attend St. Louis University we will definitely return to the Cheshire. Easy off and easy on to the expressway makes this hotel a prime spot.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rustic and Unique!

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Time well spent there! Besides a few cosmetic improvements needed, it was a great place to stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

weekend getaway

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Great place to stay in St.Louis. Quiet and comfortable with plenty of character. Dining options were great and appreciated after a long afternoon at the city museum ( didn't feel like going out searching for a good dinner). Tavern was great for a night cap and the breakfast was nice as well. Good location as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Always Enjoyable!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Location: Forest Park, Delmar Loop, Zoo, The Pagent
I always love to stay at a hotel with character and the Cheshire does not disappoint. I've stayed numerous times and love the accessibility to nearby attractions. The restaurants are fantastic (Basso & Boundary). If you are bothered by street noise, make sure to get a room that does not face Clayton Rd.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Got flea bites and had to check out a day early!

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Access to restaurant, lounge and coffee shop within walking distance.
Cons: -AC didn't work well -didn't clean our room on day 2 -never saw cleaning staff, q tip on one of the dressers in the hallway never get picked up
Felt like I was staying at the SPCA hotel. Breakfast was horrible-ran out of food and utensils everyday, not enough staff to accommodate the hotel guests. With all of the pets allowed, I never saw a cleaning staff member vacuum nor wipe anything down. Our room wasn't cleaned on the second day there. Saw a Q tip in the hallway on a table which never got picked up by cleaning staff. A/C didn't work well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Nice hotel, though "surroundings" (e.g. parking lot) decrease its "ambiance."
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
I've been staying here for a couple of year for the convenience of the nearby college, but they need to buy under sheets that stay on the bed. The sheets constantly come undone and you wake up on the mattress instead of the sheets. I'm not a clean freak but that's not a good feeling. The beds are comfortable though and the staff is great. Love the salted chocolates. The star rating is in relation to the price and not a true star rating if price was not a consideration.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2016
So nice to stay in such a unique hotel after the glut of corporate chain places. Very charming, thoughtful decor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quick Getaway

Posted Aug 23, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at the Cheshire Inn. Loved the themed rooms and overall atmosphere. Staff was great. We would stay again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, dirty hotel!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: hospitality and cleanliness
Location: the zoo, forest park, the loop
The room had dust and dirt on the bed frames, chairs, floor and bathroom. They had no vent for the bathroom and the paint was dripping down the wall in a brown color. We left our room at 9am and got back to the hotel around 3:30, our room was never cleaned. We asked 3 different people for towels for the pool outside each one of them told us they were working on it. The towels weren't replaced until the next day. The breakfast in the morning was mediocre. They didn't have the cream cheese or the fruit on ice. The honey dew was rotten but they still served it for 2 days. The hotel is really in a nice location but the bad out ways the good when it comes to this hotel.