Ratings based on 1,031 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2016
So nice to stay in such a unique hotel after the glut of corporate chain places. Very charming, thoughtful decor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quick Getaway

Posted Aug 23, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at the Cheshire Inn. Loved the themed rooms and overall atmosphere. Staff was great. We would stay again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, dirty hotel!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: hospitality and cleanliness
Location: the zoo, forest park, the loop
The room had dust and dirt on the bed frames, chairs, floor and bathroom. They had no vent for the bathroom and the paint was dripping down the wall in a brown color. We left our room at 9am and got back to the hotel around 3:30, our room was never cleaned. We asked 3 different people for towels for the pool outside each one of them told us they were working on it. The towels weren't replaced until the next day. The breakfast in the morning was mediocre. They didn't have the cream cheese or the fruit on ice. The honey dew was rotten but they still served it for 2 days. The hotel is really in a nice location but the bad out ways the good when it comes to this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2016
It was a really cute hotel. The breakfast was really good. I had a few concerns though. The end of our bed was coming apart and because of rain and it being an old building our floor was constantly damp and gave the room a weird smell. When we brought it up to the workers they just said " yeah it's an old building" didn't really apologize or anything. Overall the staff was pretty friendly but the room had issues and that was pretty upsetting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peoria, IL

Very nice hotel close the St. Louis Zoo.

Posted Aug 13, 2016
The room was beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. Dinning choices close to the hotel were nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from farmington mo

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Cons: This place needs a good cleaning throughout ......the pool area is a mess
I was looking forward to staying here ........this place needs to hire more help ......needs lots of repairs inside and out .......the pool are is a mess ....very small .....dirty cushions ......pool are a mess ......the flowers were nice but I found out they are serviced by a outside company
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff were generally very friendly and accommodating!
Cons: The pool area looked very nice (great setup), but was in disarray, the furniture dirty, and the peripheral grounds unswept. Yikes.
When we checked in, the TV in the room was not working (no cable service), a metal plate on the door latch had come off, there was no shampoo, and the bathroom was not sufficiently clean. We are not complainers, but we did think we should bring these details to the attention of the front desk, and they were kind enough to upgrade us to a much nicer room, which we appreciated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Stay Away! - Old, dirty, musty air

Posted Aug 9, 2016
I booked this hotel with the idea that it was going to be an upscale experience in the Formidable Clayton area of St. Louis. I stayed for one night at $179/night on special, Regular price was $199. The experience I received was that of a Motel6, and quite honestly I have received a better experience at a Motel6. For the same price I had a choice to stay at Hayatt/Marriot downtown and I chose this as a unique experience based on what I read about the theme of the hotel. An experience it was! From the moment you enter the facilities, you can tell that the hotel is setup in an old makeshift building. The air is congested and musty. Two elevators are old and super slow. Once in the room, the shower one of the towels had a faded lipstick or whatever (red) stain on it. The bathroom vanity had a broken shelf, laying on the ground, the ironing board was dirty and rusty. The only window in the room looked over the roof where all the water pumps and AC units were located. The worst was the AC unit located in the room. It shook and rattled the entire room. I have a video of which I wish I could upload. Mind you, this was a premium room, 4th floor! I know I won't be staying here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What hotel runs out of toilet paper? For DAYS!!!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
They ran out of toilet paper. For real. Just gave people Kleenex. Air conditioner broken. No pool towels. Super nice staff though.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Our Cheshire Experience

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: We love the hotel. It was charming and quiet. The food and restaurants/pub were cozy and good.
Cons: One of the hallways on the first floor had bags of trash with baby diapers one day & the hallway smelled of them for days.
Location: The location is right next to Forest Park which is a beautiful. The zoo, boathouse, fountains, outdoor theatre, and the museums are great.
The staff was extremely helpful and considerate. Loved swimming at night in the pool. Beds were very comfortable.