Ratings based on 1,276 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Picture were great. Reality was not!!

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The pizza restaurant.
Cons: New carpets, better cleaning service.
The hotel itself was dirty. The carpets looked like they were the original. It smelled like wet dog in the halls. No air in the lobby, halls, or elevators. My two rooms were filthy. Floors absolutely had not been vacuumed and contained sweet tarts and dirt! Someone else's clothes were under a chair in the room. Some else's hair was in the drain in the shower and one of the double beds. And it goes on and on......
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

underwhelmed

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Cons: Cleanliness and staff friendliness
DeMarco at the front desk was awesome...but that's where the customer service ended. I couldn't find the ice machine right away and when I went looking, I discovered many random rooms open and dirty. They had been stripped to be cleaned but then never attended to. Was excited to go to the pool before my event that night and the pool was consumed by a party of at least 80 people. Tried to go the next morning but it didn't open until 10am. Overall just felt like the place was not kept up well and the staff, other than DeMarco, was unattentive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The carpets in the hallways were dirty on the 2nd and 3rd floor. The hotel staff that came to notify us the pool was closed was very rude. The phone in our room did not work
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kansas City

Good location

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The Chesire left a lot to be desired. It was a good location and quaint atmosphere. However, the hotel rooms themselves were dark, dingy, dusty and dirty bathroom floor and walls. The breakfast was nice but they were out of coffee twice and it was uncomfortably hot in the breakfast dining room. I witnessed 2 employees fighting in the pool area about who was to take the garbage out. It's was awkward and uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Not even close to what we expected.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
This hotel got a 4.3 from Expedia users????? I was fooled. The hotel feels old and very worn down. Staff was nice enough but that did not make up for the tired rooms and lobby. Will not be back. Maybe just not our cup of tea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Great location. Close to zoo and shopping.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere.
Cons: Our room could have been a little cleaner.
Original room assigned to us was not available due to someone apparently using it without permission. We were moved to another room with a poor location. Very noisy. Staff was friendly and helpful. Boundary restaurant was excellent for dinner. Food delicious and waiter, Corey, did an outstanding job.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Had a great breakfast that was included

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: The breakfast
Cons: Clean up the hotel and especially the rooms. Dust everywhere and the bathroom was very unclean.
Location: Good location with easy access to the "Hill" and downtown. Right off of hwy 64/route 40
My room was absolutely filthy. I had to mop up some water in the bathroom and the towel came back totally black from the dirt on the bathroom floor. It was noisy with hearing the traffic on Clayton road all night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful British Boutique Hotel!

Posted Jun 2, 2017
I found this great British boutique hotel right outside of St. Louis MO. We only stayed for one night, but it was beautifully decorated from floor to ceiling in full British décor. The food was fantastic, and they had a full bar with tons of great Bourbons, Scotches, Whiskeys, and more. The staff was amazing, the room was comfortable and clean. Also this fun hotel is dog friendly which means we will be back with the pup!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly staff, cozy feel

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: location - staff - breakfast
Cons: housekeeping - cleanliness -
Location: Forest Park, Wash U, movie theater, restaurants
The staff was welcoming and friendly. Breakfast had delicious pastries, cereal, yogurt, scrambled eggs and sausage, etc. The entry way always has cold water and cold lemonade available and hot coffee and tea are available at all times. We ate at all three restaurants and enjoyed the food and staff. The location is great for connecting to the various parts of St. Louis and an easy walk to Forest Park. It's a quirky hotel but that's what we like. Our only complaint is re: the housekeeping. There doesn't seem to be much effort, care or pride.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Good location

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Though it's an older hotel, it was in really good condition! Loved it and planning on staying here again