Ratings based on 1,011 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Very close to central west end St. Louis.
Cons: Update the hotel and get it cleaned up
Location: Forest Park, Science Center, downtown St. Louis.
Hotel is very convenient to the central part of St. Louis. It is also a landmark hotel in St. Louis lhaving been in service for over 50 years. The room and general condition of the hotel were disappointing. Although the bathrooms have been updated, ours was dirty, the shower appeared not to have been cleaned. Parking is difficult.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from h

Don't waste your money at this non boutique hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016
The room was not clean. The shower had mold in the grout lines and the previous guests hair was still stuck to the shower floor and wall. Also, be aware they rent out their pool to anybody off the street who wants to swim. They claim to charge $30 per person, but I didn't see anyone checking in or paying. It did not turn out to be a relaxing day at the pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique

Posted Jul 19, 2016
I loved the Dracula room, especially the door that led right to the pool. My second room not so much but it was fine. Bathroom was awkward. Breakfast not so good. The staff was extremely nice. Overall, great stay but overpriced. Love the neighborhood and the bikes you can borrow and ride through Forest Park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nixa, MO

DONT EXPECT TO USE THE POOL!!!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed, location was good for us
Cons: Stop renting the pool out…frustrating
Location: Not much around the hotel but its not far from the zoo, science center or ball park
After a 3 hour drive to our hotel we were looking forward to relaxing at the pool. We went to the pool and when we entered the security guard made us throw our waters away. Because they have an open bar at the pool, you are not allowed to bring your own drinks in. That was not a huge deal to us but we walked around to try to find a place to sit we couldn't find any open seating. The pool was full and all the seating was taken. I have never stayed at a hotel where we were unable to use the pool. It was a Las Vegas type of atmosphere, NOT kid friendly at all. We ended up just going back to our room. We found out the next day that the hotel rents the pool out for parties and it had been booked all weekend. They were having a fooseball tournament. I don't think that they should list the pool as an amenity if they rent it out and its not available to the people who are renting rooms. Apparently they also gave us our room before the cleaning crew had finished cleaning. One of the employee's came to our door and said they had not vacuumed the room yet and there was hair in the bathroom tub. The beds and pillows were very comfy though and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warsaw, Poland

Nice hotel in old English style

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Style and good customer service.
Cons: Food range
Location: Location is OK - nearby University of Washington, ZOO and Museum of Arts
Very good overall, brakefest can be improved a bit. Otherwise perfect. Nice pool. Stylish rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, but that's about it

Posted Jun 27, 2016
The room we booked had about 3 years of dust in it! My mom was handicap and when we arrived the two parking spots had been taken by two cars without handicap plates or signs. I asked management about this and they said they would make them move. Bad experience!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Quaint hotel close to downtown

Posted May 12, 2016
Charming hotel with plenty of memorable details that create a quite unique atmosphere. Hotel is located in a nice quiet neighborhood, but only 10-minute drive from St.Louis downtown. The breakfast was not especially appealing, but that was the only drawback. Excellent quality for money; would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs updating and a good cleaning

Posted May 3, 2016
Hotel parking is an absolute nightmare. The parking garage spaces are ridiculously small. Unless you're driving a smart car plan on some new door dings. The hotel itself is ok, but needs some serious updating and TLC. It does offer nicer amenities such as bath robes and valet parking, but the rooms still feel dingy. Our room was also not very clean. When I notified the staff upon checkout they did not appear to be very concerned.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

feel of an english inn

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Feel of an English inn, really nicely appointed, warm lobby. Breakfast was american not British. Mattress was saggy and it's impossible not to stub your knee or toes on the bedframe, continuously. Small cramped bathroom.
5 out of 5
by james from Warrenton, Mo

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
'We stay there frequently