Ratings based on 1,311 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Quaint hotel but room was dirty

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good.
Cons: The rooms need to be cleaner.
We were on a 2-week roadtrip so stayed here just one night. It was very charming in its decor, and we appreciated the furnishings and pictures throughout. The exercise room was one of the best, and the included breakfast was also very good (fresh fruit was delicious!). However, they charged for parking, which wasn't noted on the website and was unusual given its location. The worse part of our stay was that our room was dirty. Clean sheets and towels, but the room hadn't been vacuumed, and the bathroom was only marginally clean. My pre-teen son noted that if we were at home I'd be telling him it was past time to scrub the toilet! We stayed in 12 other hotels during our road trip, and this was the dirtiest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DFW

Enjoyable stay. Very convenient.

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Forest Park. Art museum and Science Museum.
Staff very helpful. Location very good just adjacent to Forest Park. Nice facility with the best "free" breakfast of any of the hotel in which we have stayed. Easy parking in protected garage. Would stay here again when in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Charming hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The staff was really friendly, the hotel was clean, and super comfortable. This was the first time I've ever stayed in a hotel that has a theme, it was old English authors. It was kind of random, but nice. The breakfast was really good and there's a Starbucks in the parking lot. I didn't like that I had to pay an extra $10 to self park, but it is what it is. I'd stay again if I needed to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicagoland

Staff absolutely superb.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Staff, ambience
Cons: A/C system was inscrutable, and fan keep up a gale throughout the night.
Location: Location was easy to find, I did not explore the immediate vicinity so no comment on things nearby
The Cheshire staff would go out of their way to make my experience thoroughly enjoyable. It was the big things like great table service in the restaurant and a wonderfully clean room but it was also small things like maneuvering a cart well out of the way to allow more than "just enough" space for me to walk by. I highly recommend The Cheshire for its staff, nice facilities, and even for its rooms named after famous English authors, complete with a copy of one of the author's works in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

filthy! In the door it's filthy

Posted Aug 25, 2017
It is a filthy dirty hotel Lost a reservation then they found it and took her credit card and they said they didn't scan it wasn't going to give them the opportunity to scan it again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Don't be fooled by the pool and lobby! Dirty room.

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: The only positives: -nice pool and poolside area -outdoor chess set -nice exercise room -lobby ambiance -fast elevators -free fruit,beverages lobby
Cons: Everything mentioned above!
Our family of three does not recommend this overpriced for-what-it-is hotel. Don't let the cool English author theme, lobby, and pool fool you. This hotel has so many problems. We stayed almost a week. Once you go to your cramped, dirty room it feels like you have been transported to a low end hotel. Not a 4 star! Our extremely claustrophobic bathroom WITH NO FAN had an almost see-through glass door. Due to no fan, we often had to leave the door open to shower = no privacy. Housekeeping left very few towels for three people! We had to beg for more. Our alarm clock and nightlight in bathroom didn't work. They do not believe in good housekeeping. Super dusty surfaces left our clothes white with dust! Our room was never vacuumed without requesting, had stained pillow shams etc, one day we would have cups by the coffee maker, the next day we wouldn't. Free chocolate was only day one. They leave hair in your tub for you to clean! The tiny pool never had enough towels. For a "four star" hotel we had to stand there dripping! They let outsiders into the small pool! No privacy or space. Broken pool ladder. We had gnats in our room the entire stay! Disgusting! No storage, the dresser was so tiny, no drawers anywhere. False fire alarm startled us. Breakfast area too cramped! Just a continental breakfast. Sometimes nice, sometimes rude staff. This hotel will get close to nil repeat business. It is very over-priced for the service and poor quality room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hot Springs, AR

Great for visiting Forest Park attractions

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Location was just right for our "Zoocation" to St Louis, and our room was very comfortable. Tudor architecture made it easy to spot the hotel.
Cons: It would be nice to have a sink in the room in addition to in the bathroom and a larger trashcan.
Location: Close to Forest Park and free attractions:: Great zoo, science center and planetarium, art center, Missouri history center.
Little things enhanced our stay. There was a children's scavenger hunt with a nice prize. (We never got around to completing the adult edition.) Clean towels were always available at the pool. We had eggs benedict for breakfast one morning. Poolside furniture was very comfortable, Mattresses were just right. British literary allusions were fun. Thermostat in the room was easy to set. Nice location with computers and supplies in business center. Toys available at the pool. One day it looked like housekeeping got interrupted in the middle of doing our room. One bed made, the other not. Used towels and bathmat removed but not replaced. Everything fine the other days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

This hotel has character although a bit tired

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: The character, the breakfast and the surrounding area.
Cons: More attention to detail with cleanliness. It is not dirty and the bed linen and the bathroom was clean so it was acceptable.
Location: There are some very nice restaurants close by and there is a good shopping mall within 10 minutes walk
The Cheshire Hotel has an interesting character, but it is a little tiered and the room cleaning was almost minimal - my bed was not made once during my 3 night stay. On a positive note, the breakfast was very good - a pleasant surprise. The area is lovely too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jonesboro, AR

Gnats infestation

Posted Jul 30, 2017
There were gnats in the room from day one. I complained and nothing was done about it. The room was not cleaned properly daily and I had to ask for toilet paper, shower caps, towells because they didn't restock them daily. The pool is open to the public so it was always full of people drinking and loud music. Not child appropiate. We didn't use the pool as much as we wanted to because of that. Great location though. It is closed to many places
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from missouri

We checked in then after seeing the room we left.

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Nothing. All was bad.
Cons: Clean it once. Pool situation. And clean it once.
Location: Bad place. Nothing really around it.
We saw our room then left. Dirty dingy place. Super outdated. They call it historic that's a bad idea. The pool it is used by the whole neighborhood. Lots of alcohol and who knows what at the pool. Not kid friendly. Parking is bad. No one will help you with a thing. Just want a tip though. Not in a great area. Spend more and stay anywhere else. Cheshire needs to close back in 1990. Horrible.