Ratings based on 1,329 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Overlank Park KS

Good staff but frustrating.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The air conditioning did not function on the second night of a booked 3 day stay. We were informed it was about to be repaired on each time I spoke with the front desk. At 2:39 AM I Had enough and informed them were were not staying a third evening. They has Expedia refund the second night but we were charged for the 3rd even though we were checked out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst stay ever!

Posted Oct 2, 2017
I paid xtra for a Microwave and Refrig..not present or the rollaway bed i paid xtra for,.i treated some of my family to a stay..What a Joke..My wife rolled the comforter back to find a big stain half way down on the sheet underneath..Our guest rolled their comforter back to find pubic hair all over the sheet and pillow..And i can go on but i wont.35 years of staying at hotels.This is far the most disappointing i have ever experienced..4 Star my ---.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Very good atmosphere and a great breakfast buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Posted Sep 30, 2017
The hotel staff was very nice. The room was updated, nice and comfortable. I enjoyed the unique theme throughout the hotel. The breakfast was delicious. Convenient location to attractions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Rude front desk staff. The hotel needs to be cleaned and painted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
We enjoyed our short stay. The staff is friendly and the room is comfortable and clean. Parking provided is protected and secure. The only fault I can find is the noisy fan for the a/c and the bathroom light that cannot be turned off except by timer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Quaint hotel but room was dirty

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good.
Cons: The rooms need to be cleaner.
We were on a 2-week roadtrip so stayed here just one night. It was very charming in its decor, and we appreciated the furnishings and pictures throughout. The exercise room was one of the best, and the included breakfast was also very good (fresh fruit was delicious!). However, they charged for parking, which wasn't noted on the website and was unusual given its location. The worse part of our stay was that our room was dirty. Clean sheets and towels, but the room hadn't been vacuumed, and the bathroom was only marginally clean. My pre-teen son noted that if we were at home I'd be telling him it was past time to scrub the toilet! We stayed in 12 other hotels during our road trip, and this was the dirtiest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DFW

Enjoyable stay. Very convenient.

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Forest Park. Art museum and Science Museum.
Staff very helpful. Location very good just adjacent to Forest Park. Nice facility with the best "free" breakfast of any of the hotel in which we have stayed. Easy parking in protected garage. Would stay here again when in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Charming hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The staff was really friendly, the hotel was clean, and super comfortable. This was the first time I've ever stayed in a hotel that has a theme, it was old English authors. It was kind of random, but nice. The breakfast was really good and there's a Starbucks in the parking lot. I didn't like that I had to pay an extra $10 to self park, but it is what it is. I'd stay again if I needed to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicagoland

Staff absolutely superb.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Staff, ambience
Cons: A/C system was inscrutable, and fan keep up a gale throughout the night.
Location: Location was easy to find, I did not explore the immediate vicinity so no comment on things nearby
The Cheshire staff would go out of their way to make my experience thoroughly enjoyable. It was the big things like great table service in the restaurant and a wonderfully clean room but it was also small things like maneuvering a cart well out of the way to allow more than "just enough" space for me to walk by. I highly recommend The Cheshire for its staff, nice facilities, and even for its rooms named after famous English authors, complete with a copy of one of the author's works in the room.