Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Excellent place to stay. Friendly environment. The room was very comfortable and meet. Love the bathroom too
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Location
We had thought this hotel had been renovated. It is in a great location with 3 bars/restaurants on site. Most everything is old except for newer bedding. The walls are very thin. Two dogs were in the room next to us and were barking terribly. They had been left alone in the room. Hotel management did not address the problem after 2 days and several people complaining. We ended up leaving and going to another hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Fun hotel! Each room is named after a British author. The staff was curteous and helpful. We loved our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the Hotel. Could be cleaner.

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: The themed rooms are nice and the hotel lounge is quaint.
Cons: Cleanliness.
Location: Very near the zoo, parks and universities.
Stayed at this hotel many times and love the comforts and environment. The cleanliness could be better. Also, $10 self-parking VS. the $14 valet, is a problem -- self-parking in what is essentially a motor lodge, should be complementary.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
We had a king room that we could never get warm, turn the temp all the way up and bedroom was still cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

English theme, we loved the decor.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Housekeeping needs a little improving, found a dirty wash cloth in our shower and the corner of carpeting by desk was built up dust. l
Location: Great area, we attended a show at the Fox theatre. Found shopping and food easy.
Staff was very friendly. Loved the English feel to it. In a great area. Close to lots of activities. Loved the pub too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city, mo

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Love this hotel and all it's charm. Great location, fabulous restaurants on property and love the theme rooms!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Finally, an affordable hotel with personality

Posted Dec 9, 2016
I thought the English literature and tutor theme would be hokey, but no, to my surprise it works. Its not over done and gives the place real personality. The rooms are very cozy, breakfast is much better than the standard national chain hotels. Across the parking lot, associated with the hotel, are 2 really good restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Birthday weekend

Posted Nov 28, 2016
I brought my husband here for his birthday weekend and had a wonderful stay. Unfortunately, because I booked through Expedia, the king bed room I had booked was turned into a double queen. When I expressed disappointment because it was my husband's birthday weekend, they graciously offered to comp valet parking. All the rooms are named after British authors and you'll find a book by that person in your room which I thought was quite cute. The windows are beautiful stained glass and the lobby area looks like a den you would find in some English nobleman's home. We would definitely stay there again. We had a drinks and some fries at the Fox and Hounds tavern located in the hotel and the bartenders were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel close to Washington U &St Louis museums

Posted Nov 27, 2016
The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was nice each day. The bed was comfortable & bathroom clean.