Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Convenient to 95

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: The bed, that it was clean and convenient to 95S.
Cons: Get better towels.
Location: Don't know. Pulled in after 8 and hit the sack.
We were on our way back to FL after being away for 6 weeks. We wanted to skip the eclipse and be away from the SC traffic, so we asked Expedia to find us a cheap place off of 95S. This Econo Lodge was perfect. Convenient, clean and the bed was wonderful. Very comfortable. The shower was good too. The towels were small and scratchy. Breakfast was fine. The place is dated but clean and comfortable. The price was so right and we were on our way back home after a good night's sleep and decent breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: rate
ok, good for traveling with dogs clean room ########################################################################################################################################################################################################################################################################################
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Valrico, FL

Friendly staff, uncomfortable hotel...

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, clean room
Cons: FIX THE AIR CONDITIONING!!
Location: Right near the interstate with gas, shopping and dining options close by
Upon arrival, the staff member on duty was very friendly. After getting to our room, however, we found that the A/C was not on and the temperature in there was 85 degrees. We turned the air up as low as it would go (65 degrees) with the fan on high and left for the store while it cooled. Upon returning an hour later, we found that the room had only cooled by 3 degrees (82). I told the staff member, who came in, unplugged and plugged the A/C back in, fiddled with the temperature gauge, and said if it was still not working in a little while to let him know. By that time it was late, my kids and I were tired, so we dressed in breathable PJs and tried to forgo the bed covers to stay comfortable. By the morning the temperature in the room was still only down to 78 degrees, which immediately started going back up as soon as we turned the room lights on. At breakfast in the main office area, it was also stiflingly hot and we ate as fast as possible to get out of there. So overall the room was pretty clean, the staff friendly, but the A/C temperature situation was borderline unbearable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

needs improvement

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: location is convenient; and is cheap.
Cons: customer service needs to improve, and serve breakfast until 10am, and refill finished items until the breakfast end time
Breakfast is served until 9am, so it may be a challenge to catch before it closes after a long day's trip with kids. As it gets close to closing time some items may finish. I'd also recommend the hotel staff to act nicer to the customers. It looks like a family running the hotel, I really wanted to like this place but overall I was disappointed. The room wasn't vacuumed properly when I checked in.
1 out of 5
by Anh

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
the room was filty, filled of cigarette odor, the bathtub/shower was dirty and has cracked on it.
2 out of 5
by John

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Room was damp and musty. Smelled like incense.
5 out of 5
by Rowland F

An Excellent Basic Hotel - and at a Bargain Price

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
This was the first Econolodge for us in a long while, and everything about the four-day stay here was top drawer. We were in Richmond Hill to help celebrate our grandson's HS graduation, and the crowd at my daughter's house meant someone needed to stay at a hotel. We are long-time Choice Rewards members and normally stay at one of their more upscale offerings, but this Econolodge was convenient --- and the price was certainly right. But inexpensive didn't mean shoddy or second-rate when it came to the basics required for a pleasant hotel stay --- the room was spacious, updated and clean, king bed was just right, the A/C worked perfectly, WiFi was strong, the "free" breakfast, while very basic, was fine, and, most of all, the ladies manning the front desk and breakfast area were among the most pleasant and helpful of any of the Choice hotel folks we have met over the years, no matter what the brand of hotel. A great experience at one of Choice's least expensive brands --- well worth a stop here if you're in the Richmond Hill area and looking for an inexpensive, basic place to stay, with very hospitable people dedicated to making your stay a pleasant one.
5 out of 5
by Ben

Very satisfied

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Woman at the front desk was great, very knowledgeable of the Area. There was a bud light bottle under a chair from the people who stayed there previous. Over all we were very satisfied with our stay
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017
Thank you so much for your feedback. your feedback is very important to us. we look forward to see you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware! Hotel infested with BED BUGS!

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
My stay was terrible!!!!!! DO NOT STAY at this hotel! I WAS BITTEN PROFUSELY BY BED BUGS!!!!!!!
1 out of 5
by Tammy

Room had worst musty odor

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived early after driving 12 hours, and were told the room was not ready yet. The front desk clerk, Marla, was sympathetic and said she would check to see the earliest we could get in after she checked with the cleaning crew. She came back and said we could get into our room in 15 minutes, but it was $20 for early check in fee. I had never heard of this before and we have stayed at hotels in the area for the last 6 years. We paid the $20, and when we got in the room the musty odor was horrible and was making us ill. I asked Marla if anyone else had complained about the odor and she said it was from the smokers standing outside. We went to the local food store and bought Febreeze and sprayed the room down. Marla also told me we had to check out, even though I had paid in advance and had a receipt for the additional $20. I advised her we would be leaving at 4 AM and she said to just ring the buzzer and wake up the night clerk. The room itself was dated, carpets felt wet, pillows were uncomfortable and the clock had never been reset for daylight savings time. The shower only worked at half power (half the water came out of the tub faucet even though I had turned the setting to shower. The ice machine was not working properly so you could only get one scoop of ice. We did not use the coffee maker or refrigerator, and did not have the free continental breakfast so I can't comment on that. All in all, I would never stay at this hotel again - not for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017
I am really very sorry for your experience. i will make sure that all the issue that you mention will get fix. your feedback is very important to us.