Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond

Ok hotel nothing special about it.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
There is not much to say about my stay . I needed to relax and I did that but it wasn't in a nice comfortable place. It was quite and close To 95. Its an ok place .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Close to major roads

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Overall 3 starts not too bad if your staying for a night or two, needs a little more updating, clean and comfortable bed, reasonable price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They had no coffee and no breakfast

Posted Sep 29, 2015
The air conditioning leaks on the carpet they didn't have the things they said they had
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ASHLAND IN & SUITES

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: GOOD PROXIMITY TO THE RACETRACK.
Cons: SEE ABOVE
Location: CLOSE TO TRACK. NO TIME TO DO ANYTHING ELSE.
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am AFTER THE RACE (OUR CARD WOULDN'T WORK, WE ENCOUNTERED ANOTHER GUEST WHO CHOSE NOT TO STAY, WOULD RATHER DRIVE HOME THROUGH THE NIGHT THAN STAY THERE (SMELLED LIKE CAT URINE). ALL IN ALL, NOT A SATISFACTORY SAY. . THE LISTING SHOWED AN OUTDOOR POOL AND EVEN THOUGH IT WAS PAST THE SEASON, IT WAS OBVIOUS THE POOL HAD NOT BEEN USED IN A VERY LONG TIME.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kristen from Keyser

Nothing like the pictures.

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
We pulled in and didn't see any sign with the hotel name. Should of known then what is was going to be like. We thought that the GPS made a mistake. It is a very run down old hotel. AC in the room only half worked, ice machine did put out any ice, breakfast was little Debbie doughnuts on a small end table, our mattress was old and was like bent toward the middle,and bed linen had debris stuck to it. It is nothing like the pictures online. Half the hotel was fenced off and you could see it looked to be falling in with water damage. Very disappointed for $100.00 a night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Terrible experience

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Demolition, refund of money
Location: Richmond International raceway, randolph macon college
This place needs shut down. The board of health closed the right rear side of building down. An old Perkins restaurant attached is shut down. None of the mentioned amenities exist. I am actually disappointed at Expedia as a company for listing a place like this. I am currently researching the VA board of public health records to see why half of it was shut down. I cant believe that i paid money for this hotel. Rooms were unclean, dated, terrible and in need of demolition. Parking lot had 6 inch weeds growing out of the cracks which were everywhere. The staff had no idea where any of their rooms were at and actually put an older couple in a room that was sited as illegal to sell by the board of health. It was finally brought to their attention as they realized you couldnt cross the plywood that blocked the far right side. This was an absolute waste of money and I am severely disappointed with expedia for listing such a hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Not impressed!

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Cheap room
Cons: Fix the plumbing and maintain the appearance of the entire place!
The room was clean enough, but the grounds were in terrible condition, the shower did not work (no water pressure), and the entire place seemed run down.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bowie, Maryland

We could NOT stay at that dirty, unkept dump.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: NOTHING!!!!
Cons: Tear it down, Build a new building, get new furniture and employ and adequate cleaning and gardening crew. It should be shut down.
Location: Wonderful location. everyting is right within walking distance.
The place was terrible. It should be shut down. The lobby and rooms were below the rate for even a homeless person. The grounds were unkept, dirty, smelley, as if it should have been closed by health services. We cancelled upon arriving and looking at the room and ended up staying in the Sleep Inn accross the street for $15.00 more per night. That Place, Ashland Inn and Suites should be closed up!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ramon from San Juan, PR

STAYVAWAY

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
DO NOT STAY HERE! The room smelled awful, doors were broken, dirt in the hallways! Worse I have ever seen!