Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Lafayette, IN

Necessary stop in Richmond

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: peaceful and quiet. Fairly close to AMTRAK station.
Cons: Outside signage especially for persons coming at night.
Location: Wanted to go to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden but it was cold and rainy. Skipped that.
Needed to change trains in Richmond from Cardinal to Silver Star. Cab driver had a little difficulty spotting hotel in the dark. We were very tired from train ride so did not go out to eat. Had very restful night and excellent breakfast. Took cab back to AMTRAK station. Would use hotel again. Convenient for our purposes and very restful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Timothy J Dean, CGSP, Hotel Management
Thank you for your most awesome review. We are definitely working on the signage. Hopefully once the office out front of our building is finally built, our sign can be lit up once again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Near many restaurants and stores and the freeway

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Hotel was in the middle of renovations, but was still a nice place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winston-Salem

Dismantled Lobby, Indifferent Staff, Pleasant Room

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Room.
Cons: Professional handling of remodeling. Staff attitudes should include compassion for guests receiving disappointing service. Breakfast should be hot.
Location: Convenient to museums and other attractions. Plenty of restaurants in area.
We entered a construction zone when we entered the hotel, with unprofessional construction workers on every hand, creating safety hazards (such as power cords running across floor, using power tools over the heads of passing guests). The staff seemed content to endure it, since they said it would make it better for them. No serious concern for those of us who had to be there for the short run. My companion found it hard to rest on the third floor because of the penetrating noises. The room was the best part of the visit. The elevator rode like an old truck. Breakfast was a disaster, with cold eggs, sausage, and biscuits. (Both OSHA and the Health Department could have had a field day at this place.) The breakfast staff was sluggish and seemed indifferent. Had to ask for orange juice. Would not recommend this property. Will not return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by Timothy J Dean, CGSP, Hotel Management
Oh no, Sounds like we missed the mark with your stay. Yes we were going through renovation. That is one of those things to keep up to date with an ever changing market and industry. As far as the contractors being safe, I am sure they were following all regulations are required by the Commonwealth of Virginia and Henrico County. I am happy to report that the health department was just here and found no violations during one of their many surprise inspections. We hope you come back and try us again after we are completely done with all of our planned changes (these are going to enhance the guest stay)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indian Trail NC

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: on Internet
Cons: the parking and the way in.
The Hotel was nice but we had trouble finding the place. With all the construction you could not fine the way to the Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by Susan, Hotel Management
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lumbertown, NC

Bad experience at check in

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Could not find my reservation, or other guests. Clerk was not friendly nor professional. Yelled at customers and at Expedia on the phone. Would not give us a room for at least an hour till her manager called.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Susan, Hotel Management
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Nice experience. Great location. Nice and friendly staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016
The hotel staff were friendly but nothing can fix a stay at a dirty hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by susan, Hotel Management
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice Place

Posted Nov 9, 2016
The staff were very warm and welcoming. Rooms nice and clean. Breakfast had a good variety of options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lubbock, United States of America

Quiet and Comfortable

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, quiet.
Location: Close to restaurants and shopping
Great hotel and much cheaper than the others nearby. Quiet rooms and very nice staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel smells like cigarettes.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly
Cons: Change carpet, elevator, bigger pillows, and complimentary breakfast
Location: Bonchon
Room was dusty. Pillows were too small. AC unit was very loud.