Ratings based on 742 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable & close to Union Presbyterian Seminary

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Found great summer deal for room at Richmond VA on Expedia. Less than mile to Union Presbyterian Seminary. Will use again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Convenient location to the bus terminal

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The staff were wxceptionally good in advising bus routes and where to go.
Cons: We were more than happy with the experience
Location: Close to restaurants for meals as well as an excellent restaurant in the hotel.
The hotel was located close to the bus terminal and the close proximity meant low taxi fares.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

The rooms and hallway smelled like a smokey sewer.

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The smell, the elevator doesn't feel safe ( didn't line up with floor), the laundry room wasn't working.
Location: It's in a pretty sketchy area. We didn't feel safe eating within a mile or so from the hotel.
We were approached to buy drugs, the hotel smelled bad, and we never felt safe.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from athens ga

roaches, extremely dirty, old and shabby, gross

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: the hotel needs a complete overhaul
Location: the location is convenient off the highway, but the area is not suitable for walking about and certainly not for families with children
I should have known the room was going to be bad, because even the lobby smelled moldy. The room was non-smoking but clearly somebody had smoked. It smelled of old smoke and mold. The top of the plastic kleenex box had cigarette burns. There was hair everywhere in the bathroom. The toilet tissue dispenser was entirely rusted as was many of the metal surfaces. Caulking cracked and the bathtub surround was moldy. The microwave was dirty. The last straw for me was the live cockroaches walking on the floors and bathroom counter. I do not understand how this hotel is rated 3 star. My review is a true and accurate description and upon further investigation, I see I am not alone with my negative experience. I give this hotel 1 star!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DISGUSTING

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
I have done it three times now with no response from anyone!
3 out of 5
by Necorya from Chesapeake

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
It was a good stay the only down fall had 2 keep gettin my keys reprogramed they werent letting us in n out of our rooms
3 out of 5
by Shaun from Edinburg, VA

Clarion

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
For the price of which I paid I am not mad. There are just a few things that I disliked: the front service staff because of how unfriendly they were and the inability to give me answers about room service, etc. the other was the physical quality of the hotel. There were electrical fuse boxes open, plugs falling off the walls, as well as small cracks and damaged walls in some areas. Overall, not terribly upset with the hotel, but definitely could be better.
3 out of 5
by Linda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by STEVEN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stamford, CT

Not 3 stars. It was dirty and too close to freeway

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Lobby for hotel was good but the rooms are terrible. They are outdated, dirty and noisy. The garage is also dirty and smelly. It is definitely not a 3 star hotel and is not worth the money we spent. This will be my first and only stay at a Clarion.