Ratings based on 837 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salisbury NC

You get what you pay for

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Bed was comfy
Cons: Breakfast and cleaning
The bathroom was not clean, someone else's hair was in the shower. The bed was comfy. The breakfast is a joke, it was so messy down there I did not want to eat the food. Staff are nice
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by cj, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room . We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had higher expectations

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Please know that this review is based on a very short stay. We did not use a lot of the amenities due to time. The hotel lobby was adequate the receptionist was pleasant. We needed a rollaway bed and that cost $10 more. The condition of the rollaway bed was unacceptable gross a nd old.,. The room itself definitely smelled and had a very worn out carpet. The bathroom was very clean and usable. In general the room just seemed old and dingy. Even my kids did not want to touch anything. This room is not in comparison to a Hilton Garden Inn it is way below more like a lower standard of a bad Days Inn. Sorry but it's worth to spend a bit more for a better room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by cj, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, close to restaurants

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Friendly staff. Had questions easy to get answers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very nice, close to I-95

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Pool area was clean, heated appropriately, and hardly anyone was using it. Breakfast was a full setup, with bacon, eggs, potatoes, waffle maker, etc.
Cons: At check-in, approximately 8pm, the only front desk employee was out front smoking. We had to wait a few minutes for her to return.
Location: We were only there for less than 12 hours, so the location very close to the I-95 interchange was very helpful.
We used this as a quick overnight on a long road trip. Having the pool and breakfast were important to us, and this hotel did not disappoint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London England

Comfortable stop off hotel close to I95

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Cons: The free breakfast was not good quality.
We stayed in one double room and our son daughter in law and their 2 small children in another. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean. The rooms were a good size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lexington, TN.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast.
Location: Does not apply
We were in Chester for 2 days for the funeral of a family member. The motel was very convenient for our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by cj, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We appreciate the valuable feedback. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next stay. Warm Regards, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall a nice place to stay

Posted Mar 2, 2017
We expected the pull out bed to be manageably comfortable but it was unusable. We ended up having to book an extra room in another hotel. It ended up being another Country Inn just 8 minutes down the road. Although it all turned out fine I was surprised the staff didn't provide any assistance. Hope they replace those beds soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2017
I enjoyed our stay in Virginia, this was close to every place we needed to visit while there. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone around me to stay!!
2 out of 5
by claudine

Don't think you can use the sofa bed

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
The pull out sofas are pretty much unusable. Ours had no springs at the bottom so the mattress fell through.. We were switched to the room net door but that bed wasn't much better. We had to take the sofa cushions and pillows from the first room to make the sofa bed comfortable enough for teenagers to sleep on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you did not have a good night’s sleep due to the comfort of your bed. We know a good night’s rest is very important.. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.We would like to apologize for inconvenience you had during your stay with us.We would like to assure you of our best service during your next stay wiyh us if you give us a chance to prove ourselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tennessee

Convenient location for Fort Lee,shopping and eats

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Loved the staff! Very helpful and friendly! Very family like atmosphere! The pool and workout room even the laundry room were all clean and nice! All types of shopping very close by and plenty of nice restaurants as well! Also the complimentary breakfast was awesome! Would recommend for anyone to stay there! Also very convenient for families or military for Fort lee!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by cj, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We appreciate the valuable feedback. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next stay. Warm Regards, Hotel Management