Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

2.0 out of 5
17% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Hotel needs major facelift

Posted May 15, 2017
Although the environment around the hotel was safe and the hotel staff were quite pleasant, the hotel needs a major facelift. The beds need to be replaced with more comfortable matressses. I had a backache after sleeping here and did not feel rested and refreshed in the morning. The room was clean but this property needs to be updated.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Prashant, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Charlotte, We'd like to start by saying thank you to you for choosing to stay at our property & then for taking time out to give this reviews. It is sad that we were not able to come true on your expectations completely. Your suggestion has been made a note of. Your review helps us in our effort to continuously bettering our service & making the stay an experience for our guests. We do hope we are able to offer you the experience you seek the next time you stay the property. Best, Front Desk Team Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 5203 Williamsburg Rd Sandston VA 23150
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to where I had to be for work.

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The hotel was very close to every where I needed to be since I was traveling for work. The day Supervisor was extremely nice! He always greeted me and chit chatted with me.
Cons: The hotel itself was dirty. The "kitchen" had dirty dishes from the morning before. There was hair stuck to my bathroom wall and was there the entire time. I left it to see if the maids would catch it. The elevator was shady as well.
Location: The only food that was any good was Carini's. There is nothing else that I did since I was there for work.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia beach, United States of America

Unhappy patron here!

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: Less than 5 minutes to airport, 20 minutes to colliseum
I chose this hotel because it had 2.5 stars, the pictures looked nice, and the cost. Boy, it was not what I expected. This hotel is located near the airport which is convenient. Walking through the doors, immediately I was disappointed. The long hall in front of me was poorly lit and worn looking. Immediately to my left was the front desk. The company has in recent times updated the FRONT DESK portion of the lobby. These are the misleading photos on the internet that will draw you in. We were greeted immediately by a friendly clerk. Check in was smooth. However the housekeeper/ maintenance man was sweeping off the counters with the same broom he was just sweeping the floors with!!! While I was checking in my husband went to the bathroom. Upon arriving back he reported that he had seen 2 roaches above the urinals. There was no TP in any of the stalls. Anyway we headed to our room where we got on an old out of date elevator with peeling paint and missing buttons. We were let off onto the 2nd floor where my heart dropped at the state of disrepair in the corridors. In our room the room was attracive enough and updated. The bathrooms were nicely updated save for the AWFUL shower which appeared filthy (example there was a price tag in mine, plus it looked dirty). I ran the water in the shower and it NEVER got hot, unless there was some kind of trick to getting it hot that I was unaware of. The bed was very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Going downhill.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: It's near the airport--I was flying out the next morning.
Cons: It's a place one puts up with for a night, there's not much to like.
Location: Airport.
I've stayed here 2-3 times in the past few years. It is obviously declining. It's not well-maintained and it's not clean enough. And I'm not fastidious. My room lacked a coffee-maker, which is a deal-breaker for me. The website listed it as an amenity. When I told the desk clerk, she said she would have to move me because there was no one available to take a coffee-maker to the room--this was around 7 p.m. on a Sunday. I said, "OK, I'll move." Without another word to me, she picked up the phone and told somebody to take a coffee-maker to the room. Shameless b.s.--it's not tolerable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Unclean. Run down hotel. Would never stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Argentina

Worst hotel ever

Posted Jun 22, 2016
It was dirty. It has spot all over The paint was al spoty The bed was ok but with really all staff and with cigarettes holes
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nastiest hotels I've ever seen! Do not stay here!

Posted May 16, 2016
Changed rooms 7 times looking for an acceptable one and had to get maintenance with master key to assist. This place is nasty! Blood on comforters in 3 of 7 rooms and debris/dust on carpet as furniture as though rooms were not being vacuumed. Lamp shades torn with holes. Room recently painted during "renovation" but paint was all over bathroom fixtures and furniture. That "free breakfast" they advertise was packaged bagels and dry cereal served out of a utility closet that stayed open all night and day. Heard other guests complain about how nasty this place was and the attendant at the front desk said she told the owner (very nasty Indian guy) many times that guests were constantly complaining. This was a very bad experience and I called Expedia to formally warn them to lower this rating so others do not make the mistake that I made. This place is disgusting, and that's being gracious!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor choice, stay away from this class of hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: renovate hotel, clean shower
Poor experience at best... very low class hotel, not clean, run down, questionable safe area
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Our check-in person was more interested in talking on the phone. No drinks or ice convient for access. Didn't receive our wake-up call. Old elevators and the hotel was a mess due to construction.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Passable but had brown water

Posted Sep 20, 2015
I can settle for any place. My room smelled fine and the bed was clean. However, the water came out brown, that's a red flag.