Ratings based on 685 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlilngton, Virginia

Even Under Renovation, A Great Stay

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Stay unfailingly helpful and friendly--every staff contact we had was positive The hotel is under major renovation--the atrium was closed off on each floor by opaque plastic. You could smell drywall in the halls. But the rooms were clean and comfortable and impeccably prepared. The free breakfast was delicious, diverse and of high quality. And the free reception in the evening was a big surprise--free wine, beer, mixed drinks and delicious appetizers. Didn't use the pool, but the exercise room was nice. I think when the renovation is completed, this hotel will be a destination in itself. Whoever is running this place knows what they are doing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Very deceiving - Hotel Under Construction

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The staff and breakfast. Room was large and clean.
Cons: Honesty about the construction.
Location: A decent selection of restaurants and shopping nearby.
I picked this hotel based upon the rather attractive photo of the 'atrium' - the open multi story center of the hotel - beautiful plants, water, rocks - and new it would be a very nice setting for hosting a guest. HOWEVER - upon arrival I quickly discovered that the entire atrium is under construction. Each floor is wrapped in plastic to keep all of the dirt and dust from reaching the halls and rooms. No plants, no water, rocks, etc. All concrete and equipment and dirt. Incredibly disappointing. I have photos to support this post. I will say that the hotel staff was very pleasant, and the breakfast was very good. Just a shame that I wasn't given the choice of choosing a different hotel. But due to my schedule and timing, finding a new place to stay was simply not an option.
1 out of 5
by Robert

Hotel is a WAR ZONE!!!

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Would have been nice to know that the entire hotel was under construction!!! Place is destroyed right now, very unfair to pay this price for a hotel that looks like it is in Baghdad!!! Room was covered in dust and smelled like cigarettes. No doubt the hotel needs an update, but I would never have stayed here had we known of the construction. Bait & Switch!!!
5 out of 5
by Sylvia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Cathy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by carlos

Very disappointed

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel currently getting renovated. If you have stayed here before and come back and expect the same great hotel you will be very disappointed as my family and I were. They could at least tell you at time of booking or lower the nightly price for their room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RVA

Construction zone

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Hotel is under major renovations, big time construction zone. Very loud andall the hallways are lined in plastic. Bad smell. Only a few floors are open. Felt very weird and creepy. They probably should not be open during this process. I would not have stayed there if I had been notified at booking and can't believe it cost me 150$ for the night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond

disappointing

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: the happy hour was ok.
Cons: do not be open during renovations.
Location: the location was fine. not a lot to do nearby but the hotel served its purpose.
very disappointed you guys were open during major renovations. we had the fire alarm go off during out stay. it was very dirty and dusty. and having the plastic up was tacky. also the work men started working at like 7am, which is crazy early.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

The hotel from hell

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Awful staff, awful hotel, awful breakfast, and an awful room. It was awful awful awful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Under refurbishment !

Posted Mar 4, 2017
A lot of construction until end of July at the earliest. I'd go back in Aug or Sept. hotel staff was very friendly & but the best face on it. Room was clean and the price was good.