Ratings based on 678 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlilngton, Virginia

Even Under Renovation, A Great Stay

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Stay unfailingly helpful and friendly--every staff contact we had was positive The hotel is under major renovation--the atrium was closed off on each floor by opaque plastic. You could smell drywall in the halls. But the rooms were clean and comfortable and impeccably prepared. The free breakfast was delicious, diverse and of high quality. And the free reception in the evening was a big surprise--free wine, beer, mixed drinks and delicious appetizers. Didn't use the pool, but the exercise room was nice. I think when the renovation is completed, this hotel will be a destination in itself. Whoever is running this place knows what they are doing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Very deceiving - Hotel Under Construction

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The staff and breakfast. Room was large and clean.
Cons: Honesty about the construction.
Location: A decent selection of restaurants and shopping nearby.
I picked this hotel based upon the rather attractive photo of the 'atrium' - the open multi story center of the hotel - beautiful plants, water, rocks - and new it would be a very nice setting for hosting a guest. HOWEVER - upon arrival I quickly discovered that the entire atrium is under construction. Each floor is wrapped in plastic to keep all of the dirt and dust from reaching the halls and rooms. No plants, no water, rocks, etc. All concrete and equipment and dirt. Incredibly disappointing. I have photos to support this post. I will say that the hotel staff was very pleasant, and the breakfast was very good. Just a shame that I wasn't given the choice of choosing a different hotel. But due to my schedule and timing, finding a new place to stay was simply not an option.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond

disappointing

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: the happy hour was ok.
Cons: do not be open during renovations.
Location: the location was fine. not a lot to do nearby but the hotel served its purpose.
very disappointed you guys were open during major renovations. we had the fire alarm go off during out stay. it was very dirty and dusty. and having the plastic up was tacky. also the work men started working at like 7am, which is crazy early.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

The hotel from hell

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Awful staff, awful hotel, awful breakfast, and an awful room. It was awful awful awful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Under refurbishment !

Posted Mar 4, 2017
A lot of construction until end of July at the earliest. I'd go back in Aug or Sept. hotel staff was very friendly & but the best face on it. Room was clean and the price was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC Traveler

Always a Pleasant Stay

Posted Feb 19, 2017
This place has the best prices for the quality facilities, rooms, and service one would receive. Staff are always friendly, helpful and accommodating. The amenities are top notch and nothing cheap. I'll keep going back
3 out of 5
by Emmett C

business in Richmond

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
away on business in Richmond; Did not know hotel was under renovations; not a deal breaker, but Hotels does not supply this information; but should.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Lovely staff, but noisy rooms

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The evening reception was a lovely touch.
Cons: The sound proofing of the rooms and the availability of USB plugs.
Location: It's conveniently located near the freeway with a great Vietnamese restaurant just 3 miles away.
My stay here would have been a five star experience if the people directly above us didn't have a party at 3am. We could hear everything. But we called the front desk and within 10 minutes they had taken care of it. Other than that, the hotel was quite nice. Despite construction, they put on a lovely evening reception and breakfast buffet, both for free (drinks included, and the sangria was delicious.)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Hotel is under "renovation" never would have stayed here if I was aware of the conditions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is under renovation right now. I always stay here when I come into town but I may wait until the construction is over to come back.