Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel, near shopping and interstate.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Friendly staff, convenient location, decent room, new television, needs a few ypdates, but definitely worth the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It is great to see you enjoyed our staff, location and your room accommodations for the affordable price you paid. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel to stay a night or two

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Wasn't the fanciest hotel ever but it was cheap. And not nasty! So that's good. Comfortable room. Good channels. Very quiet , I liked that I could open a window for some fresh air. The only bad thing during my stay was that you had to ask for kitchen stuff. Not that I needed it, but just noticed. I liked my stay and I would definitely stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that we failed to tell you of the kitchen standards. To uphold our company's high standards, we will make it a special point to tell all our guests that kitchen items are available but not in the room moving forward. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Close to conference but horrible spot

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Loud all night, couldn't sleep, spiders, room smelled like old smoke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have addressed our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and unclean

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Terrible stay. The hotel was very dated, unclean and had a bad odor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. In response to your feedback, I am happy to report that the hotel will be undergoing massive renovations soon. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham NC

Ok..

Posted Oct 4, 2016
No kitchenware...only one stove eye worked. Ashes on table in nonsmoking room. The lamp had to be plugged in in order to work and unplugged to turn off.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you weren't told of the need to ask for kitchen ware. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have spoken with the staff to pay closer attention to detail to ensure your experience is not repeated. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
They sent me to 3 different hotels before they had a room vacant for my son and I to stay in....the shower didn't work to good at all...not a good hotel experience! !!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. It upsets me to hear to hear of your situation. I am sorry for your experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have coached the staff to be more proactive and communicate better to ensure your experience is not repeated. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bow, NH

Avoid this place!

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Took 45 mins to check in because overnight clerk had clearly fallen asleep. When we told him how long it took and that the man from the hotel next door was trying to help us wake him, clerk became very confrontational. We then received a call at 930am that we had to check out in 15 mins, or we would be forced to stay until 12 to let the paint dry on the sidewalk outside our room. Couldn't pay me to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am so disappointed over hearing your experience was less than ideal. Please accept my apology. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have began disciplinary action to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you very much for bringing this to my attention. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very uncomfortable experience

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
I did not have a great experience at all. I arrived around 1:30am and the first room I received did not seem like it had been cleaned at all, there was dirt and grass everywhere. I went into the bathroom and there was a large puddle of water from where the toilet was leaking. I went out and let the guest services agent know and after about a 20 minute wait, he found me another room. This room was ok, it smelled awful but I didn't have another choice at 2am. In the morning when I opened the curtain and it completely fell off of the rod, then I went to take a shower and there was no shower curtain! There were a few toiletries but no hair dryer. It was just a very uncomfortable experience. The guest service agent was very helpful, although I knew he was hungry, he helped me first and I appreciated that.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Never Again

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything!
Location: We were here for the Nascar race
This place was very scary. Filthy too. We didn't get to our room until late evening and there were some shady people hanging out under the stairwells smoking more than just cigarettes. A nasty prostitute made me a very generous offer though, so I guess that was good, but I declined. It appeared as though she may have been using my room for her business though. The door to the room was warped and didn't shut all the way-that was comforting. Bottom line is, we stayed in the room for 2 hours and drove home. Couldn't stay another minute there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. I am sorry to hear that you experienced issues with the other guests and your room. Your comments were reviewed by our staff, and we will work together better to make sure your experience is not repeated. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
4 out of 5
by Michael from bergenfield nj

Mike's review

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
All in all was good. It was being renovated so thee were workers outside in the morning but they were no real problem. when I made a request of one of the workers he was pleasant and cooperative. I appreciate the rate I was given. I don't know if its appropriate to thank hotle for this. whatever case it was pretty good. There is not much of a breakfast or much of a lobby area but the room had a full size refrig and stove so it would be easy to make your own food prep. If your looking for elaborate lobby area and breakfast I woud not recommend. Only thing I don't like as far as the rooms is even on upper floors, because of the layout people can look in your window if curtain is open so there is less privacy. I thought the staff was pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. Hearing how pleasant our staff was and the affordable rate, which helped lead to your satisfaction is good to know. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.