Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Iron horse inn is a great place to grab a meal. Old, historic and excellent food.
In town for a wedding, everything was just fine. New comfortable beds. Did not eat breakfast, but the setup looked good for a free offering. Can't say anything negative about this place, It is worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Convenient

Posted Sep 27, 2016
We stay here every year on our way home from Hilton Head. This hotel is always very clean. Convenient location to rt 95. Decent breakfast. We reserved 3 rooms and one happened to be a suite. It was beautiful. Love the Keurig coffee maker. Can't find a negative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from croton ohio

Nice break for a 12 hour trip.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location. Breakfast in the lobby. Indoor swimming and spa and comfortable bed
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Two minutes off I-95 south about 15 mins to the 295 around Richmond.
Driving to the outer banks area from Croton Ohio. This hotel was about 7.5 hours out. The location was perfect. About two minutes off 95 south, and about two mins back on the next morning. Restaurants, Cracker Barrell, Applebee's, Mcds and 7/11 all within a short walk. After driving the walk felt good, no need to take the car. The hotel itself was nice and clean. Staff was great and very pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
It was great. Staff was friendly enjoyed myself. Close to Kings dominion
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Staff was really great and they really tried to help us with the rooms
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Keep going.

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: General location on I-95
Cons: Offer a breakfast choice or brownbag for those who cannot wait till 6:30 AM opening.
Location: Stayed over night only. Not a walking area, very commercial and lots of traffic.
Pleasant people and staff. Location was necessary for trip. This specific location was behind a 7-11 and McDonalds. Not preferential.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2016 by HIX Ashland staff, Hotel Management
Thanks for writing a review of your stay with us in Ashland. We actually do have breakfast options available before 6:30 a.m., that;s just when our hot breakfast items comes out. We do put out our cold breakfast items, for example cereal, muffins, bagels, Danish, yogurt, fruit, oatmeal, etc. out at around 5 a.m. And of course, our coffee is available 24-hours. If on the go early, just let our front desk staff know that you would like to take something to-go. They would be more than happy to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2016
10min away from Kings Dominion, nice breakfast and friendly staff. Room very clean, couldn't ask for more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2016 by HIX ASHLAND staff, Hotel Management
Thank you so much! We hope that you come back to see us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Beautiful room

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: Large,clean room
Cons: Being given a receipt when we left
Location: Great on/off the highway local
We stopped on our way home and found the hotel very easy to access from the highway...easy on and off. The hotel was being remodeled but that did not affect us. Large room and very clean. Did not get a receipt which I would have liked. Theyhad us just leave the keys in a basket on the front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2016 by HIX Ashland staff, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. It appears you booked through Expedia, who would have provided a receipt to you by email.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Ashland, VA

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Due to construction hotel was a little hard to access as an out-of-towner following GPS directions, but once arrived check-in was fast and easy. Staff were polite and friendly, but did not acknowledge my IHG Rewards Club membership at check-in nor check-out so I'm hoping I'll still get the points without having to call customer service. Otherwise was a great place to stay while traveling on business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, breakfast
This is the 3rd or 4th time we have stayed here. Great location, friendly staff and clean hotel.