Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Clean and nice! Close to everything we needed. We have stayed here a few times before. We walked everywhere and really enjoyed discovering new restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Historic site well located

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Clean
Cons: it will be better when its cafe is opened.
Location: White house ane museum of the Confederacy. Jefferson hotel (see the lobby). Virginia museum of fine arts. Civil war battlefields. Monument Ave
Although it lacks some of the amenities of a five-star hotel, it is a great location for someone who want to explore Richmond.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Lovely historic hotel in downtown Richmond

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Very convenient to events in downtown RVA. Front desk staff was very friendly and the room was quaint, bathroom was newly renovated and very clean. Price was a excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Comfortable stay in a convenient and clean location. Would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Friendly and comfortable

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: quaint and comfortable walking distance from good restaurants
very friendly and helpful staff shuttle service was excellent for nearby attractions
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Some of the front desk staff could have been friendlier. Others were very nice. We arrived at 2:51 for a 3 pm check in time. The front desk clerk said we had 9 minutes and to please go sit in the front parlor. Apparently they mean exactly 3 pm check in. Many other couples walked in and past the front parlor for check in after me and had now formed a line for check in ~ which I needed to get in the back of since I had been asked to go sit in the front parlor. The clerk that was working at 2:51 walked out the door promptly at 3:00 (right past me knowing I should have been the first one in line) and another clerk started checking people in. The check in process wasn't fast either ~ otherwise I may have been okay waiting in line. The room was clean and updated, but the mattress was very hard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent stay and at a great price!

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Our room was fantastic and the staff courteous, prompt and helpful. We certainly hope to come back soon!
Cons: I can't think of anything big. The elevator may have been a little slow, but that's a minor detail.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

The walls are thin, but otherwise good

Posted Oct 29, 2016
You could hear people in the other rooms, but it was also less expensive than other hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Helpful, accommodating staff, unstable wi-fi

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The staff was terrific, and the room spacious. It is an older building, but sufficiently maintained. Some people might regard the layout and furniture as charming, though some updating would help.
Cons: Most disturbing was the unstable wi-fi. It would work and then cease to work. In the middle of responding to an email that had to be sent immediately, the wi-fi stopped working. I had to make my phone into a hot spot so I could send the email. The same was true as I tried to do some research for a meeting I had in the morning. This, to me, undermined an otherwise pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Would not recommend

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Left early
No valet available, no breakfast, room very small.