Ratings based on 1,521 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location with historic charm

Posted May 26, 2017
I loved staying here. Staff were very nice and I like everything about this inn. Only down side is that since it is an old building, squeaky floors from neighbors in the early morning hours was a bit annoying. But that being said, I can't wait for the opportunity to stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
Fantastic and unique Colonial experience. Stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginina

Charming and different

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Loved this place. Interesting history, lots of character -- creating a hotel out of a string of stately row houses is such a unique idea.
Cons: I honestly can't think of a thing. I'd return, for sure.
Location: Terrific location near VCU. Cool stuff nearby: VMFA, Poe Museum, Cary Town shopping, Early Bird Biscuits!
We arrived on a Monday mid-day. We were able to check in early which was great. Had no trouble finding street parking. Michael at check-in desk was wonderful -- very personable and helpful. Other staff we ran into around the place were consistently friendly and nice. Our room was perfect -- large, quiet, comfortable, and well-equipped. Even though we didn't need the shuttle service, it's so helpful, especially since, had we not had a car, it would have taken us to the Poe Museum or to the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts or any number of other places in a 2-mile radius. The coffee shop on the premises is a bonus too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I loved my stay.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: The size, the decor and the staff.
Cons: It is an older hotel and that is part of the charm.
Location: I was attending a conference and it worked.
This is boutique hotel and I was very comfortable staying there. My room was clean and welcoming. The staff was attentive and went out of their way to serve me. If you are looking for a big hotel experience this hotel is not for you. But if you want a quaint, personal and friendly experience you will enjoy the Linden Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location - near everyhting

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking
Location: Downtown location that is near anything you would want to do
Charming old style hotel with very friendly staff. Good café located on Main Floor
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Josephine

Needs Updating and Cleaning

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
We chose this inn because we like staying at historic places, and the reviews had indicated it would be good for easy walking to the historic areas. While we enjoyed our stay here, there were some surprises. On the very positive side, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were able to find a free parking spot just in front of the hotel for the entire weekend we were at the inn. The café on the first floor was good.The shuttle driver, who drove us to Chimborazo Hospital Museum, was so friendly and knowledgeable, sharing much about the region's history with us. The room was large and spacious and actually had a couple of chairs we could sit on to read. The bathroom was renovated, clean and very functional. On the negative side, while the buildings are old and thus costly and difficult to maintain, which we understand, we felt more upkeep was needed. The carpets in our room needed a thorough vacuuming to the corners. There were lots of cracker crumbs under our desk where we plugged in our phone chargers. The front hall and drawing rooms need cleaning attention. The room furnishings are very worn, and the carpets and upholstery very stained, worn, and dirty. We were surprised by this, as we have stayed in lots of older inns and B and B's, and have not encountered this lack of upkeep before. Nevertheless, from Linden Row, we were able to walk and enjoy many sites in the city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on CheapTickets
Great historic hotel! Comfortable beds and great location.