Ratings based on 1,355 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely historic hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Short walk to the convention center. I was in one of the former carriage houses, and the room was a little small. The bathroom was new and very nice. Substantial continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice property - quaint

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: I liked the courtyard a great bit and the lobby/common room. The air conditioning was a MUST have because of how hot it was - they had that on point.
Cons: When I went to check out there was "no record" of my email address of which I included on the paperwork when I checked in. No Airport Shuttle.
Location: There were a few restaurants we checked out and it is right near the VCU campus, so we did a lot of walking around the beautiful property.
Overall, this hotel was in perfect accessibility to the Convention Center - a venue in which my nephew was competing that weekend. My room was nice and the property was huge! The courtyard was a nice hang out space in the evening, when it cooled down a bit. There was a rule about not being able to bring your own alcohol and drinking it in the courtyard - but you could buy OVER priced alcohol at the front desk and drink that - seemed a bit ridiculous. Especially because of HOW over priced the wine and beer options were from the front desk.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville, NC

Quaint little place.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: The staff was outstanding.
Cons: The hotel is older and you can tell, but that adds to it's charm. I wouldn't change much, if anything.
Location: Very convenient to the convention center, we drove everywhere else.
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We were there for our grandson's tae kwon do tournament and the hotel was very convenient to the convention center. They have actual keys for the doors. I could actually visualize it during the Revolutionary War era. Love the architecture in Richmond.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roanoke, VA

Beautiful historic home

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: I love the history of the historic home,
Cons: I was really thirsty and the beverage vending machines were empty
Location: It was near by VCU and just outside of downtown, a little quieter area. I loved driving down Monument Avenue and seeing all the beautiful homes.
I loved the history of the home. Edgar Allen Poe grew up playing in the gardens and wrote a poem about it. The breakfast was really good too and authentic Southern Sausage biscuits and home made scones.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winston-Salem, NC

Really nice cute garden hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: The intimate feel and the garden.
Cons: Better directions to the hotel room. Some can be difficult to find. There should be more signs throughout the garden.
Location: It was in a great location and close to a lot of bars and restaurants.
The hotel was really cute and cozy. More intimate feeling than a regular hotel. The garden is a nice hangout place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ac went out and it was a hot night with no respite

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: quaint and well-situated in town
Cons: equipment for the room
great staff but our sleep was terrible bc of the temp of the room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

lovely hotel

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: room was lovely, well maintained and comfortable.
Cons: lighting in bathroom and for reading in bed.
The service was great as was the ambiance. Only suggestion-better lighting in the bathroom and lights for reading at each bed.
4 out of 5
by Tanya from Randallstown

Nice Trip

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived late, Desk clerk was friendly and greeted us with a smile. Checked us in fairly quickly. Accommodations were adequate and had old world charm. We stayed one night. the price was great! We enjoyed our short stay.
4 out of 5
by john from Canton

historic and comfortable.

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
I was just at the hotel briefly but everything was great.
5 out of 5
by Shane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels