Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Beautiful place and friendly owners

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The overall character of the home was fantastic and just what I was looking for. Breakfast was made better with easy conversations with Jill.
Location: Not much nearby, so prepare to drive a little bit to get to places. Travel by bike would be possible if the weather accommodates it.
Jill and Chris were very pleasant, provided history of the area, and made my stay very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and my food restrictions were accommodated without a fuss.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Home!

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Very inviting place, warm and friendly hostess. We appreciated the beauty of the home and snack bar outside the room. Yummy breakfast too.
2 out of 5
by Thomas from St. Louis area

Somewhat underwhelming

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
The manager was very nice but the room was very small, dark and uncomfortable. All bedrooms were upstairs and only street parking was available. The breakfast was mediocre and overall it was disappointing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Gregory from Schaumburg, IL

Great Stay in a Grand Old House

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at the Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast. Jill was an excellent host. My wife had special dietary needs. We informed Jill in advance, and she accommodated my wife's needs very well with delicious breakfasts served in the house's grand dining room. We also really liked the station outside the guest rooms upstairs that had bottled water (hot and cold), coffee (a Keurig machine), teas, a refrigerator and evening deserts.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt Germany

BB Hotel with Atmosphere

Posted Oct 7, 2014
If you dont like to stay in chain Hotels, if you like to stay in a small individual Hotel with style of early 20th century, well renovated - plus very friendly owners with Passion - that´s the place to be....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sehr freundlicher Gastgeber

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels
Das Hotel war für uns eine sehr angenehme Erfahrung, leider ging unser Zimmer in Richtung einer sehr befahrenen Straße. Trozdem, wir würden hier wieder buchen!
5 out of 5
by Earle/Sara from Carmel, In.

49th Anniversary weekend

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels
This inn is a step back into the 1900's, yet with modern amenities IE: TV, modern bath, etc. Owner does it right with dessert & coffee before bed, & a bountiful breakfast. A delightful experience.
4 out of 5
by The Gunny from Vista, CA

Wonderful hostess

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels
If you are looking for a beautiful glimpse into the past when homes were built for more than just function but also embraced aesthetics then stay here. Unfortunately my travels didn't allow me to interact with the other guests due to my late arrival. It did however illustrate what an accomodating, wonderful woman it is that runs the B&B. I called ahead to make it known we would arrive late and she was very prompt about returning my call and a follow on text. In addition, our road plan had us leaving prior to the scheduled breakfast arranged with the other guests and she still put out a great meal for us in line with my request for 'simple fare' I.e. oatmeal or cereal. We got a well balanced excellent meal and started our day refreshed and ready to go.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sweet B&B, great location and service

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels
I was the only guest in the B&B that night/morning and got great service. Breakfast was fantastic. If you like softer mattresses, than they've got a great bed for ya. Nice to stroll over to the nearby park in late afternoon too.