Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Home!

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Very inviting place, warm and friendly hostess. We appreciated the beauty of the home and snack bar outside the room. Yummy breakfast too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gregory from Schaumburg, IL

Great Stay in a Grand Old House

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at the Philip W. Smith Bed & Breakfast. Jill was an excellent host. My wife had special dietary needs. We informed Jill in advance, and she accommodated my wife's needs very well with delicious breakfasts served in the house's grand dining room. We also really liked the station outside the guest rooms upstairs that had bottled water (hot and cold), coffee (a Keurig machine), teas, a refrigerator and evening deserts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt Germany

BB Hotel with Atmosphere

Posted Oct 7, 2014
If you dont like to stay in chain Hotels, if you like to stay in a small individual Hotel with style of early 20th century, well renovated - plus very friendly owners with Passion - that´s the place to be....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Sehr freundlicher Gastgeber

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels
Das Hotel war für uns eine sehr angenehme Erfahrung, leider ging unser Zimmer in Richtung einer sehr befahrenen Straße. Trozdem, wir würden hier wieder buchen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Earle/Sara from Carmel, In.

49th Anniversary weekend

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels
This inn is a step back into the 1900's, yet with modern amenities IE: TV, modern bath, etc. Owner does it right with dessert & coffee before bed, & a bountiful breakfast. A delightful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by The Gunny from Vista, CA

Wonderful hostess

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels
If you are looking for a beautiful glimpse into the past when homes were built for more than just function but also embraced aesthetics then stay here. Unfortunately my travels didn't allow me to interact with the other guests due to my late arrival. It did however illustrate what an accomodating, wonderful woman it is that runs the B&B. I called ahead to make it known we would arrive late and she was very prompt about returning my call and a follow on text. In addition, our road plan had us leaving prior to the scheduled breakfast arranged with the other guests and she still put out a great meal for us in line with my request for 'simple fare' I.e. oatmeal or cereal. We got a well balanced excellent meal and started our day refreshed and ready to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Sweet B&B, great location and service

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels
I was the only guest in the B&B that night/morning and got great service. Breakfast was fantastic. If you like softer mattresses, than they've got a great bed for ya. Nice to stroll over to the nearby park in late afternoon too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nan from Bloomington, IN

Exceptional visit

Posted Aug 3, 2013
Pros: Quiet. Comfortable. The Food!
Cons: At first we thought the only available parking was on the street. The Nelson's offered spaces behind their home, which is next door to the B&B.
Location: Richmond was a nice surprise. We enjoyed the historic district and recommend the Fosters' antique store.
The Phillip W. Smith B&B was exceptional! Beautiful home and furnishings. Caretakers, the Nelson family, show pride in the upkeep and sustainability of historic older homes. That pride is evident in the home, the gardens, the food and the hospitality. Their mission continues as they work to restore other older homes in the area and prevent the demolition of others. Bravo!