Ratings based on 744 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very poor WiFi service. Staff not friendly.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Very poor WiFi services. Staff not friendly. Room too small for the expensive cost.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Great location

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: The room was large and confortable. The front desk staff was nice.
Cons: Parking.
Location: Easy walk to numerous restuarants in Shockoe slip area. Also easy walk to Capitol building.
Nice hotel in good location. Can walk to numerous restuarants in area. Street parking is tight in area especially in evening. Had to move my car by 8 am to avoid ticketing. May want to use valet for convenience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roanoke Va.

Very nice. Close to Capital

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Very nice and clean hotel. Would definitely recommend. Staff very courteous. Close to about anything downtown. I had to go hunting for a soft drink machine as the room did not have a refrigerator but this was a minor inconvenience. Not a large selection on the menu in the restaurant but the food was very good. Eat at the Tobacco Company across the street for a better selection.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: The hotel is located in the heart of the historic district close to museums and restaurants.
The hotel is beautiful and located right in the historic area of Richmond. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stayed one night to go to a concert. Great!

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Will be back to check out the neighborhood for a weekend. Great nearby restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 3, 2016
The rooms facing E-Carey St are very noisy. Also had party noise in adjacent rooms lasting well past 2am. Even though the rooms are very comfortable not much sleep was had.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Berkley needs some TLC

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Lunch was great.
Cons: See notes above.
I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past, but it has been about 2 years since I stayed there. This visit was disappointing. They were under-staffed at the front desk. When I checked into my room I noticed the wallpaper was peeling in places, and the seat of the desk chair was shredded and the fabric cover was detached andhanging down below the chair exposing the seat cushion. The blanket in the dresser smelled musty and had kids' stickers on it so it clearly hadn't been cleaned in a while. The folks there tried to be helpful, but they could not keep up with guests departing. 25 minutes before I needed to leave, I called to get help with my luggage and to get my car brought around so I could load my luggage into it before heading to a meeting that day. I was told the valet was busy getting cars, so someone at the front desk would come get the luggage now and then the valet would get the car when he returned. 12 minutes later I called back down to see if someone was coming to get the luggage, and I was told they were really busy, but someone would be there soon. About 8 minutes later (just a few minutes before I needed to leave for my meeting) someone came to get the luggage. We got downstairs and my car hadn't been brought around and I was told the valet was busy and it would be a while before he could bring it. So I had to leave for my meeting without stowing my luggage and computer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fredericksburg

Expected more

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Cons: Bed was very uncomfortable.
Location: Nice location and lots of nightlife nearby.
We reserved this hotel based on location and the fact that it is not a "chain". We were disappointed, The desk clerk was very nice and the lobby and rooms were lovely to look at but the bed itself was lumpy and old and the pillows were worse. Very tired to say the least. The room was exceptionally clean but not the romantic and wonderful experience we were looking for. We were somewhat disheartened to see that the Marriott was actually in a better location and I KNOW they have better beds. The walls were also somewhat thin and we could hear the television next door. Won't stay again. Also had NO idea that the alarm was set from the previous occupant and it was somewhat jarring to be awakened at 5:30 on a day off.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Awful room, couldn't wait to leave

Posted Sep 3, 2016
I arrived late so called on the way. Person who answered was somewhat helpful but could have done more to explain parking rather than simply telling there were parking lots around. Room was a disaster. Tiny place with limited natural light - not sure if they were real Windows or if there was some type of wall behind them. There was some kind machine whirring as I tried to sleep. Maybe the washer dryers or dish washing machine. Only stayed because it was listed as a VIP Expedia partner. Awful, won't stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 30, 2016
Quaint, fun, comfortable, and special not your average hotel