Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby, UK

Nice Hotel Very Handy for Kew gardens

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Rooms: clean and well supplied for most needs. Nice sitting area for a drink/meal. Secure car parking
Cons: More menu choices,as the specials board the same on second night. Breakfast waitress unhelpful. More choices for fresh fruit
Location: Hotel overlooks Kew Green, a ten minute walk to the Elizabeth gate for Kew gardens. Richmond Park and Ham house National Trust property nearby.
Our stay was for two nights in the company of another couple. Both rooms were clean and bright. Piping hot water seemed available all the time. Tea coffee available for free, for something stronger there is a (chargeable) mini bar. First night we had a very good cooked evening meal. Next morning after a good breakfast and a ten minute walk we were in Kew gardens for the day. Spent a pleasant evening after going out else where for our evening meal. Returning home after breakfast the following morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex UK

Lovely hotel. Close to Kew Gardens.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Quite a find. Small hotel , clean and interestingly decorated. Nice surprises - e.g. Chickens in secret garden. Good cooked breakfast. Good base for Kew Gardens visit. Restaurant food looked good (we were entertained elsewhere). Will use again for overnighter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to kew gardens, on the green

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: comfortable and pleasant staff
Cons: perhaps a little more welcoming
Location: close to kew
very popular place with opportunity to dine inside or out and has a secret garden at rear
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good value for location

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Location. Parking was a definite bonus. Great bar / restaurant.
Cons: Toilet lid was broken not that it was a big issue Shower curtain needed replacing & with the fan meant it kept blowing into shower. Both minor points
Location: Kew Gardens just the other side of Kew Green. River Cruises available from Kew Pier less than 5 minutes walk.
Friendly welcome. Bar and restaurant staff were polite and welcoming.
5 out of 5
by Anna

Old hotel with modern features even a lift.

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
Despite London having a heatwave, we stayed quite cool, comfortable and well fed in Coach & Horses. Lovely breakfasts, large rooms and a lovely bathroom. Close to Kew gardens and National Archives. Public transport not far away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2017
On the outside his place looks like a run of the mill pub. However, we were surprised at how clean and bright the room was. Everything we don't usually get, like large towels, good bedside lighting on both sides, several electrical outlets that we could actually reach, enough hangers in the large closet, and bright electrical lighting. The room was very quiet at night. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

All in all a good hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel has an attractive situation facing on to Kew Green, and very convenient for The National Archives. Basement car parking is also convenient, though it is necessary to go to reception to access it. The front of the house is rather like an upmarket pub, but the accommodation behind was excellent, with wifi working in my room. My main quibble would be that I thought the portion size at dinner was a little stingy.
5 out of 5
by June from Liverpool

trip to Kew gardens

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location for visiting Kew gardens, gorgeous room, friendly staff and decent food
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Second rate

Posted Jun 1, 2017
I was kept awake for most of the night by an intermittent thumping sound, which the staff told me was from fans on the roof. They could not move me because there was only one free room - next to me which had the same problem. Apparently all the rooms on that side of the building were affected by the noise from the roof. Next morning all they did was knock £20 off my bill. Feel I was duped since they know about this problem. Customer service was very poor. BTW the coffee machine didn't work, the toilet seat was mobile and steam from bathroom set off smoke alarm. These things pale into insignificance compared to the thud!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels