Ratings based on 305 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, California

Nice hotel, great amenities.

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Check in was simple and quick, also the room was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear J, Thank you so much for 5 star review of our Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. Please come visit us soon again. Happy New Year. Sincerely, Riitta S. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Comfortable and spacious room but well worn.

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Large room , kitchen and comfortable bed.
Cons: Some fresh paint and new carpet.
Location: Close to airport.
I spent 1night. The bed was comfortable. The mini kitchen with full size fridge was great. No ice but I did not look too hard. The public areas has old yellow paint and is unattractive. I could hear the tv in the next room but I turned on the fan and it was quiet and I slept well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear kathy, Thank you for taking time to complete a review of our extended stay hotel. Great that you enjoyed our amenities and by the way there is a ice maker in the freezer in every room. Hope to see you here again in the future. Sincerely, Riitta S. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 4416 Castleford Court, White.Plains 20695

Overnight stay

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Staff was nice but when I open the door of the room there was a damp mildew type smell. But other than that it was ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Karen, Thank you for taking time to complete a review of our hotel. We apologize for the smell and are working on it. We hope you will give us another chance in the future. Sincerely, Riitta S. General Manager
4 out of 5
by Bruce

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bruce, Thank you for the 4 star review. Sincerely, Riitta S. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from poquoson

Good price

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Overall good experience. The staff was very nice. The location was very good. I would stay again,
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear jen, Thank you for your nice review of our Candlewood Suites. We look forward welcoming you again. Sincerely, Riitta S. General Manager
4 out of 5
by Scott

Posted Oct 20, 2017 on Hotels
We had the first room off the lobby on 1st floor. There was quite a bit of noise from doors closing, people talking etc. Mgr was very nice. happy with stay overall
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Scott, Thank you so much taking time to complete a review. We apologize for the noise disturbance from the other guests. We are happy too that you had a nice stay with us. Sincerely, Riitta S. General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for the 4 star review. Sincerely, Riitta S. General Manager
5 out of 5
by Jamie

Concert stay

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
It was a short visit but it was a great place to stay for a good price. The kitchenette was a great feature! We weren’t there long enough to put it to use but nice to have anyway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jamie, Thank you for a nice review. Please come and stay with us on your next trip to Richmond. Sincerely, Riitta S. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

A decent place to stay

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: It is very centrally located with easy access and ample parking.
Cons: See above
Location: See above
This is not a full service "hotel" in that there is no housekeeping, or continental breakfast and you need to take your towels and linen to the front desk to get replacements. Coffee, soap, though supplied once, were not replaced during my 4 night stay. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly. However, there was never more than one person at the front desk at a time which meant waiting times to swap out towels. It is very centrally located, you could get anywhere in Richmond in 20 minutes or less. I liked that most. The main minus is that the hall ways near the air conditioners reeked of mildew though out my stay. The AC in my room only worked in extremes--either freezing cold or not at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Les, Thank you for your review. You are right, Candlewood Suites are not full service hotels, but so called Extended Stay hotels, where guests are very independent and stay long periods at a time. Great that you liked the location and our staff. The AC conditions have been already worked on. We hope to see you here again. Sincerely, Riitta S. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The hallway smelled like an ashtray but thankfully did not affect the room. Did not enjoy the fact that one of the entrances to the hotel had the smoking area in front of it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Marcia, Thank you for your review of our Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport. We are 100% non-smoking hotel, but unfortunately sometimes guests smoke in the hallways. We look forward welcoming you again. Sincerely, Riitta S. General Manager