Featured Image

Reviews of Travelodge by Wyndham Ridgeway Martinsville Area

2 out of 5
Travelodge by Wyndham Ridgeway Martinsville Area
3841 Greensboro Rd, Ridgeway, VA

Overall score and ratings

2.7
Rating 5 - Excellent. 11 out of 116 reviews
5 - Excellent 9%
Rating 4 - Good. 25 out of 116 reviews
4 - Good 22%
Rating 3 - Okay. 27 out of 116 reviews
3 - Okay 23%
Rating 2 - Poor. 27 out of 116 reviews
2 - Poor 23%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 26 out of 116 reviews
1 - Terrible 22%

2.8/5

Cleanliness

2.9/5

Staff & service

2.7/5

Amenities

2.5/5

Property conditions & facilities

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
We stayed here for the race, this hotel being in walking distance to the track. Just don't. Our room was Gross. Not because it was old, but because it was just filthy. Stained bed sheets and mattress. Our neighbor woke up with bed bug bites all over him. Luckily we opted had opted to sleep in our car.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
I liked how I had parking right in front of my room. The check in staff was super friendly. I didn’t get his name though but he was nice and informative. Things that I did not like, bathroom wallpaper is coming down. You can tell the property needs to be updated the sink needs recaulking. And there was no fitted sheets on the bed. Just two flat sheets ontop of a mattress pad cover that had stains on it. Comforter kept sliding off the bed all night and had holes in it.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service
Never checked in. Tried to reach out to them to cancel because of circumstances beyond my control and still have not reciprocal any communication from them.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Easy to access and get in an out of.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2021

2/5 Poor

Business traveler
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Supposed to have been a non smoking room. Ash trays in room. People have smoked in there. Lamps either unplugged or bulbs unscrewed. Air conditioner missing part of front cover. Air smelled musty. Bathroom light/fan was taped to the ceiling. Smoke detector missing, wires sticking out of wall. Room was dirty. When trying to fix lamp problem, found under/behind bed area does not appear to have been cleaned in forever. This place was nasty. While the location was really conveinent, I guess you get what you pay for. Really surprised that Expedia would list a property like this.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

2/5 Poor

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Room was not clean did not have towels advertised clean pool it was not operational and rude staff, the pictures need to be updated
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Do Not Support This Business
4 rooms were booked on one credit card. Yet, our group was shrewd out far apart from one another. When we askedthe owner to put us together, he ran his mouth that i needed to be more specific that i wanted rooms together when i booked. The owners wife worked with cleaning staff during the day. We repeatedly heard her yelling at her staff and customers. She approached our group and yelled at us for using towels. She removed the extra towels we requested and were given by a staff member. She yelled at other patrons and accused them of being drunk when they obviously were not. She was rude, loud, discourteous and needs training in customer service. We spoke with residents, section 8, who told us that they were forced to vacate because he gets more money when the Martinsville race is happening. In fact, 260 dollars per night. If they get state funds for section 8, they need to be reported for forcing families to live in their cars or out on the street so he can make extra-outrageous money.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2021

2/5 Poor

Business traveler
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Pitiful
Roaches, no heat, remote control for t.v. didnt work
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2020

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Reasonable and friendly place to stay.
The place could use some minor repairs. Exposed electrical socket behind my bed with plate cover missing. Bed was adequate and everything worked in my room. The 2nd room where my daughter slept had issues with the toilet flushing but everything else worked fine. The agents at the front desk were easy to deal with and generally pleasant when I reported the toilet flushing issue. The property is within walking distance to the NASCAR track.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2020

4/5 Good

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Burn hole in the sheets but the doors locked and they had honey buns at breakfast
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Disliked: Staff & service
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The rooms heater did not work and the system was taped up. Freezing in the room as it was 22 outside. Was given another room and that heater worked bit vent panel was missing. Coffee pot was missing also. OverLl quality of the hotel was poor. Would never stay there again. Not sure I would stay in a Travel Lodge again. Disappointed thT Wyndham name is associated with this place.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

4/5 Good

Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Clean room very nice service had a wonderful stay would use again
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

3/5 Okay

Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2019
Response from raj on Nov 14, 2019
thanks for your stay .

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2019
Response from raj on Oct 29, 2019
thank you

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
The people where great, place is old and run down, needs a major overhaul
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2019
Response from raj on Oct 29, 2019
thanks for you stay

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Like everything nothing wrong with the the place been 2 years now
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2019
Response from raj on Oct 29, 2019
thank you

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Was satisfied with room
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2019
Response from raj on Oct 7, 2019
thanks

4/5 Good

Disliked: Cleanliness
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2019
Response from raj on Sep 4, 2019
thanks for your stay we really appreciate your business and hope to see you soon .

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2019
Response from raj on Aug 19, 2019
sorry for any inconvenienced please let us know if there was any problem with you ast stay thank you

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
No because they took my money n want refund it back
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2019
Response from raj on Jul 27, 2019
that,s not true

2/5 Poor

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This is an older property that has limited updates. The only benefit is the proximity to Martinsville Speedway. The outside is dated, the rooms have individual air conditioners that are noisey. Carol was very friendly at check in and let me know they were 2 rooms over booked. Very few restaurants in the area limited services. Overall beyond the speedway not much is there.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2019
Response from raj on Jul 27, 2019
we hope to see you again thanks

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2019
Response from raj on Jul 27, 2019
thank you

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Jun 2019
Response from raj on Jul 27, 2019
thank you

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Getaway
It was a good weekend getaway. Can tell that they renovated the room. Would stay there again.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2019
Response from raj on Jul 27, 2019
thanks see you guys soon

3/5 Okay

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Amenities
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Refrigerator microwave room is very cool hard to heat
Stayed 6 nights in Nov 2018
Response from the Travelodge management team on Jan 27, 2019
We are sorry that the room heat was not working properly at the time of you stay. We like to inform you that the issue was resolved. We look forward to your next stay

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Not the greatest
Room was okay but electrical outlets were taped to wall and some didn’t work. No outlets around sink for hairdryer, etc. Doors were locked in the mornings so you couldn’t get in for breakfast. Wi-fi was very intermittent. No soundproofing, so it was quite loud at times.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2018

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Room had an infestation of roaches.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2018

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Dirty room, dirty sheets, hair on pillow, TV blurry, bugs all over the place,but was told they were stink bugs and they would not hurt me. I left and canceled my reservation drove 40 miles and got another room.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2018

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
As we walked I’m noticed a tick the size of a penny on the curtains. Hotel staff entered room at 9am on day of check out when check out was 11am. Between 9-11 staff knocked and entered 3 times. Room upkeep was needing attention bad.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2018

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
We booked a king size non smoking room. When we got there they said they only had king size smoking room available. I told him I was allergic to smoke and could not have a smoking room. He basically said that's all he has and I could go somewhere else but he knew we couldn't get a room anywhere else bc all hotels were booked bc of an event. He ended up putting us in another room with 2 full beds. The bed spreads had cigarette burns on them, the pillows under the pillow cases were extremely stained, no hot water unless you let the water run for 10 minutes. Very over priced for what we paid and he tried to tell us we were paying a lower amount than what we were paying and that we should be happy with that deal. Horrible experience and I cannot believe Wyndham had their name associated with this place.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service
Power outage due to Hurricane
Everything was good but as soon as I entered the room. I say roaches in the bathroom
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2018
Response from Carol on Oct 16, 2018
We apologize for your problem. It has been corrected now. Hope you will come again

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Ok
Stay was ok. They gave us key card to a room that hadn't been cleaned yet at first but was easily fixed. Air conditioning was ok but needs to be updated. Shower was actually really clean (looked new) and great water pressure.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2018
Response from Carol/Kenny on Oct 9, 2018
Thank you for your business. We hope you will stay with us again.

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Disappointed
Disapointed have stayed at Wyndham hotels before this was not up to their standards
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2018

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2018

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Not happy.
Air conditioning leaked in floor of room. It was me my wife and 2 kids and only had 2 towels in room and was not offered any. Pictures on website are beautiful not sure where they was taken but definitely not at that location. Breakfast was a joke.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2018

3/5 Okay

It was ok
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2018

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
unacceptabllllllllllllllle!
trip started out waiting 15 min to just enter the lobby.. Doors were lock for whatever reason.. when one of the staff finally arrived to take care of us, papers were shoved at me.. She didnt ask what she could do for me or anything really.. just shoved papers for me to sign.. We've been to many hotels on family trips and know the process so puzzled, I asked what these papers were for.. Couldnt understand her well since she was Indian and had a heavy accent.. In any case, my questions seemed to aggravate her so she proceeded to yell at me in her language.. Stunned and angry i slowly explained what I needed and that still didnt work.. this is 20 minutes into the check in process and still havent gone anywhere.. Then a man came in and finally got everything figured out.. But not before a heated fight broke out between them.. so after 35 min I finally received our room key.. Glass on the window had a giant crack in it and the A/C looked like it was used as a pinata.. In all honesty, we didnt feel ok in this place.. although it was very quiet I couldnt sleep at all.. Everything else was great.. I will not stay at this hotel again..
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2018

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Staff & service
When I was checking in I told him my name and he found a sheet of paper that had the confirmation on it and then he tried to get into the computer this is the manager tried to get in the computer and stated to me that he could not find my reservation information that he has a confirmation number but he can’t find information on reservation and therefore would have to charge me the full price which was $10 more and I told him all he has to do is call the company and they will tell him the price with confirmation number which I booked through Orbitz he just kept looking at me and saying his computer down and what so what do I want to do and I told him I want to price that I booked out and he said he has no proof of that so I have to pay the full price after looking at me for about three minutes without doing anything I’ve seen the sheet of paper with confirmation on and just grabbed it and write on the paper it had my name one room for three nights in a price per night on the sheet so he was just trying to rip me off point blank and then I pointed this out to me and he’s like oh I did not notice that which he sees the sheets every day and those were the price isn’t what’s going on he was just trying to rip me off and that’s all there was to it I would not recommend this hotel to anybody because he is just going to try to rip you off in someway or another which this time he just ripped him self off because I was plan on staying three nights a week for the next 13 to 14 weeks I
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
It was a convenient location for my trip. The staff was pleasant. I would stay there again.. Older but clean facilities.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2018

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
The hotel was average with price as main reason I stayed at this location. The down fall for this hotel, was the hot continental breakfast. Frozen sausage biscuits you pop in microwave is not something I get at other hotels with continental breakfast. Not very pleasing for someone who enjoys breakfast
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
The place was convenient to the shopping areas and the breakfast was not good the service was okay the rooms was a bit tacky and hard to find a place to charge a phone. Overall it was okay sort of old and run down but liveable.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service, room comfort
Disliked: Cleanliness
Pretty Mediocre
Carpets were in need of a good cleaning. Front desk was friendly. Bathroom toilet was so small like on an RV, couldn't use it. Beds were comfortable. Cost was low. Sad little run down town.
Stayed 1 night in May 2018

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Worst ever
Bad bed bugs.. they were biting my 3 year old.. do not go here
Response from Carol or Kenny on Apr 30, 2018
We received no complaints this past weekend regarding bugs or anything wrong. We do not who this guest is or which room they were in. All of our rooms have been thoroughly inspected by our pest control company and the manager. There has been no evidence of bugs found in of the rooms. We apologize for their experience but were not told of the problem or given a chance to fix it. Sincerely, Management