Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Tetiana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Widnes

Central Location

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Excellent value for money considering it is rated as a 3 star.
Cons: The small bar ran out of local light beer (lager!), but there were 7 of us drinking it! Stair well on entrance is steep, but not too difficult.
Location: Lido is 20-30 yards away, KGB building 5 minutes walk, great pub 20 yards away, old town centre is a pleasant 10-15 minute walk.
Ideal for town centre and other attractions, easy check in, staff great, no problems, breakfast plentiful. Would definitely visit again.
5 out of 5
by Syed sanaullah

Clean

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
I just love it.very friendly staff and hotel is very close to shops and restaurants nice palace to stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not bad location but terrible hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Location - 15-20 minute walk into Old Town.
Cons: Literally everything else.
I booked this hotel knowing that it was a cheap price and a fair location, if a bit far as the other reviews say. I don't mind walking and the location was easily the best part of the hotel. If you value sleep or even somewhat quiet rooms, don't stay here. The walls are basically paper thin and you could easily have a conversation with your neighbors. That and the fact that the doors and bathroom doors do not close without slamming meant no sleep 2 of the 3 nights. The rooms were fairly clean and the beds surprisingly comfortable, although the sheets do not fit and if you roll over will come off the bed completely. The bathroom and shower were not great, but good shower pressure. All in all it was really not a comfortable place to stay. The reception staff were quite nice but we really did not have much interaction with them besides for asking to move rooms (we were told the loud guests were checking out and it would be better - it only was marginally, the walls are so thin) and asking how to turn off the incredibly annoying blinking blue light on the air conditioner (they said nothing we could do so we had to take the card out of the reader at night to turn off all electricity). I would definitely spend a little extra for a better hotel where I could actually rest or sleep or not be concerned about where I was stepping. Good price for a hotel but awful experience.
5 out of 5
by Nauris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was in a decent part of Riga, 15 minutes by foot to old town. The hotel had a very good breakfast every morning with a nice selection of items. The room was on the top floor with no elevator, so walking up the stairs was necessary. (Not a big deal for me). The hotel seemed safe and I didn't have any issues during my stay. The room was high enough so that street noise was not an issue. The room was clean when I arrived and was cleaned every morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable budget stay

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Cheap but nice room ( single use/double) which also included breakfast. Reception was useful,friendly( spoke English). Close to centre and transport
Cons: The walls between rooms are thin and could hear guests on both sides. Perhaps bar snacks available as well as drinks.
Location: Not directly in Old Town, but not far to walk there and tram stop 2-3 minutes round the corner. All main attractions easily within reach, cheap eats.
Single, female experienced traveller. Found area fine and safe, though some might prefer luxury and the best areas. Wish I had booked a third night at the price as I wanted to do more in Riga. Hotel has no lift, but I managed to carry two bags up and down. I thought it had some local character, rather than a chain hotel, with a small pool hall and bar, good coffee. I left bags there most of a day in secure locked room and went back to add things twice, no trouble. Local area mostly independent shops and residential. As I said, very good value and room fittings surprisingly good for the cost. Would definitely use again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Estonia

You get what you pay for.

Posted Oct 28, 2016
For the money, it's hard to find a better deal. The room itself was fine, though a bit dated with paper thin walls. A nice breakfast is included, but on a couple of mornings there was a lack of food, dishes, cups and utensils. I ended up using a bowl instead of a plate, and drinking coffee from a glass since there was no clean cups left. The receptionist seemed disinterested in helping the overloaded kitchen staff with cleaning the tables or getting clean dishes for waiting customers. For whatever reason, the staff certainly doesn't seem motivated to provide good customer service. Having said that, it's probably still the cheapest and best deal for a private hotel room close to the city center.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels