Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand and convenient

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Nice clean business class hotel. Breakfast was adequate. There is a free dinner provided in the evenings that is ok.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Dirty Old Rooms, Staff is horrible. Not attentive at all. Breakfast choice very poor.
3 out of 5
by Ruchir

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Eduards from Nottingham. Uk

Riga visit

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
Ideal location for resteraunts and city centre amenities. Friendly staff and comfortable room. Well placed for business and relaxing. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry, UK

Clean and friendly hotel close to the Old Town.

Posted Dec 24, 2015
I was very impressed with this hotel when I visited the Latvian capital earlier this year. So, when the opportunity arose for a city break in Riga just before Christmas, the Hotel Valedemars was an obvious choice for me. As with my previous visit the hotel was spotlessly clean. It is well-located, just a short walk from the Old Town and adjacent to the Art Nouveau area. However, it is the staff that really make this hotel a success - friendly, courteous and professional. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them and their hospitality made for another great visit to Riga.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: We liked the relaxed atmosphere, and the way the building has been redesigned within the outer facade.
Cons: We liked everything.
Location: We were within the heart of the art nouveau area, and enjoyed the canal and parks on the way to the old town.
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough given that it is only classed as 3 stars. The ambience was very relaxing and the staff were all friendly without being obtrusive. We were surprised by the amount and quality of the food which is all complementary. The wifi worked well and the room was amply big enough for two people (2nd floor superior twin). The entire building was spotlessly clean. The furnishings and decor are all modern. Clearly this hotel had a major overhaul in time for 2014 Capital of Culture. The location is also excellent - situated on a main road close to the canal and an easy flat walk to the old town. If you arrive late like we did we recommend that you book a car from the airport via the hotel. This worked really well and was cheaper than a taxi. The hotel provided sandwiches because of our late arrival - a kind gesture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location, great staff.

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: The staff, they were excellent.
Cons: An extremely minor point but if Wi-Fi could be improved throughout the hotel. I was on the sixth floor and it was intermittent.
The hotel is in a good location and only a ten minute walk, if that, to the centre of Riga. What makes this hotel stand out is the staff, they are lovely. We arrived late in the evening and they had made us a light dinner. It was very much appreciated !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stony Brook, NY

Great location and great food

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Nice feel, good food, free dinner was really a nice touch.
Cons: People in the inner court were a bit noisy at night.
Location: We concentrated on walking in the old town.
The hotel is in the walking distance to the old town. It is in an old building with beautiful inner court.
5 out of 5
by Heather from Vancouver

Riga vacation do stay here

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Family visit first time traveling to Riga wanted hotels within walking distance to old town and adjacent area location was perfect. Free breakfast and evening meal was added bonus plus range of time food offered and adjacent bar made for very welcoming hotel. Staff excellent, services as needed, would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Thomas from Stirling

Hotel Valdemars

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
This Hotel is great value for money, an excellent buffet dinner and breakfast. was included. It is in a good area especially for visiting the Jugendstil districts.